We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint near park entrance”
Review of Narrow Gauge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Narrow Gauge Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We loved this place during our summer stay at Sequoia & Yosemite parks. Such a cute shop at the check in area, great little breakfast, nice porch, comfy bed. The only thing a little sketchy was the tiny shower but it wasn't that big of a deal. The food at the restaurant was great too would definitely recommend this gem. My only note is if you're looking for something 5 minutes outside the park this isn't close enough you'd have to stay inside the park... I think it was about 40-50 minutes to the Yosemite Village. The railroad ride was a cool treat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethany818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we do hope to see you for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

This offer a great location, close to Yosemite. The balcony was a great place to relax after a day in the park. The restaurant offered great meals in a very nice setting. The breakfast in the morning was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bartman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel during Thanksgiving holiday in 2013. The hotel was an excellent choice as refuge to explore the park. Bear in mind, we were looking only for a place to rest in the end of the day (good shower, bed and a TV), because most of our time we would spend in the park. We also need the place to be pet friendly and inexpensive. We also prefer small properties rather than large resorts.

We stayed in a king bed bedroom, with a balcony view to the mountains. The hotel is not new, but well conserved and clean. The property is located 2 miles from the park, very convenient in the end of the day when you are tired and have to make a small travel to your hotel. Hint: remember from Yosemite Village to the park’s gate takes 45~60 minutes, add to that the distance/time to your hotel! The hotel counts with a restaurant, but it is closed in fall/winter season, so you need to look for restaurants in Oakhurst (10 miles away) or in the next-door lodge, The Tenaya. We tried the Sierra restaurant in The Tenaya, it was very good, although expensive. The Tenaya has also a bar/restaurant and another fancier restaurant.

The hotel offers a very good complimentary breakfast served at the office: hard boiled eggs, sausages, bread and spreads, cakes and muffins, milk and yogurts, tea and orange juice, and waffles. Bottled water, soda and ice are available in vending machines. Wine, beer and appetizers are available at reception, although a little pricey. Hint: Fish Camp counts with a General Store, and Oakhurst has several supermarkets for beverages and other supplies. The balcony at the room is just perfect to watch the mountains at sun-set and the sky at night, be prepared with beverages and appetizers!

Room Tip: As far I could see, all the rooms, but the ones at the corner, have mountain view. Make sure your se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1bertoManelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is an older hotel with a cozy, mountain lodge feel. Our room was large and very clean. The room was to the right of the office, had a wrap around patio, and felt very private. This room is next door to the kitchen, so is noisy in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. A small continental breakfast is offered. The closeness to Yosemite and area trails are a plus, as is the Narrow Gauge Railroad. The ride is worth it - dress warmly in Oct/Nov! Be aware that most attractions and restaurants close down in the Oct-Nov timeframe and do not reopen until spring. You may have to head down the mountain to Oakhurst for meals. If you are the type of traveler that requires mini-fridges, microwaves, onsite laundry, lots of television stations and strong Wifi, this hotel may not be for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwmthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were relieved when we phoned to have the last room at this hotel as it was a busy time of year. The room itself was dated but adequate. There was however one big drawback which we were to find to our cost later that night. The room was situated at the far end of the hotel, first right at the bottom of some wooden stairs next to the restaurant. At every 20/30mins intervals a generator would power up and reverberate through the walls, it sounded like a tractor starting up every half an hour. This went on all night. We did complain at around 11.30 pm but we were stuck as there were no other rooms available. I am a light sleeper so had a terrioble night. We complained again at reception in the morning and they reduced the price by half without quibble so I guess they were aware of the problem. Unless you are a heavy sleeper, do not take this room!
Positives: The hotel is situated in a beautifull wooded area and the wild west style train next door is well worth a look. We didn't board it but it was great to see it chugging away in the distance, smoke billowing and hooter sounding. I have to say that the staff were very polite and curteous at all times and we had the best meal ever in our three week US holiday at the restaurant there. It was simply outstanding. So all in all I would recommend staying there - just heed my warning above!

Room Tip: See my review above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here October 2013. Despite the gov't shutdown, there was plenty to do in the area. Hotel was clean, good view of woods. Rooms were a bit dated to a 1960's feel, but added to the charm. Restaurant was very good with people coming from outside the hotel to enjoy (prepare to reserve or wait 1/2 hr to get a table). Hotel staff was super nice and helpful. They pointed us to a Sequoia grove outside Yosemite which was great due to the shutdown. Don't miss the narrow gauge train ride just next door -- it's fun! Also, there's an antique fire engine on site which is fun for small kids to view. Say hello to the multi-toed cat in the office!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sputnik013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Besides the romantic quality of this hotel, with its solid wood interior and welcoming fireplace, staff are first class in making you feel truly welcome. We added a night's stay, just to linger in the warmth a bit longer. Excellent restaurant with some great local wines on the list. Pastry chef deserves medal for her chocolate tart, alone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliphaunt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are very thankful for our beautiful Inn and our wonderful staff, we all truly love to serve our guests. I know the Netherlands is far from our Inn but we do hope to see you return in the future, you could have another bit of the fabulous tart. PLEASE NOTE: Our restaurant is seasonal, our last night for dinner this year is Oct. 27th, 2013. Our re-opening date is April 16, 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
18.3 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,222 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
20.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,956 reviews
1.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrow Gauge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrow Gauge Inn

Address: 48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range: £74 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Narrow Gauge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 26 room Inn located 4 miles from Yosemite's South entrance. This pet friendly Inn has a seasonal fine dining restaurant, pool and hot tub. Spend time in the beautiful gardens or ride the historic Railroad, just next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Narrow Gauge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrow Gauge Hotel Fish Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing