We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware: arrive early or you're out of luck.”

Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company
Ranked #4 of 6 things to do in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buy your tickets online for a horseback ride at Yosemite's South Entrance. We offer 1 & 2 hour trail rides as well as our exclusive Half Day ride to the Giant Redwoods at Mariposa Grove. We also offer authentic Horse Drawn Sleigh Rides over the Christmas holiday.
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our group of 6 (3 adults and 3 children) could not have been more excited to go on this horseback riding trip. We had read all of the reviews and signed up early for the 2hr ride that began at 8am. We knew that the tickets said "Please arrive and sign in 30 mins before scheduled departure" but unfortunately didn't realize that it would take 45 minutes to get there from where we were staying and didn't realize the "please arrive early" meant you MUST arrive early or will be turned away. When we arrived just before 8am and rushed up to the desk, an extremely rude woman barked "Did you read our terms & conditions? We have a 24 hr cancellation policy." When we apologized and asked what our options were (hoping for her to offer at least something since we had paid $540 for our group), she just repeated the 24 hr cancellation policy and told us we had no options. Needless to say, we can't rate the ride itself since we didn't get to take it; our rating is based on the atrocious customer service and the fact that the online policies didn't clearly spell out that you MUST be there early.

3  Thank DC1Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

These people are way friendly. The trail is very nice. It is in the woods. Very peaceful and scenic. we did the one hour ride and loved it.

Thank 46466JerseyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren K, Owner at Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you 46466JerseyGuy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Having researched and read reviews, booked the two hour trail ride for my two daughters (both experienced riders, 13 & 10). The reviews sounded great. The trail rides, scenery and horses sounded wonderful.
Travelled for a couple of hours through heavy traffic but got there!
'Greeted' and unfortunately told( by a rather brusque member of staff) girls couldn't ride without an adult. We didn't know this as website says children only need to be over 7. My husband said he would go with them, but was told it was full up.
Two very upset and disappointed girls...
I'm sure the rides are lovely, but please be aware that all children need to accompanied by an adult.

Thank 201AO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I would highly recommend Yosemite Trails Saddle Co if you are in the Yosemite/Wawona area. If you are looking for a trail activity that takes you away from the crowds of Yosemite Valley, then this is it. My family of 4 took the 1 hour trail ride and we all had a wonderful time. From the time we checked in, the staff were all very nice and helpful. My kids (11 and 9 yrs old) and husband have ridden before, but not me. Hannah, our guide, made sure that we were comfortable on our horses by giving us basic riding instructions before we set off on the trail.

We arrived earlier than our scheduled ride, but the staff offered to let us go ahead, therefore it was just the 4 of us and Hannah on the trail. The trail was very peaceful and just what you would imagine riding in a pine forest would be. We crossed 2 creeks and stopped so that Hannah can take our photos. Being away from the Valley, we did not run into hikers or other riders. Since the horses were well-trained, even a novice rider like myself was able to enjoy the trail ride. It was a very relaxing activity, with great scenery. We would definitely be back. Next time maybe for the sleigh ride in the winter.

Thank Eleanor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren K, Owner at Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Wow, Eleanor D. what a nice review! Please bring your family back and ride with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I did some research and decided on this place. We had two families, including four adults and four kids (11,10,8,and 8-years old). They set up a ride with just our group. They were more than patient with the little ones. Everyone had a great time and the kids wanted to go back. We did the one hour ride, which was enough for me (lots of dust stirred up from the horses), but the kids wanted to go more. Fun trail through heavy tree cover, climbs and down hills over difficult terrain, and even some stream crossings. Fun, Fun, Fun!

1  Thank Lynstur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren K, Owner at Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for the review Lynstur. We are so glad you had Fun, Fun, Fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company also viewed

 

Been to Yosemite Trails Saddle & Sleigh Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing