We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last Minute” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Ferndale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redding.CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Last Minute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

When a visitor from Omaha expressed an interest in seeing the redwoods and some of coastal California, we made a last minute reservation at the Victorian Inn in Ferndale. They were able to accomodate us with adjoining rooms. The rooms were spacious, clean and historically correct. The dining room was convenient. Dinner was well prepared and presented. We slept well in spite of the siren at the volunteer fire department. It is simpy part of the Ferndale experience, regardless of where you stay. The breakfast was delicious. The innkeeper came by to chat at a personal level, a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gldnstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    97
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
49
274
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Victorian Inn in early October 2013. It was overall, a wonderful experience. We stayed in Anna's Suite, one of the newer and larger suites. It had a kitchen and living room area with its own computer workstation and wireless network.

The staff was helpful and made our stay special. The Victorian Inn restaurant was a good choice for dinner on both nights and for breakfast. A full breakfast, with several menu choices, is included in the room rate for all guests.

We look forward to staying here when we return to Northern California.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We cannot say enough about the wonderful stay we had in Ferndale at he Victorian Inn!
Jenny helped us plan our itinerary so that we wouldn't miss anything! There are many not to miss
Places....walk to the top of the cemetery....the view incredible....we took the long way home, going to Petrolia via the "Lost Coast".....then though the Rockefeller Forest and back to 101....
We are still talking about the incredible views, and hopes to bring all our friends next time!
We stayed in the Ira Russ Suite and it was LOVELY! But I'm sure the other rooms are nice too!
We ate breakfast and dinner twice during our sty at he VI, yummmmmmm! Go!

Room Tip: Corner suites have lovely alcoves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the Victoria Inn in Ferndale. The room was pretty, clean and comfortable. We felt welcomed by the staff and owner. The lounge with couches, hot drinks, and a fridge was a pleasant feature. It was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badeleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had such a nice time wandering around Ferndale. The Inn was beautiful-- our room was extremely comfortable with a big bay window overlooking the street below. There was also a common lounge area with ice, fridge and coffee/tea/hot chocolate available at all hours. The breakfast was served in the restaurant downstairs and was quite good. We did have one complaint...they were painting the hotel exterior so equipment and orange cones marred the attractiveness of the hotel. But this became a real problem when, while using the restroom in our room, there suddenly appeared a man directly outside of our second story window! My husband ran to close the blinds in the bathroom but the man then moved over to our bay window so our privacy was still compromised while we were getting dressed to go down for breakfast. When we checked out we were not asked how our stay went, so there was no opportunity to share this embarrassing incident. Except for this problem, we would recommend this inn and would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anameineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I (and brother and sister-in-law) stayed one night while researching local family history.

Just a couple of things first. There is no elevator (it's a Victorian inn!), and the stairs to the second floor lodgings (I think all the guest rooms are on the second floor), go on and on. So take that into consideration if you have physical issues involving stairs and baggage. (The nice man at the registration counter offered to help with our bags -- after we'd already muscled them upstairs.)

We had a rear room ("Emily Rose" #206), so the view was nothing. It's a smallish room, but we just needed a nice place to sleep and that's what we got. The bath was shower-stall (not old fashioned tub), which is why we chose this room over others.

And we were apparently (directly?) above the kitchen (and the kitchen vent-fan exhaust), so with the window open we got some cooking smells. Not unpleasant, but noticeable. If that is an issue for you (and you need the windows open for ventilation), you might ask for a room away from the back of the kitchen.

Breakfast was included in our lodging costs, and it is served in the light and airy restaurant on the first floor. One picks items from a regular breakfast menu, so it's easy to get something to match your preferences, including vege options (like, for me).

Location: Just fine. It's at the end of Ferndale's Main Street, so traffic was minimal. AND, and -- if you want to shop for some beautiful high-end jewelry, the lobby is full of display cases of wonderful things none of us could afford. In fact, I understand the current owner bought the property and runs the place in part as a locus for his jewelry business. Interesting two-fer!

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryM708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed out short stay, one night at the Inn. I would stay again. Sorry we did not stay 2 nights. The manager/owner was very very nice. Yes you have to carry luggage up the steps but who cares, not me. The place is old but so quaint. I am very fussy too. If you are looking for luxury, not the place. The place was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast too and dinner was also good. Server was great.
Thanks for a nice time and we enjoyed walking around the town and shopping and the cemetery was very cool. Nice quaint town for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATHALEENA6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gingerbread Mansion Inn
0.1 mi away
Redwood Suites
Redwood Suites
#1 of 1 in Ferndale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Inn

Property: Victorian Inn
Address: 400 Ocean Ave, Ferndale, CA 95536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victorian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California's northern redwood coast you'll discover the quaint Victorian Village of Ferndale and the elegant Victorian Inn. Built in 1890 of Humboldt County redwood, this luxurious northern California bed and breakfast combines romantic accommodations with modern amenities for the convenience of vacationers, tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Ferndale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing