We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Dingy but Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old and Dingy but Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel was definitely outdated and a little grungy for the price. The beds were comfy and the room spacious. I would give it a bad review if it weren't for the awesome hot breakfast. They had the waffle maker and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh cinnamon buns, fresh fruit and more. They redeemed themselves!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariChico_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilymbayshore, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visit. I am sorry that you felt things were run down. We do try our best to make everything fresh for all guest. You will be pleased to know that we are about a week away from actually remodeling our front facility rooms. It is looking to be completed by August sometime. We hope you will come try us again should you be in the area again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    447
    121
    28
    36
See reviews for
431
539
54
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, TN, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is probably the nicest Best Western we've visited. Very attractively appointed and landscaped, clean rooms and great staff make this a wonderful stay in Eureka. Outside corridors were not a security concern with our room in the garden area since this area is inaccessible from the street without a room key. And the garden, with a hot tub & koi pond is very quiet, peaceful & beautiful. Excellent WiFi system. Breakfast was well laid out with no crowding issues, and food was pretty good, typical of "breakfast provided" motels. Coffee & snacks are available in the garden area which, negating the need for the long, outside walk to the main breakfast area.

My only negative is the tall, brick curbs extending into the parking area. I damaged a tire on one of the sharp corners. After my incident I looked carefully at the edges & deduced that many other patrons had run into these curbs, and discussion with office staff confirmed this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilymbayshore, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your visit here to Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We strive to provide outstanding service to all of our guest, and we are always pleased to hear that we are headed that direction. We look forward to seeing you on you next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAS CRUCES
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent a couple nights here to recover from 7 days of camping on the California coast. We stayed in a garden room overlooking the koi pond from the top floor behind the regular rooms out front. We had quiet nights, and excellent laundry facility, a hot tub and terrific service during our recomposure. Loved the downtown area of Eureka but were glad not to really be staying down there. The location of this place is just south of town near the bay and was convenient for us. Only why can't they turn off the frogs at night? It seems these pesky critters have moved into the koi pond area and croak irregularly all night. With the fan on in the room you can barely hear them, but it is unusual and fun! Actually they sounded so artificial we asked the receptionist if they could turn them off and they swore they were real. You be the judge! Oh by the way the electric fireplace in the room was a hoot too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMAS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilymbayshore, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay. Yes, those frogs are real. The garden not only provides a place of solace for the guests, but also the frogs love to raise families around the creek bed and pond. We do try to "control" the amount of frogs but that is a difficult task. We are glad that you enjoyed everything here and we hope you come visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I've enjoyed the quality of the Best Western motels. This one has got to be one of the best, loved it. I really liked the location and the Koi pond. When I'm traveling through Eureka again, I will absolutely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank toro1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilymbayshore, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Wish more places offered a two room suite as it's great for those who have a mixed group and several like to stay up late. We also have a family member we love but snores way too loud. The suite had one room with a queen bed and one room with two queen beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lee Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilymbayshore, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your visit here to Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We strive to provide outstanding service to all of our guest, and we are always pleased to hear that we are headed that direction. I am glad that you were able to utilize the family suite, that is why we have them. We hope you visit us next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The service , room , and morning breakfast , provided by this Best Western hotel was totally enjoyable. The staff gave us excellent travel advice . Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. That's all we really needed and wanted for a one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank robertwP5607DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilymbayshore, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your visit here to Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn. We strive to provide outstanding service to all of our guest, and we are always pleased to hear that we are headed that direction. We look forward to seeing you on you next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If smoking bothers you, consider another hotel. I would not have booked this hotel if I had known. There was a room about three doors from us with smokers, and every time that we passed it, it reeked. I'm surprised that my wife didn't have an asthma attack. Apparently they have a non-smoking wing, so I'm not sure why we weren't assigned a room there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank jmlowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilymbayshore, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that thing were not exactly to you liking. We actually are moving toward a 100% smoking free property. The change over will come by the end of July or beginning of August. I do hope that you will give us a chance to assist you in future reservations should you be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
2.6 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at 2nd & C
Inn at 2nd & C
#8 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.5 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Address: 3500 Broadway, Eureka, CA 95503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Eureka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eureka
#1 Business Hotel in Eureka
#2 Best Value Hotel in Eureka
#2 Family Hotel in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn we have all of our travelers needs in mind, we offer free wifi all rooms,and dsl in some rooms, free breakfast buffett, indoor/outdoor pool and spa, guest laudry and fitness center onsite. We have two restraunts onsite Shamus T Bones steakhouse also offering fresh sefood and a wide variety of bbq steaks ribs etc. We also have Marie Calenders restraunt onsite serving up yummy pies and homestyle comfort foods. Come in and relax in one of our many suites available. Extra ammenities also provided at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayshore Hotel Eureka
Best Western Bayshore Hotel
Best Western Eureka
Eureka Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing