We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a one night stay”
Review of Redwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redwood Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferndale
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value for a one night stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Redwood Suites are perfect for those visitors that are just staying for 1-2 nights. Any longer and I would stay at their Inn. Great breakfast was provided at the Inn with a friendly staff. Ferndale is such a great little boutique town with so much history. A photographers paradise. Artists, antiques and a lot more. Ferndale is a great place to visit.

The room was a basic motel room with up scale touches. For Floridians we were laughing that there was no AC but a provided fan and a cross breeze provided a restful night sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wagsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    46
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
64
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We arrived in Ferndale late and without reservation, and were routed here from one of Ferndale's more charming B & B's. It was clean, spacious and comfortable. We didn't need or use the fully equipped kitchen or sofabed, but I could see a longer term stay or a small family enjoying their stay here. We were in the Salt Lake suite upstairs, which was quieter, I imagine, than downstairs. Of course, you haul your own stuff up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here because of the Tripadvisor reviews, and were very disappointed. Room 11 smelled musty and the bathroom could use a scrub brush. There was mold all around the shower doors and grime around the toilet. The only good to this room was the bed was fairly comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorianVillager, Owner at Redwood Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Whoops! We are very sorry for the condition in which this guest found the track of the shower enclosure. Periodically we take the shower apart and get into the grooves and deep clean it. This scheduled cleaning took place shortly after their stay. Please be assured that the problem was corrected, and will remain so. If you check the other reviews, you will find that one of the most often repeated compliments we receive is about our cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a regular room, not a suite. The room was clean, the bed was very firm and comfortable. The entire town is quiet and the hotel was too. As it is a single story and very few rooms provided a very relaxed weekend. We were travelling on motorcycles and it was great to be able to park outside the door. If you're planning on watching TV though, don't bother. I needed a magnifying glass to see the picture on an old 15" tube screen. Seriously? It's not like you can't go to any thrift store and find a bigger one for $20 or $30 bucks. With a gazillion channels, the hotel can certainly spare the expense of upgrading it. We joked that we have better TV's in our travel trailer. Overall, it was a very nice experience and provided us a convenient place to do all the riding we wanted to do in the area. We would definitely stay there again. The joke of a TV isn't important enough to us to give the room a lower rating since who travels to watch TV. Ferndale is a really neat little town. Pappa Joe's is the place to eat breakfast and pretty much anything the town has to offer is in walking distance which I thought was really cool.

Room Tip: If I remember right, we were in the Coffee Creek Room. I will request this room on our next trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caldixiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This is the only place in downtown Ferndale to stay that's not a b&b. Went with friends and didn't really want the extra cost/amenities that come w/b&b's -though I would recommend going that route if it's your first time to the area/never stayed in a b&b before. The towns' offerings of beautifully restored Victorians to stay in is abundant. The Redwood Suites however, is a fair alternative if you don't want the cost, and especially if you are with friends and don't mind sharing a space as most rooms are suites. The location is fantastic, right downtown with food, sightseeing, shopping, all within walking distance. The only real drawback was that the place wasn't quite as clean as I prefer, a common problem with lodging these days.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This was our first time to the state of California. Our trip included driving the coast , seeing the redwood trees and ending with San Francisco. Best by far was Ferndale and booking two nights at Redwood Suites. The owners and the gentleman who checked us in were very welcoming. Sweet town reminded me of home. The breakfast at the Victorian Inn was a great start for the day plus they offered a buy one get one free for staying at the Redwood Suites. Oh, almost forgot on arrival we were upgraded to a small apartment. For the money this was the best deal for our 12 days in California. My rating is a definite 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pope Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The staff at the Redwood Suites and Victorian Inn are super friendly and pleasant. The accommodations at the Redwood Suites are comfortable and roomy. With a kitchen for cooking and snacks, and a living area with a comfy couch completly separate from the bedroom, it is easy to strech out and relax, almost like being at home! Dinner at the Victorian Inn was excellent. Even though we arrived closer to the end of the evening we were encouraged to relax and take as much time as we wanted to enjoy our dinner and the rest of the evening. This was our second time staying at Redwood Suites, both times we have had a child or children with us. Perfect for families. We hope to visit again sometime without children and stay at the Victorian Inn which appears to be more romantic!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motherhen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
16.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
6.0 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
16.7 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Suites

Property: Redwood Suites
Address: 332 Ocean Avenue, P O Box 1436, Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwood Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For lodging near the Redwoods State Park, Redwood Suites is your accommodation of choice.L ocated in the heart of the Historic Victorian Village of Ferndale, CA, Redwood Suites is awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Redwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel Ferndale
Redwood Motel Ferndale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing