We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Dang Cute” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redwood Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferndale
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too Dang Cute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I loved this place the moment I stepped into the room. We got the Howe Suite and it's perfect. It has an adorable kitchen that we acts I'll won't be using but it's just so cute I had to take photos. We are within walking distance of everything in Ferndale and can't wait to go explore.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTraveler1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    46
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
62
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Located at the end of Ferndale's main street, you have an affordable lodging that is simple, yet comfortable and roomy. If you want a kitchen and living room suite, you can also have that for longer stays. Price includes one of the best breakfasts you will ever have, a block away at the Victorian Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I booked this based on other travellers reviews and was not disappointed. When my family saw the exterior, they were a little worried that I had booked an older style 1960s motel, (single storey around a parking lot) but we opened the door and it was very nice. It retains the older style kitchen and bathroom but we had a family suite with a lovely kingsize bed and two singles, plus living room/dining room. The soft furnishings were very nice and the bed covers and linens were lovely. It was spotlessly clean. upon checking in I was reminded that breakfast was included at the Victorian Inn in the dining room. and the food was excellent and most enjoyed by everyone. We had a chat with the owner and the staff was very friendly.
The little town of Ferndale is a virtually intact town of heritage buildings and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowflakeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have been to Ferndale on numerous occasions in the last 20 years,we've stayed at the Victorian Inn, the gingerbread mansion and the Redwood suites. We are now getting older so we find it harder to go up and down the stairs, thankfully the owners of the Victorian Inn purchased the Redwood suite and have made some wonderful improvements. Just pull up in front of your room roll your luggage in the room, no steps, neat and clean rooms. Done! Now walk a 100 feet to the VI Resturant & Lounge and enjoy the most incredible food in Northern CA. I love this place! By the way I'm a chef and a food and wine lover. GREAT Job Lowell & Jenny.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Napa-CAJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Redwood Suites, the Victorian Inn's other property, and upon 1st glance we were disappointed. The Inn is so beautiful on the outside, and the Redwood Suites looks like an old roadside motel. The room turned out to be fantastic though! We had Room 5, a very spacious suite with a separate bedroom, living room, and full kitchen. The room was spotlessly clean and had nice decor. The bedroom had a very comfortable king bed and a twin trundle bed. It all worked very well for our family with 4 children. Breakfast was phenomenal, and served in the lovely Victorian Inn's restaurant.
The only unpleasant thing we saw was every morning at breakfast, the inn's owner or manager sat in the dining room with his calculator and bookkeeping to keep an eye on every guest being served...to make sure no one was getting a freebie. It felt a bit Scrooge like and unprofessional. We were asked what room we were in and if we were all guests at least 3 times before we sat down on our 2nd day there. It felt like we were being accused of trying to steal a free breakfast. That's the only reason they lost a star.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorianVillager, Owner at Redwood Suites, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We appreciate and thank this guest very much for the kind words and comments, Perhaps, however, I should explain about those two items which seemed negative to them...and cost us a "star". Our restaurant, the VI, is open to the public and our staff is trainned to ask whether or not those coming in for breakfast are inn guests or not...but only so we don't present them with a bill! And I do, as the owner, occupy one corner table each morning, usually working on projects for the day. The reason I do this, however, is not to keep an eye on the guests, but to be able to enjoy them and welcome them to our inns and village. If I didn't do that I would need to be working in my office and then miss out on one of the greatest rewards of owning a inn, that of being able to meet and enjoy our guests. I had no idea this could be construed as being a "Scrooge", but I'll sure try to get rid of that image in the future. And by the way, these were SUBPERB guestsand a fine family, and are welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Redwood Suites are perfect for those visitors that are just staying for 1-2 nights. Any longer and I would stay at their Inn. Great breakfast was provided at the Inn with a friendly staff. Ferndale is such a great little boutique town with so much history. A photographers paradise. Artists, antiques and a lot more. Ferndale is a great place to visit.

The room was a basic motel room with up scale touches. For Floridians we were laughing that there was no AC but a provided fan and a cross breeze provided a restful night sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wagsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We arrived in Ferndale late and without reservation, and were routed here from one of Ferndale's more charming B & B's. It was clean, spacious and comfortable. We didn't need or use the fully equipped kitchen or sofabed, but I could see a longer term stay or a small family enjoying their stay here. We were in the Salt Lake suite upstairs, which was quieter, I imagine, than downstairs. Of course, you haul your own stuff up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bear River Casino Resort
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Ferndale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Suites

Property: Redwood Suites
Address: 332 Ocean Avenue, P O Box 1436, Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwood Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Historic Victorian Village of Ferndale, CA, Redwood Suites is awaiting your stay. For lodging near the Redwood Park, Redwood Suites is your accommodation of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Redwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel Ferndale
Redwood Motel Ferndale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing