We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owner - New Name”
Review of Jack's Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jack's Place
Ranked #54 of 70 Restaurants in Fallbrook
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Description: Once again, I think your zipcode database needs updating. Please Google CA 92028 and you will find it includes Fallbrook, CA
Restaurant details
Description: Once again, I think your zipcode database needs updating. Please Google CA 92028 and you will find it includes Fallbrook, CA
Fallbrook, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New owner - New Name”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Ownership has changed in last few months as well as name change. It is now "Jacks Place". Servings and such much changed and not for the better. Most sandwich items are a LA carte and prices have gone up. Never enough servers. Very slow. My regular group of around 12 have chosen to go elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 633KPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
1 review
“Menu was ruined.”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We used to eat at the Hukilau once a week. Since the new owners took it over many changes have been made. Big change was the menu recently. They took away several items,made certain things available at only certain times of the day,portions are smaller and of course prices have been changed. I had to laugh when I saw the sandwiches are a la carte! Plus if you want anything besides the sandwich it is extra. No more salad or fries with your sandwich. Ordering a hamburger on Wednesday you pay extra for cheese or the fries. The menu is not exciting or presentable for a Golf Club. No design and they can't spell Avocado correctly!!! Service is poor and very often not correct. If you are a member buy one get one dinners are gone as well. Too bad...we won't be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsB222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hukilau is consistently great”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My family and I have been going to Hukilau consistently for the last few years. Seriously, I've probably had over 100 meals there. It has gone through an ownership change and it is still great. I've never had a bad meal. The staff is friendly and attentive. The food is always great and the portions are very generous. The pricing is very good. I'm very comfortable taking clients and friends there. They continue to upgrade the landscaping and the atmosphere to make it nice. I really enjoy the large glass doors with the view overlooking the golf course.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson Breathed
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently.... poor”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I will say this for them - they are consistent. I've been there 5 times in 2 years. I've only eaten there 4 times, because once we could not get someone to wait on us and finally gave up. The staff is simply NOT TRAINED - each time I've been there you get some but not all of what you order. We asked for water, no ice, we got 1 water for 3 people with ice. I ordered an omelet that should have had avocado in it, when I asked the staff huddled and said, we're pretty sure it was supposed to have it, so we'll bring you a side order. It arrived when I was nearly done with my omelet. I asked for salsa - never got it. I like to spend my money on locally owned, but I give up with these guys.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank momquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Order is wrong most of the time - food is often cold.”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The service is either great or terrible depending on who you get. The food is wrong more often than not. We tried this place several times hoping it would get better but it didn't. The last time went home sick. The fish can be good, but it is sketchy at best - sometimes it has clearly gone bad.

More often than not the food is cold. I really don't like cold fries, eggs, or nachos - which I've been served several times there. Several times our order has been incorrect. I'm not sure the chef's actually read the ticket. When they get it right it is good - but that is really a crapshoot and the odds are not in your favor.

We won't eat there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jack's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing