We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Econo in the name says it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Econo in the name says it all”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Econo Lodge is a no frills operation with the basic amenities of microwave, refrigerator, tv and free WiFi. There have been some recent exterior upgrades to what is an older structure, and for those requiring ADA access, request a first floor room as there is no elevator on the property. For anyone attending an event at The Grand Tradition, it is 1/4 of mile up the hill from the Econo Lodge parking lot. Econo Lodge's rooms are clean with comfortable beds and plenty of towels, although the furniture, drapes, and carpet are beginning to show wear. A quick walk across the carpet in white socks showed it's been awhile since they've been shampooed. Simple continental breakfast is served after 7 a.m. We didn't get to try the breakfast as we had to be about 45 miles away in Anza, CA at 7 a.m. Despite being in the heart of Fallbrook, it is a quick drive to Interstate 15, whether it's north to Temecula and the wine country, or south to San Diego and it's many sites.

Room Tip: For those requiring handicap access, request a first floor room when you make your reservation as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pentaxian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCAC91, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay, I will look into the wearing items as well as the carpets. We routinely do shampoo our carpets to keep them spot free. I will have our vacuums examined to see if they are working just the way that they should. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I will share your notes with our team so that we can deliver great guest experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    25
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
15
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here for a week and it was nice, quiet, clean, great rates, no pool, free wifi, small fridge, microwave, nice bed, desk, loveseat. Not many amenities but its ann EconoLodge so...rooms were above average for this type of hotel and rate Its also per friendly.

Room Tip: upstairs has vaulted ceilings, no elevator, stairs only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCAC91, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beltsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

For the price, this place is unbeatable.
1. I had a large room including a mini-fridge and microwave and a seating area with two upholstered chairs and a coffee table. Very comfortable.
2. Decor is simple and plain, but everything was in excellent repair and clean.
3. The bed was awesome; I haven't slept that well in a long time.
4. I can't comment on breakfast, because I missed it. See #3 above.
5. The (male) night clerk for check-in was efficient, kind and helpful. Bravo!

A couple of caveats:
1. Bring your own toiletries. Bar soap, shampoo and hair dryer are provided.
2. Note to manager: perhaps consider replacing the (female) day clerk or provide her with more training. I spoke to her 3 times--twice on the phone in the days before arrival and once upon check-out. I understand that English is not her first language and I am sympathetic. However, if she is going to work in a customer-service industry, she simply MUST learn to speak LOUDLY, SLOWLY and CLEARLY. This girl never spoke above a mumbled whisper, which I could not understand, especially on the phone. I arrived at the hotel actually believing that my reservation might have been canceled, prepared that I might have to drive back to Los Angeles in the middle of the night, because I couldn't get this girl to tell me whether I still had a room reserved...or at least I couldn't understand her answers to my questions. Very frustrating. Having to deal with this girl might be reason enough for me to avoid this hotel in the future. Otherwise, everything else about my stay was GREAT!

Room Tip: Unique construction affords travelers choice of 1st or 2nd story and choice of exterior or interior...
See more room tips
Green Features: I stayed only one night, so I didn't pay attention to policy re washing of linens.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCAC91, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Great! We appreciate the stay and kind feedback! I will share your review with our staff so that we can make improvements.

I'm that you enjoyed the stay and hope you had a chance to see Fallbrook! We look forward to accommodating on your future visits to the area.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The room had every thing we needed at a great price. This is a budget motel, no pool or gym etc. What you get is a good clean,large room with everything you need for a stay. We were there for 5 nights. I understand a few rooms do not have fridge and microwave, so if needed make certain it is in your reservation. The breakfast was a little stingy with a couple of cereals, some pastry and toast and juice as well as coffee and toast, that was it. Our stay was very comfortable and very much worth the price.

Room Tip: Away from the road and upstairs if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saturday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCAC91, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We greatly appreciate your business and feedback! Thank you for choosing to stay with us while deciding on lodging. We look forward to accommodating you on your future visits to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Quiet, comfortable. The staff is top notch, and very accommodating. The beds are comfortable, not a premium mattress, but certainly do-able. Facility is a bit worn around the edges and older, but it is what I expected from an Econo lodge of this age.

Our window didn't close all the way, so the street noise was a bit loud. If you are a light sleeper you might have some issues in the morning traffic.

The breakfast was lovely, coffee was fresh and was a nice way to start the morning off right. If we came back this way, we'd choose this place again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suek357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCAC91, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate your thorough review. Continually making improvements to our service and quality is very important to us. I will make mention to our maintenance regarding the notes for repair. We look forward to accommodating your on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trussville, Alabama, United States
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Reading these reviews always scares off some people. I guess people think that in a hotel you should never hear others, or see them. Our grandbaby was born to a daughter in Fallbrook. We are from Alabama, 2000 miles away, so we were pretty much throwing a dart at a board 100 miles away and hoping for a bullseye. Using the Priceline Negotiator feature, we got the room for what we considered an incredible value. It was cheaper than what we tried to book for direct. We were there 9 straight days. If there was anything scary we would have seen it. We ate the continental breakfast every morning. The maid service was there early, the sheets changed and room cleaned. We never worried about leaving our valuables in the room. There were no seedy characters hanging around, no drug deals or hookers hanging out late. It was a very nice place that we used as a home base of operations while we toured Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Hollywood, and visited the Naval hospital and my daughter's home a mile away to visit the new baby. We would definitely stay there again. The staff was very polite and helpful. The bed was very comfortable, the wifi was easy. Check in was a breeze. One of our room keys stopped working and was fixed in a matter of seconds. Our only complaint was that there was no sugar for the coffee in our room two days. If that was all I could find, then it was okay with us.

Room Tip: The upstairs odd numbered rooms have a large window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCAC91, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for leaving a thorough review, we appreciate it very much! Our location can be a bit off with relation to interstate and highway access, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you on your next visit to Fallbrook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Booked this online with Easytobook .com and it was...easy! And quick. It was just what we we looking for at the right price: a nice and clean, no frills, smoke-smell free, quiet and comfortable room to just get a night's sleep after a late check-in. Spoke with owner/manager on phone after booking online to guarantee late check in and he was very accomodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeCAC91, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your recent stay, Thank you. Our goal is to offer the most value for price in our market!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fallbrook
0.3 mi away
Fallbrook Country Inn
Fallbrook Country Inn
#2 of 6 in Fallbrook
125 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn Fallbrook I-15
Quality Inn Fallbrook I-15
#4 of 6 in Fallbrook
12 reviews
5.0 mi away
Pala Mesa Resort
Pala Mesa Resort
#1 of 6 in Fallbrook
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Ramada Temecula Old Town
Ramada Temecula Old Town
#9 of 19 in Temecula
565 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
11.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown
Address: 1608 S Mission Rd, Fallbrook, CA 92028-4173 (Formerly Hillside Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fallbrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fallbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the recent upgrades and improvements in our recently refreshed lobby and all our cozy guestrooms and suites. At Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, we invite you to make yourself at home with thoughtful lifestyle amenities like free Wi-Fi access, complimentary breakfast, and free local calls. Professional travelers can stay productive at an in-room work desk or in our onsite business center, featuring print and fax services. Our pet-friendly hotel is also ideal for family travel, within walking distance of great restaurants, shopping, art galleries, and other local flavors. Get a great value - including extended stay, recurring and corporate rates - at our downtown Fallbrook, CA hotel nestled near Temecula, Camp Pendleton, Bonsall, Rainbow, Pala and Oceanside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Fallbrook Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Fallbrook
Hillside Hotel Fallbrook
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Fallbrook Downtown California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing