We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and funky place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Narrow Gauge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Narrow Gauge Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location and funky place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

With knotty pine everywhere (even the furniture) it has a really retro feel, without even trying. Lovely location; about 5-10 minutes' drive from the Yosemite Park entrance. Nice people, excellent breakfast tossed in.

Room Tip: Probably gets busy in season, so after mid-April or so you'd probably need reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review, yes mid April can be the start of the busy season...reservations suggested highly. Also our Restaurant re-opens April 16th, you don't want to miss that, dinner is even better than the breakfast we serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    191
    63
    31
    5
See reviews for
100
301
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Narrow Gauge is a perfectly located little Inn minutes for the Sugar Pine Railroad and only a couple of miles from Yosemite National Park. The rooms are small but had a great little deck that allowed us to sit out and take in the forest views. The staff are incredibly friendly and the breakfast that comes complimentary is wide ranging and a delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Copeyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and while we had a bit of snow...snow is all gone but lovely spring like weather has replaced it for now. Come see us again if ever back in the states.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlantic city
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Love this place. We stayed here and had a great time. Close to the park and everything. Adorable property. Restraint. Great. Breakfast include was plentiful. Pool was nice after a long day at Yosemite forest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1doree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The pool and hot tub are great after a long day of hiking in Yosemite. Our pool and hot tub are closed for the winter season and will reopen in the Spring, as weather allows. Our restaurant will reopen on April 16, 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Thank you very much for a much needed retreat from the Big City to the Sierras. People in San Francisco are missing out on a place like Narrow Gauge Inn. Everyone that I encountered at the hotel gave were so professional and kind. Thank you Maria and Marlo. The whole team rocked it. Breakfast was great and Knuckles the Cat is so adorable. I couldn't ask for more. Room was very quiet and although it was cold, the hot cocoa from the reception area made it such a warm stay. Thank you to everyone at the Narrow Gauge Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vegaztony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We love to be known as a place that offers a retreat experience. Please come and see us again soon, Knuckles will be waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The heater worked very well too, which was nice for winter evenings. The breakfast was tasty, with homemade breads, muffins, and home fries, as well as made-to-order waffles. What's not to like about that?

All of the inn's employees that we encountered were super-friendly too. They created a very welcoming atmosphere, and we definitely plan to stay here again the next time we head to Yosemite.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilKWindsor_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you loved the Inn and the breakfast, the rosemary potatoes are to die for. Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I did a ton of research before we headed to Yosemite and decided to try Narrow Gauge. The place was so cute, well-located, dog-friendly and the service was amazing! You can tell everyone there loves what they do. The breakfast was outstanding! Saved us so much money on food. My husband loved their fresh waffles every morning, hot chocolate and hot cider. I have recommended it to a number of friends and they have all felt the same way! Don't think twice! This place is legit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks....we do love this place as much as our guests do. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Not sure why there are posts here about it being a nice place to stay and great location. The room was very overpriced and it seems they take advantage that there are not a lot of places to stay close to Yosemite. The room had a harsh cleaning smell to it that never went away although we asked them to use less harsh cleaners. The bed was broken on the trundle bed. The restaurant was closed so the breakfast they talk about is adjacent to the reception area and a small area where they sell a few items. There was no place to eat except to drive up the road to a much nicer lodge, which I wish we would have stayed at....Tenaya Lodge. The pics they advertise are not accurate. There is a pic of the porch which makes it look like a nice long porch, but it is very small. The drive to the valley of Yosemite takes about 45 min. We did book at the last minute, but that doesn't seem a reason to charge more than what a room is worth. I feel like we should have been refunded about half the amount we spent, but didn't inquire because just didn't want to deal with it at the time. Maybe I will call them about it. I can't believe we spent money on staying there for three nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our policy here at the Inn is as follows: If a guest is not happy with a room and we have the availability, we always offer to move them to a more suitable room. I believe this was offered in your case but it was declined. Bottom line, we want ever guest happy with there accommodations and would love to see all guests return for future visits. I would be more then happy to speak to you if you choose to phone the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
18.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
20.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
1.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrow Gauge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrow Gauge Inn

Property: Narrow Gauge Inn
Address: 48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Narrow Gauge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 26 room Inn located 4 miles from Yosemite's South entrance. This pet friendly Inn has a seasonal fine dining restaurant, pool and hot tub. Spend time in the beautiful gardens or ride the historic Railroad, just next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Narrow Gauge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrow Gauge Hotel Fish Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing