We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-away place”
Review of Windy Point Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fawnskin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windy Point Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Fawnskin B&B and Inns
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great get-away place”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a great place to get away and relax. B&B is right on the lake (you really could hear the water lapping on shore). We stayed in one of the two rooms away from the main house. The room had a fantastic lake view and was well appointed with a small frig and coffee pot with tea/coffee. The breakfast was very good and was brought right to our room, eating area was great either in or outdoors. No TV, but room has DVD player and (complementary) movie library available in main house. Location is on the North shore and easy drive to Big Bear activities.
Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Two rooms are seperate from the main house. Ask for which ever is your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer9180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We have now stayed at Windy Point over a dozen time in the last 15 years. This stay was just as great as our very first, with the beautiful view (from the Shores suite), yummy breakfast, and friendly chats with Ken and Val. Though we visit Big Bear yearly with family too, Windy Point remains "our place" ...no sharing our favorite:)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brina05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windypointinn, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
We were so happy to have you visit again. It was nice catching up and hearing about the family and all that you have been up to. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to having you visit us again. And maybe we will run into you during Big Bear's next chili cook-off.
Val Kessler, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Had a terrific stay at Windy Point Inn to celebrate our 40th anniversary. The room had a lake view along one wall, a wet bar/coffee area, fireplace, and jacuzzi in the bedroom. Breakfast was over-the-top good. The room is very attractive and perfectly maintained. We plan to go back, and highly recommend it.

The B&B is small, with 4 rooms. The property is on the northwest shore of Big Bear lake. Essentially, there is no beach access, but it isn't far to Grout Bay and the marina park in Fawnskin. In less than 10 minutes you can be at the Discovery Center and walk along the north shore to your heart's content.

There is no TV but a DVD player (and library) as well as a CD player.

It is a place that I consider to be most suitable for couples.

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tecolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windypointinn, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit at Windy Point Inn. We love having guests celebrating their anniversary with us. 40 years of marriage is definitely worth celebrating! Again, Happy 40th Anniversary.

Val Kessler, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Valley, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

First, let me say I'm a little conflicted about how to write this review so I'm going to rate each thing on a scale of 1-10. The view absolutely a 10, can't beat it! Kent the host - 9. He was very accommodating. He came right away and fixed the heater fan and provided us with additional wood for the fireplace at no charge. He did offer good information about where to eat and things to do. The downside - some subtle warnings based on past experience or the cost of the complimentary shampoo/lotion etc. Food - 8. Adequate, hot, served on time, good. Compared to some other B & B's we have stayed at costing the same $$/night we did not rate this as higher because of lack of choices and amount. Still good. Cleanliness - 9. There was some spots on the glass of the bathroom picture and dust on the frame, and there was a very long hair in the shower that was not ours. Otherwise, no complaints. Quietness - 7; we like sleeping with windows open. We tried this the first night but WP sits right on a fairly busy road. We were in the Cove which has no other rooms between it and the road. I think we would have been better off in the Peaks. The second night we closed all windows/doors and it was very quiet, but we were a bit warm. We like to sleep cold. Bed - 5. This could be a deal killer for us returning. In the Cove the bed is a king but is only a mattress sitting on a piece of plywood inside the bed frame. There is no box springs and the mattress is not that good. There are dips in each side. We really had a hard time getting comfortable and the last night I got about 3 hours sleep. Granted my back has some issues but if the owners could upgrade their beds to have good box springs and mattresses then I would be back in a heartbeat! In fact before we had slept there our first night we were already planning to return in Spring for a week, but now have to rethink that. We would stay in the "Peak" as we think it would be quieter and perhaps we could have the windows open. There is no cable TV, but that's ok with us and I was not able to access any Wi-Fi, but I can't remember if that was advertised , but again not a problem.

Room Tip: Could not uncheck swimming pool as "Terrible" there is not one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVGilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windypointinn, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
We are sorry you did not have a great experience at Windy Point Inn, which is something we strive to achieve for all of our guests. We wish you would have let us know your concerns while you were here so we could have addressed them at the time. We try very hard to keep everything clean and we would have been happy to have housekeeping go back into your room. We also could have re-fluffed, or even removed, the feather topper on top of the mattress, which may have been more comfortable for you.
We are sorry you felt the need to close your windows during the night.

Val Kessler, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights on business. Very lovely B&B. Breakfasts were wonderful. I stayed at the Coves and the view is unbelievable. The only down side is there's no regular TV program. There is a TV and a DVD player in the room and the B&B has a wide variety of movie DVDs. So all in all, it was a lovely stay. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiecute1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windypointinn, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review. We do appreciate it. We are happy you had a nice stay with us and look forward to having you visit us again the next time you are in our area.
Val Kessler, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynham, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Our stay at the Windy Point Inn was way too short. We only booked one night there. In retrospect, we could have stayed there a week. Our room had a 270 degree view of the lake and was something out of a magazine. We hit it off well with Kent right away. He was very accommodating and advised us of a good restaurant in Big Bear. We'd advise anyone considering a trip to Big Bear Lake to take your time and settle in at Windy Point Inn for longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windypointinn, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
We are thrilled that you felt you could have stayed longer. Hopefully you can on a future visit. We are happy that Kent was able to provide you with information to make the most of your short time in Big Bear. Keep in mind that Big Bear offers four seasons of fun, so any time of year is great for a visit. We look forward to having you visit us again.
Val Kessler, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a lovely couple of nights here as part of our Californian road trip. Big Bear Lake was initially a stop over in-between Las Vegas and Disneyland but turned out to be one of the nicest parts of our trip. A very peaceful setting - lovely to wake up to an excellent breakfast over looking the lake. Kent was extremely friendly and gave us plenty of recommendations for places to go and where to eat - we hope to be back here one day, maybe next time for a spot of skiing. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windypointinn, Manager at Windy Point Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
We are happy that your stay with us was a memorable part of your holiday. We enjoyed spending time with you and hearing about your home, as well as your travels in the United States. Hopefully we can see you in the future on another visit.
Val Kessler, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fawnskin
1.9 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
411 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
617 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Fawnskin
The Inn at Fawnskin
#1 of 2 in Fawnskin
103 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marina Resort
Marina Resort
#7 of 19 in Big Bear Region
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quail Cove Lakeside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Point Inn

Property: Windy Point Inn
Address: 39015 N. Shore Drive, P.O. Box 375, Fawnskin, CA 92333
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Fawnskin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fawnskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing