We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Fawnskin
Ranked #1 of 2 Fawnskin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“July Getaway”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is THE place, if you're looking for EXCELLENT accommodations, and even better food.
The innkeepers Nancy and Bill are, without exception, the best hosts we've had the privilege of meeting.
The LakeView Suite - PRIMO. The upgraded bathroom with jacuzzi - to die for.
The room: very comfortable, with a lot of quaint charm. Excellent viewing point for Big Bear Lake.
We surely believe that the food we were served, is the best we've eaten, bar none.
Our stay, accompanied with great conversation, and tremendous food was the best point of being in Big Bear.
We loved the ambiance and were able to rest and relax, which was so needed after a family funeral just the week before.

Room Tip: LakeView Suite is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaki02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Nancee and Kim,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! Bill and I really enjoyed meeting you both...getting to know all our guests is our favorite part of being Innkeepers! We look forward to seeing you again, and appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
70
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have been to the Inn at Fawnskin twice now and love it! It is a wonderful B & B on the Fawnskin side of Big Bear Lake. I like that side better because it is quieter and you can look across the lake to Big Bear City and the ski runs. Nancy and Bill are wonderful people and the breakfast and conversation each morning were amazing and a highlight. They also do weddings in the back of the house. This place is like the best family cabin in the woods! Our room didn't have TV, but there is a library of DVDs, so we watched one. Nancy made some good restaurant recommendations for us and then made reservations. The highlight was a new wine tasting room that had a jazz combo playing that night. We went and saw Bill and Nancy there and then the combo had Nancy get up a sing while they played. I hope to return to the Inn at Fawnskin again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Tracey,
Thank you so much for writing a review for us! It is so special when you take the time out of your busy schedule to let other guests know of your experiences. I am sorry you didn't have TV in your room....all the rooms do have basic cable tv, but it is possible someone left the DVD player on, in which case, your tv would have been "snow"! I'm sorry I didn't know about it, because I could have helped. Anyway, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you'll visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I spent the July 4th weekend in Big Bear at the Inn at Fawnskin. Our room (Lakeview suite) was fabuous, super large with a king bed, large sitting area, fireplace and nice jacuzzi tub. Bill and Nancy are very warm and interesting people who take excellent care of their guests. Breakfast was wonderful and different every day and it was nice to meet the other guests and learn more about them, as well as about Nancy and Bill. They make you feel right at home. The grounds are lovely with great outdoor spots to relax and read. It is on the North shore, so not right in Big Bear village. But the drive only took a few minutes and it was actually a bit more peaceful than the hustle of the village. Good restaurants were recommended for dinner. I would highly recommend this property for couples, solos or even friends or small families. The Northshore quite is more like an apartment as it has a sitting room that is separate from the actual bedroom. The Garden Suite is lovely too, on the first floor, with a huge bath and lovely green garden views. A perfect rustic but luxurious southern California get away!

Room Tip: Any of the suites are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Vikki,
Thank you so much for writing a review for our Inn! We so appreciate your taking the time to express your own personal experience, it really helps other people make an informed decision. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at the Inn for 2 nights, in two different rooms and they were both great. The Inn is a true log home, which we love these types of B&B's to stay. It is located across the road from the Lake and we had a lovely view of the it. Bill and Nancy were fantastic, very friendly and knowledgable of the area since it was our first trip to Big Bear. The Lakeview Suite was the room we had the first night, lovely and cozy. The next night we stayed in the North Shore Suite, a real gem. Actually is 3 rooms, bedroom, living room and bath room. Love the decor and the beds were comfy. The breakfasts were amazing, the Light As Air pancakes and Cowboy Bacon, unbelievable!!! Fresh squeezed juice, scones, coffee and fruit, all were delicious. I know we will stay here again on the future trip to Big Bear. This is a true quaint place to stay, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, lovely place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! It was so nice of you and Dan to move rooms, since all the others were taken, but as you said, you got to experience two different rooms too! We appreciate your taking the time to write a review, and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This was our first experience at a B&B - what took us so long!!! The Inn at Fawnskin was exquisite. The treatment offered by our hosts, Nancy and Bill made us feel more like family rather than customers. Our room, the Lakeside, was so cozy and comfortable; the addition of daily fresh flowers was such a nice touch. The breakfasts we were served were over the top. Nancy's cullinary skills are beyond reproach, and Bill's speciality brewed teas and fresh squeezed orange juice cannot be beat. What a delightful way to start the day. We will definitely recommend the Inn at Fawnskin and we certainly plan to return. Our stay was for 3 nights - which I believe was just a perfect amount of time to relax and enjoy our 41st anniversary and to be able to appreciate all the offerings The Inn at Fawnskin had to offer.

Room Tip: The Lakeside room had a nice sitting area with a sofa, along with a small refrigerator, and a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Randey & Michael,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay-thank you for taking the time to write a review! We so appreciate your comments, and look forward to seeing you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a sort of anniversary gift to ourselves. We have stayed in B&B's in many countries over the years and enjoy the pleasure of more intimate contact with the people living there.

Nancy and Bill are the perfect hosts; delightful, knowledgeable, intelligent and attentive to ones every need.

The breakfasts they prepare are nothing short of outstanding.

Located in Fawnskin,on the opposite side of the lake, it is much quieter yet only minutes from the hub of the more commercial side.

No wonder current and historic entertainment figures have chosen to live here. Gable and Bogart among others had homes just up the street.

You will most certainly be happy you chose to stay here!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple

Room Tip: All rooms are unique but excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Steve and Debra,
We so enjoyed meeting both of you, and spending quality time with you both as well. Steve,
your photography is amazing, and we appreciate Debra sharing her legal expertise with us as well. We look forward to seeing you both again! Thank you for taking the time to write a review-it is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were very happy to spent the past weekend at the Inn celebrating our 19th Anniversary with Nancy and Bill. They are gracious and wonderful hosts who are a pleasure to stay with. We stayed in the Lakeview suite and it was just as we hoped it would be, quiet and relaxing. We spent time soaking in the spa tub, relaxing in cozy robes and even enjoys a fire our last night. The breakfast both days was amazing to say the very least. If you have the chance this is certainly a must stay type of place. Quaint and cozy and very much personal. Thanks again for an amazing weekend and our super cute anniversary present.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancyceleste, Owner at The Inn at Fawnskin, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Christy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! We so appreciate it. We loved meeting you and Guy, and sharing stories at breakfast! We're glad you had such a nice time, and
look forward to seeing you again before too long!
Sincerely,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fawnskin
2.0 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
411 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
216 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
131 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.6 mi away
Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Alpenhorn Bed and Breakfast Inn
#1 of 16 in Big Bear Region
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Fawnskin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Fawnskin

Property: The Inn at Fawnskin
Address: 880 Canyon Rd., PO Box 378, Fawnskin, CA 92333
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Fawnskin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fawnskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Fawnskin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Fawnskin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Fawnskin Hotel Fawnskin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing