We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roadhouse Updated”
Review of Deer Park Villa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Deer Park Villa
Ranked #25 of 40 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Porteous Avenue
Transit: Golden Gate Transit's Fairfax Station is 1/2 mile from Deer Park Villa.
Fairfax, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Roadhouse Updated”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Many people pass this place on their way up Bolinas just outside of the downtown. It is set in a grove of redwoods the family planted years ago. Yes you will see deer in the parking lot. There is a terrific outdoor area for weddings and such. Inside, you can sit in or at the bar, especially during the happy hours (very good prices for quality). For holiday seating, best to reserve for an early seating, can get crowded. Usually, buffet style for such events. Service can be a little uneven depending. Very enjoyable date with spouse during happy hours. Food is primarily beef with all the trimmings, and in season fish. Cannot believe the quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoirishbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Happiest Hour and Music”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I met up with a bunch of old friends who I haven’t seen much in the past 25-30 years to enjoy our classmate’s music. It had been many years since I was at the Villa and I was impressed how they’ve kept the classic nostalgic feel under the redwoods, but recreated the menu. We enjoyed the juicy burger, linguini vongole and a classic martini. The atmosphere was highlighted with wonderful local talents, Bonnie Hayes, Eric Jorgenson, Matt Kyne and a few others who serenaded us with music. Not only was it good to see old friends, but it was comforting to be in our familiar Deer Park Villa. I highly recommend it for family and friends gathering, but also for a romantic meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kentways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful restaurant with outdoor patio.under the majestic redwoods.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing! I have been to both brunches, Easter and Mothers day. They graciously accommodated me and greeted me with a mimosa. The setting of this 92 year old legacy is breathtaking. Service was warm and very hospitable. Food was delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jardinere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPV, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Been Waiting To Try and Worth It”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We finally made it with relatives. Although we arrived just about end-of-service time, we were nicely accommodated. When asked, the waiter "approved" the wine I asked about and was very right! I had the veal cutlet parmesan and was oh-so-pleasantly surprised! Most I've had were very heavy on the sauce. Not this one! A nice touch with the prosciutto too. Everyone had a great meal. We can't wait to make it back earlier in the evening to sit outside and enjoy the woods, music, and atmosphere. We're just lucky that the relatives live within walking distance! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharkyCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuau
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This place has a killer setting outside deck dining very nice but that's all.
Service here is terrible ordered drinks and appetizer Drink's came 20 minutes after the food. Drinks then food that's a standard dining. Canceled our dinner order as we noticed that every table around us had been waiting a very long time and were already pissed. Don't need that cook making my food. I've eaten here before and the service was bad then and has gotten worse.
If the owner has good managers and service staff then this place will do very well. I won't be back til things are turned around. GOOD LUCK DEER PARK VILLA

Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieSUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deer Park Villa also viewed

Larkspur, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 
Mill Valley, Marin County
Mill Valley, Marin County
 

Been to Deer Park Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing