We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal in the redwoods”
Review of Oak Tree Ristorante - CLOSED

Oak Tree Ristorante
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San Lorenzo Ave.
Description: Oak Tree Ristorante is nestled in the heart of the Santa Cruz Mountains with surrounding redwoods, rivers, wineries, and the sounds of the steam engine in the distance. This restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy a delicious meal with friends, family or that special someone. Located on Highway 9 in Felton, just south of the entrance to Henry Cowell State Park. The newly refurbished restaurant has a warm and welcoming ambiance inside and out. Enjoy dining in a storybook setting, serene garden views, the gentle sounds of our fountain, and overhead, the sheltering arms of our spectacular giant oak. Chef Nobile has created an excellent wine list; a selection of both local and Italian wines, making Oak Tree Ristorante the best destination in the San Lorenzo Valley.
San Ramon, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great meal in the redwoods”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Four of us had a chance to again try the Oak Tree Ristorante in Felton, CA. We had eaten there before, but it was a couple of years ago, and things change. It was our daughter's birthday, so
we splurged a bit - but it was worth it!

I have to say that this was, for all of us, an excellent meal! We had four different entree's, and split two different salads (house and Caprese - they are HUGE). There wasn't a morsel left on any of the plates - but that meant no room for dessert! Next time :-)

Our four entree's were the Risotto Tutumare, Linguine del Mar (the special that night), Scaloppina di Pollo and Crab ravioli - all delicious!
Great service and a pleasant experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JDB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    11
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Felton, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hiking, camping and right next to Roaring Camp Railroad”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful place. Some of the biggest oldest redwoods you will ever see. Camping areas with bbq pits and picnic benches. Many miles of hiking for all level skills. My wife and I were married there too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing chef!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I continue to return to Oak Tree because Chef Sebastian is absolutely unbelievable!
We keep ordering the Chef's tasting special which is a 5-course meal and we continue to be stunned! It's like being on tasting roller-coaster and we never know what he's going to create next but we know that it will be amazing. This last Friday night, even though the restaurant was packed not only with the usual dozen or so clientele, he also had a wedding rehearsal for which he had an extra 60 mouths to feed. While feeding them, he still created another incredible tasting experience for us which was capped off by the last 2 courses: the lamb that was the best lamb I have ever tasted and it was smothered in a garlic butter sauce, and the deserts which were 3 types of cannoli plus an upside down peach cake!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ghostepj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, slow and erratic service”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Tasty and satisfactory Italian dishes, picturesque setting in the trees, probably the best in the immediate neighborhood. However, the service was spotty and we had to wait a verrry long time for our check, which detracted from the happy experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jabx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I really want to be able to say, HIT! But each time I have been to this restaurant, it has been up and down. The mushroom ravioli in a cream sauce is wonderful, but the gnocchi in pesto, so-so. The desserts are very good though.The setting of this place is beautiful and the staff very friendly, I just wish the food was more consistent. But I will go back and try again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rmkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oak Tree Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing