We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a traveling family...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Cloquet, Minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great for a traveling family...”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

When you travel with family, you look for space and affordability--we got both. Yes, the carpets are older, and the whole motel has a "traveled in--lived in feel", but it was worth the money to get a 2 bedroom suite with 3 beds for a couple of nights while we explored Northern California. There is a pool, half inside, half outside which was quiet one night(we were the only one's there) and maxed out the second. Our room needed the windows opened for a while...but what can you do. I did notice that there seems to be a 'secret" garden in the middle of the complex. I tried to get into the door leading to the courtyard with my key, and it wouldn't open. I wanted to take some photos of the kids by the Fish pond. A maid was cleaning a room next door and offered to let us in, but had to check with her manager to see if it was ok...it was, but only if we were very quiet. We were, and appreciated the entrance. I think they reserve that area for people to just relax, i.e-no kids. So all in all, I guess it;s half and half. Beds were comfortable, and the breakfast adequate. We used the laundry facilities--very new washer and dryer.

Room Tip: I liked having a room on the bottom floor--carrying our luggage was much more manageable the 50 feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your stay with us here at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to rate us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    447
    121
    28
    36
See reviews for
431
539
54
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The rooms were clean, the sheets white, the water hot and overall this was a nice hotel to stay in. It is directly across the street from a McDonalds and the local mall if you want good coffee in the morning. The room was quiet and we were comfortable.

The down side was the breakfast. Now, for most people the breakfast would be fine. Boiled eggs, boxed cereal, five coffee's, waffles, sausage, ham and cheese croissants, buiscuts and gravy, two juices and I am sure I am missing something. We would have liked to see some yogurt and maybe some seasonal fruit or even those little egg pattie things...

At the desk, Jonathan was very helpful. I made my reservation over the phone as I had a $50 certificate from BW. He was able to match the internet price and tell me how to use the certificate when I checked in. The girl who actually checked us in, she was yawning and just a little too ditzy for my taste. June 17, 2012.

Room Tip: This is a large hotel and there is an elevator to make getting from ground to upper floors easy. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingAZTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your stay with us here at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to rate us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here on our way to San Francisco as we wanted to drive Avenue of the Giants the next day. Check in staff were friendly and efficient. We had our son and his friend with us so had booked a family suite. Somehow they only had the booking for 2 adults. Not sure how that happened. I was told at check in that there should be an additional charge for the 2 extra people but we would not be charged. The hotel was clean and quiet.

Breakfast is included, but it was really limited and not very good at all. Dreadful chili rellenos, salty scrambled eggs, and ham that was so overdone it could barely be cut with a knife. White bread cinnamon toast. No fruit except a few orange slices.

We drove into town the next morning to see the old town in Eureka. It is a bit sad really. There is one street with old buildings that looked kind of interesting, but there are a lot of street people and the town looks very sad and tired.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your stay with us here at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to rate us. I am sorry to hear that our breakfast did not hold up to your standard. It is our goal here to provide outstanding service and satisfaction to our guests. If there was something in particular that you would like to see changed in the breakfast or some thing that was not of high quality, would be specific so we can look into it and correct it.
We hope that you will stay with us again in the furture if you visit this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Travelled here from Los Altos (about 4 hours) and we were not let down. We snaked through the edges of Redwood country and had booked a room here. We went to check in and the lobby smelt great, they had fresh cookies, which after a long drive were really welcome. The check in girls were lovely and very efficient, they gave us a small map to the room. We had booked a spa room and wondered what it would be like....
Opening the door we wondered, and wow. The bed was massive and surrounded by curtains, it had a pillow top mattress and was so comfy. Across from the bed was a spa/jacuzzi tub with robes, towels and an ice bucket. It was just fantastic. We moved the TV round to watch from the warmth of the tub!
There was a small kitchenette area, which was well equipped but we didn't use. The actual bathroom and shower were clean and warm too.
Breakfast was complimentary and lovely, waffles anyone? You could make them yourself with the batter and waffle maker which was novel for me and my hubby.
Check a breeze, a different set of girls but again great. Goung back to Los Altos we drove through Avenue of the Giants which was fantastic, thats another story though!!

Room Tip: Get a spa room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your stay with us here at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to rate us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I come to Eureka for work and have always stayed at the Red Lion. This time I branched out based on reviews written here and I have to say this hotel is MILES above the rest. It is spotless and quiet. The grounds are in excellent shape and there are both indoor and outdoor pools and fitness centers (plural). If you think The Red Lion is the only thing out there, think again! The downside is its location and it is somewhat pricey.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levofed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your stay with us here at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to rate us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I'm well familiar with best western hotels and there are 2 in Eureka and by far this one the the better of the two. Indoor pool, pool table, BBQ. The stay are simply great! as is the customer service. I will stay here each time to go back to Eureka.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdhutch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your stay with us here at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to rate us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Booked room via BW international site and my federal discount was not applied properly, costing me an extra $20 per night. When I asked the general manager about it, she made it sound like I am the one that made the mistake by booking online. She then went on to explain that there was nothing that she could do because of how the room was reserved. Poor service, indeed. From the general manager, Emily Manfredonia, no less. Room was situated on the first floor and every morning between 0700 & 0900, all I could hear was the sound of people talking and dragging their luggage around outside. I was hoping for a relaxing spot just off the beach, but behind the hotel is a dirty, bum-infested shoreline. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is adequate, but after this experience I will not stay at any BW again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bulldogdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilymbayshore, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for taking your time to let me know how your stay was at our Inn.
I do apologize that I was unable to reduce your rate that you booked online. The government rate is for a single corperate traveler and does not include additional family members. I apologize for any early morning noise from our housekeeping staff we start at eight am so we don't disturb our guests to early, but we do apologize for any noise you may have heard. If you have any other concerns please don't hesitate contacting me at 707.268.8005.

Sincerely,

Emily Manfredonia GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
2.6 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#8 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.5 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Address: 3500 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eureka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#2 Best Value Hotel in Eureka
#2 Family Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn we have all of our travelers needs in mind, we offer free wifi all rooms,and dsl in some rooms, free breakfast buffett, indoor/outdoor pool and spa, guest laudry and fitness center onsite. We have two restraunts onsite Shamus T Bones steakhouse also offering fresh sefood and a wide variety of bbq steaks ribs etc. We also have Marie Calenders restraunt onsite serving up yummy pies and homestyle comfort foods. Come in and relax in one of our many suites available. Extra ammenities also provided at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayshore Hotel Eureka
Best Western Bayshore Hotel
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing