We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Railroad Fun for the whole family!”

Roaring Camp & Big Trees Narrow-Gauge Railroad
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Felton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A train ride into a private redwood stand.
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Railroad Fun for the whole family!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We've taken our kids several times and it's a hit every time. The steam train ride up the mountain is always good, and everyone on the train looked to be having fun. The kids really enjoyed watching the Blacksmith and panning for gold. The handcart racing is quite fun and a good work out!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ngraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    74
    15
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Rode both the redwoods tour and the beach trains!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed each train ride and the village while waiting for the train to leave.The conductors on each train make the trip enjoyable... great facts and info from both..don't forget your camera on the redwoods train lots of picture opportunities...starting with the train itself!!! The beach train gives you plenty of time to make a day of it ...eat lunch at the boardwalk or wharf... ride the rides and hit the beach for some sun and fun....a great way to spend the day...no driving and finding parking in Santa Cruz!!I completely enjoyed both outings!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Engineer for the Day, A Train Lovers Dream”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

For the Steam Train lover in your family, this is the place to go. My first visit was over 46 years ago as a child. The reason I love trains to this day. An exciting trip up through the redwoods the whole family will enjoy. Twelve years ago I returned and chose the "Engineer for a Day" package. This last weekend I returned and again was a guest engineer. You ride in the cab of large steam engine up through the redwoods with the engineer showing you all the controls. Once he is sure you understand the basics, YOU get to be the engineer during part of the trip. It is now my plan to return every 5 years to repeat the experience.
If you do plan to be an engineer keep in mind it is very warm in the cab. Wear long pants and shirt, coveralls are even better. I had my full outfit and really looked the part.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sargewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“awesome !! great trains and HUGE trees !!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

wonderful experience-even went to the roundhouse afterwards and the work in progress on other engines. staff very helpful and extremely knowledgeable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeachBound23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Railroad buffs delight”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a running steam train that was used to haul lumber to the coast. There is food and fun hear, I great place for Families. Cross the tracks and you enter Henry Cowell Red Woods State Park, one of my favorite places to hang out with BIG, OLD trees.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobFromSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roaring Camp & Big Trees Narrow-Gauge Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Roaring Camp & Big Trees Narrow-Gauge Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing