We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people and golf, rooms so-so.”
Review of Pala Mesa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pala Mesa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We didn't come for the golf, just a place close to the family wedding. The employees were extremely helpful and friendly and the grounds were pretty too. Unfortunately, for the money spent, the rooms were very dated. They were clean, large, but not in the best repair. Everything worked, more or less, but looked worn out and only touched up. I guess more money goes into the golf, not the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Kathy B.,

I am happy that you enjoyed the grounds, and hopefully the wedding too! I am sorry the rooms were not to your liking. We are expecting a major renovation this year that will encompass the entire resort. This will take care of any of the dated amenities that you may have experienced. I hope that you will choose to give us a second chance once the upgrades are finished. I hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Pala Mesa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was put up in this hotel for 4/3 nights. It was a promotional gift by Welk Resorts. I needed to attend a 90 presentation to receive it. I had never been to Fallbrook. I had to look on a map to make sure there was such a town.

As I drove in, the charm of the place immediately engulfed me. It is an older resort, which has given time for all the trees and plants time to find their places and thrive and thrive they have. It is like a small botanical garden with birds, butterflies and hummingbirds all around. There is a pagoda perfect for meditation (with I did alot of) weddings or baptisms (which I was witness to). There is a golf course, which was beautiful and many people were using.

When you sit on the restaurant patio you have beautiful views of the mountains near by where some excellent wine is grown. It is 10 minutes to Temecula...a charming small town where you also can catch buses for wine tours. You are 20 minutes to Oceanside, where I went and discovered a arts/crafts fair with food and entertainment. I grabbed some food and sat on the beach and watched the sunset. That was my FIRST night.

There is also a fantastic fransican mission on way to beach that is the bomb!! Don't miss it.
Anyway, I hate to say it, but after my 90 min. tour and presentation at the Welk's resort, the Pala would still be my choice. Even if I had a million dollars. The Welk resort was beautiful, but devote of any character. Now the rooms at the Pala are very clean, but they are old. They probably should have new carpeting put in...atleast in my room and the toilet backed up. But they were quick to respond to issues AND despite all that, I would come back. I slept well every nite. Thank you to your landscaper and to the really nice staff. Best...

Room Tip: Don't know how much that room is, BUT there is a fantastic room that over looks the waterfall. I...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Lynn B.,

I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time here during your stay! We have a lot of Welk guests stay with us, and it is great to get such amazing feedback. It sounds like you had a very relaxing time, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a great place to stay, the best food from the Aqua Terra restaurant. The brunch was so good and great views from every seat. Beautiful grounds, very well kept. Loved just walking the grounds, so beautiful and serene. Lots to do in the area. The rooms were clean and very comfortable beds.
The staff is super helpful and friendly. I'm a new fan of this place and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Debbie B.,

Thank you so much for the comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, as well as the scenery. I hope that we will see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Thje 'Stay and Play' Package is a perfect set-up for a group of golfers. The Golf Course was in Great shape. The Room was very nice and right on the golf course too. The Restaraunt and Bar Food and Service were more than expected and the Staff was all very helpful. Two rounds of Golf on a championship course and a room for around a $100-it was PERFECT for our group of golfers. You can't beat it. Can't wait to get back and do it again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Jim K.,

As I'm sure you understand, the Stay & Play packages are a very common favorite. I am happy to hear that you had a chance to enjoy the course. I hope it wasn't too hard. I hope that we can see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lovely open air wedding setting. Great room with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. We enjoyed a very good breakfast on the terrace in the company of a humming bird - just a shame it was not included in the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline-David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Pauline & David B.,

I am so glad you enjoyed the wedding! So far as the restaurant is concerned, we do offer Bed & Breakfast packages. If you do decide to stay with us again, make sure you inquire about it! Also, sometimes certain sites like Groupon and Travel Zoo offer vouchers for purchase that include the night's stay as well as breakfast. We hope we can have the pleasure of catering to you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Best kept secret in Northern San Diego county. Yes, the place is a little dated, but it very clean, the grounds are stunning and the Aquaterra restaurant was outstanding. There may be places that are fancier, or more fashionable... But not as charming, quiet, and serene.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Edward B.,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will visit us again soon! Also, as for the resort being a tad dated, you will be happy to know that we are expecting a huge renovation this year! Hopefully you will like the resort even more once the changes have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Outstanding! Wonderful staff and the grounds are amazing. Front desk staff person was very helpful and the food was great. The waitress was very informed about local hiking trails as well. Will definitely be back.....and soon!!

Room Tip: Excellent, excellent, excellent!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMRManagement, Front Office Manager at Pala Mesa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Robert R.,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Pala Mesa Resort. We pride ourselves on great customer service, and it sounds like that is exactly what you received. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fallbrook
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Fallbrook I-15
Quality Inn Fallbrook I-15
#4 of 6 in Fallbrook
12 reviews
13.7 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
5.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pala Mesa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pala Mesa Resort

Address: 2001 Old Highway 395, Fallbrook, CA 92028-9771
Region: United States > California > Fallbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Price Range: £70 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pala Mesa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pala Mesa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pala Mesa Hotel Fallbrook
Pala Mesa Fallbrook
Pala Mesa Resort Fallbrook, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing