We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Tradition Estate and Gardens

Grand Tradition Estate and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Fallbrook
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the rolling hills of Fallbrook, California lies the Grand Tradition Estate. Its 15 acres of year-round gardens are a beloved Southern California landmark. Discover a profusion of natural splendor along carefully crafted pathways of flowering plants, majestic palms and cascading waterfalls. Dedicated in 1984 by the McDougal family, these magnificent grounds have hosted over a million visitors from around the world.Come walk the property, eat lunch at The Veranda Restaurant, or enjoy a chef prepared picnic lunch on the manicured grounds of this north San Diego County gem. Make reservations for lunch at The Veranda Restaurant serving daily from 11am to 2pm.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
“Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Gorgeous venue in the middle of nowhere. So unexpected and so beautiful. Great Food and service and wonderful staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GLandeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    13
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“enchanting and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is one of San Diego's best kept secrets, if you ask me. Not just a fabulous venue for weddings, Grand Tradition is a great way to spend a leisurely day. It's a little hard to find, tucked away in a residential area. The long driveway is the first clue that the flowers and greenery are exceptionally lush and beautiful.

Three of us went in late June and it was still cool enough to enjoy the outdoors there. (I think that later in the summer it could be too warm.) We felt like kids in a candy shop, oohing and aahing at all the glorious waterfalls and foliage. Photo ops abound and every location along the pathways makes a gorgeous backdrop.

The estate is also quite stunning and it's great fun to peek in at the rooms upstairs. It's like stepping back in time to a kinder, gentler era.

Lunch on the veranda was excellent and fairly priced. The atmosphere is one of elegance and old world charm.

This would be an excellent choice for an anniversary celebration or wedding. We loved it just as a day to refresh our spirits.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nood65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SMALL PARADISE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Attended a wedding and I have to say one of the best wedding I have ever been in. Gorgeous place, great service. the team was so organized and accommodating. excellent views for pictures. It was just very romantic and perfect for weddings. I highly recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Redtusok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colbert, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand Tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Amazing, Beautiful place. We had a wonderful lunch on the deck. over looking the lake. This was in celebration of my Dad's 95th Birthday.
The owners are such nice people & so hospitable.
The grounds are a must to explore.
We hope to return soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Place for Fourth of July”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Since moving to Fallbrook almost five summers ago, we have not missed a 4th of July Picnic, music, and fireworks show. The venue is beautiful with lush gardens and grass surrounding the lake with the gazebo /bandstand out on a pennisula. The kids love the games, lawns and fireworks show, which is up above as you lie on the grass. Adults love it, too with dancing to live upbeat music, if you are so inclined. Admission price includes food tickets and is quite reasonable. One of my favorites during my 70 years - love seeing the kids having a great American time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mkvowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Tradition Estate and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Grand Tradition Estate and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing