We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Our farm is an easy one mile walk from the ocean.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our farm is an easy one mile walk from the ocean.
We provide dinner as well as breakfast in the room price and cook to requested dietary restrictions
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Our farm is an easy one mile walk from the ocean.
We provide dinner as well as breakfast in the room price and cook to requested dietary restrictions
Apple season and look who showed up! Another guest photo, first time in 70 years we saw 'our bear.'
Bob emu strolls in the garden. You can feed him apples. Or not.
Crab feed (in season, request ahead)
Full moon, cattle graze, hillside at the ocean, 1 mi.from our farm.
Fresh salad greens and part of our 80 acre wild park.
This family chose to have their dessert be roast marshmallows at the beach. We accomodate families.
Fresh artichokes for dinner
Local brew and our homemade bread.
Marathoner guest greets Bob, the emu.
Table setting.
Guests at dinner...
Roasted tomato basil soup simmers.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ferndale, Humboldt County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Freedom68...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute gem”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We were so lucky to be staying with Wendy and John. They are just so friendly, helpful, superb cooks - breakfasts plus dinners shared with them and their other interesting guests. Great conversations which we love , as English tourists in a different country we can learn and share so much. The accommodation was cosy - we felt right at home. Thank you so much - definitely one of our best ever stays in USA and we have travelled through 40 states over many years so have a lot of experience!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, secluded paradise near the beach.”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house is tucked away in a peaceful, quiet, secluded valley surrounded by woods a short distance from the Victorian town of Ferndale and within earshot of the ocean. That's only part of the charm of this place. The hosts, Wendy and John, really went all out to make me feel comfortable and welcome. The air is fresh, the bed was comfortable, and I slept like a log. The food was first rate and lovingly prepared - no processed or canned food served here, I can assure you, and any special dietary needs or restrictions will be met. A wonderful place and wonderful hosts. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryBeth...
Cathedral City, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like visiting family!”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

After a short drive from town and down a long driveway, we arrived at the home. We were greeted by Frank, the dog as well as Bob, the emu and 2 alpacas. Wendy, the host, soon came out and warmly greeted us. She showed us to our room then gave us a tour, pointing out where and when dinner & breakfast would be, where we could find coffee in the morning, where our private bathroom was. There was also a one-sheet in our room, giving us wifi info as well as additional FAQs. The dinner and breakfast were delicious and plentiful. The conversations were fascinating. Wendy and her husband John had very interesting backgrounds. Being a long-time resident of Ferndale and the city's historian, Wendy was a wealth of information. By the time we left, we felt like we were saying goodbye to family or long-time friends. This was by far our most positive experience of this type.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrin S
1 review
“Excellent hosting, great food, and very friendly.”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My partner and I drove up from San Francisco for a break from the hubbub and clearly we hit the nail on the head. The garden room is quiet on a secluded farm. We enjoyed a short walk to the beach and a quick drive to town, but mostly we enjoyed the company and hospitality of our hosts who, as the ad says, joined us for breakfast and dinner. We even had a bonus in terms of great conversation from the other guests, a lovely couple from the UK who shared our progressive views.

Passion, good food, and a wealth of local knowledge are among the perks you can expect at this place. You cannot tell from this review, but I am generally quite a tough critic. This trip will leave a lasting memory in the best kind of way for a long time. When we got back home, my partner thanked me for arranging such a unique and pleasant vacation. I would not hesitate for a moment to do it again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha K
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay - great hosts, comfy room and delicious food”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Wendy and John have a wonderful farm, located just a mile from the ocean. Our stay there was a special treat for us. When we arrived at the house was being warmed with a nice fire in the fireplace. Dinner was delicious - homemade bread, shepherd's pie and chocolate cake with a raspberry sauce. We enjoyed learning about the Ferndale area, including its rich history. The room was very comfortable and wonderfully decorated. Breakfast was another great meal. Wendy and John's hospitality was outstanding - we'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
We had such a great time with you two! Your visit was an inspiration to us both. Safe travels, happy quilting, hope to see you both again someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrZander
Meine, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thank you, Christiane! We enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again someday. All best, Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing