We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ideal”
Review of Narrow Gauge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Narrow Gauge Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Arrowhead, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not ideal”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Not sure why there are posts here about it being a nice place to stay and great location. The room was very overpriced and it seems they take advantage that there are not a lot of places to stay close to Yosemite. The room had a harsh cleaning smell to it that never went away although we asked them to use less harsh cleaners. The bed was broken on the trundle bed. The restaurant was closed so the breakfast they talk about is adjacent to the reception area and a small area where they sell a few items. There was no place to eat except to drive up the road to a much nicer lodge, which I wish we would have stayed at....Tenaya Lodge. The pics they advertise are not accurate. There is a pic of the porch which makes it look like a nice long porch, but it is very small. The drive to the valley of Yosemite takes about 45 min. We did book at the last minute, but that doesn't seem a reason to charge more than what a room is worth. I feel like we should have been refunded about half the amount we spent, but didn't inquire because just didn't want to deal with it at the time. Maybe I will call them about it. I can't believe we spent money on staying there for three nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our policy here at the Inn is as follows: If a guest is not happy with a room and we have the availability, we always offer to move them to a more suitable room. I believe this was offered in your case but it was declined. Bottom line, we want ever guest happy with there accommodations and would love to see all guests return for future visits. I would be more then happy to speak to you if you choose to phone the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    198
    66
    36
    9
See reviews for
103
316
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We arrived at the hotel after landing in Vegas the previous afternoon and driving to Barstow, then spending the next day in Sequoia before driving up to Fish Camp, so we were ready for rest and a chilled out environment! That is exactly what we found! Quaint is a word used a few times in recent reviews, and thats exactly what it is. Our room was on the back of the property with the porch overlooking acres of woodland. We found the restaurant a bit dark, but thats not really a complaint. The breakfast in the reception building was a great start to the day. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB_RoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. Just so other travelers are aware are restaurant is seasonal, we will reopen mid April 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We loved this place during our summer stay at Sequoia & Yosemite parks. Such a cute shop at the check in area, great little breakfast, nice porch, comfy bed. The only thing a little sketchy was the tiny shower but it wasn't that big of a deal. The food at the restaurant was great too would definitely recommend this gem. My only note is if you're looking for something 5 minutes outside the park this isn't close enough you'd have to stay inside the park... I think it was about 40-50 minutes to the Yosemite Village. The railroad ride was a cool treat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethany818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we do hope to see you for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This offer a great location, close to Yosemite. The balcony was a great place to relax after a day in the park. The restaurant offered great meals in a very nice setting. The breakfast in the morning was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel during Thanksgiving holiday in 2013. The hotel was an excellent choice as refuge to explore the park. Bear in mind, we were looking only for a place to rest in the end of the day (good shower, bed and a TV), because most of our time we would spend in the park. We also need the place to be pet friendly and inexpensive. We also prefer small properties rather than large resorts.

We stayed in a king bed bedroom, with a balcony view to the mountains. The hotel is not new, but well conserved and clean. The property is located 2 miles from the park, very convenient in the end of the day when you are tired and have to make a small travel to your hotel. Hint: remember from Yosemite Village to the park’s gate takes 45~60 minutes, add to that the distance/time to your hotel! The hotel counts with a restaurant, but it is closed in fall/winter season, so you need to look for restaurants in Oakhurst (10 miles away) or in the next-door lodge, The Tenaya. We tried the Sierra restaurant in The Tenaya, it was very good, although expensive. The Tenaya has also a bar/restaurant and another fancier restaurant.

The hotel offers a very good complimentary breakfast served at the office: hard boiled eggs, sausages, bread and spreads, cakes and muffins, milk and yogurts, tea and orange juice, and waffles. Bottled water, soda and ice are available in vending machines. Wine, beer and appetizers are available at reception, although a little pricey. Hint: Fish Camp counts with a General Store, and Oakhurst has several supermarkets for beverages and other supplies. The balcony at the room is just perfect to watch the mountains at sun-set and the sky at night, be prepared with beverages and appetizers!

Room Tip: As far I could see, all the rooms, but the ones at the corner, have mountain view. Make sure your se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1bertoManelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is an older hotel with a cozy, mountain lodge feel. Our room was large and very clean. The room was to the right of the office, had a wrap around patio, and felt very private. This room is next door to the kitchen, so is noisy in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. A small continental breakfast is offered. The closeness to Yosemite and area trails are a plus, as is the Narrow Gauge Railroad. The ride is worth it - dress warmly in Oct/Nov! Be aware that most attractions and restaurants close down in the Oct-Nov timeframe and do not reopen until spring. You may have to head down the mountain to Oakhurst for meals. If you are the type of traveler that requires mini-fridges, microwaves, onsite laundry, lots of television stations and strong Wifi, this hotel may not be for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwmthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were relieved when we phoned to have the last room at this hotel as it was a busy time of year. The room itself was dated but adequate. There was however one big drawback which we were to find to our cost later that night. The room was situated at the far end of the hotel, first right at the bottom of some wooden stairs next to the restaurant. At every 20/30mins intervals a generator would power up and reverberate through the walls, it sounded like a tractor starting up every half an hour. This went on all night. We did complain at around 11.30 pm but we were stuck as there were no other rooms available. I am a light sleeper so had a terrioble night. We complained again at reception in the morning and they reduced the price by half without quibble so I guess they were aware of the problem. Unless you are a heavy sleeper, do not take this room!
Positives: The hotel is situated in a beautifull wooded area and the wild west style train next door is well worth a look. We didn't board it but it was great to see it chugging away in the distance, smoke billowing and hooter sounding. I have to say that the staff were very polite and curteous at all times and we had the best meal ever in our three week US holiday at the restaurant there. It was simply outstanding. So all in all I would recommend staying there - just heed my warning above!

Room Tip: See my review above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
18.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,009 reviews
1.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
16.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrow Gauge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrow Gauge Inn

Property: Narrow Gauge Inn
Address: 48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Narrow Gauge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 26 room Inn located 4 miles from Yosemite's South entrance. This pet friendly Inn has a seasonal fine dining restaurant, pool and hot tub. Spend time in the beautiful gardens or ride the historic Railroad, just next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Narrow Gauge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrow Gauge Hotel Fish Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing