We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Narrow Gauge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Narrow Gauge Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I recently had a pleasant 6 night stay at the Narrow Gauge. We stayed in Room 26. This room had air conditioning which came in handy a couple of late afternoons. This was our first visit to the Narrow Gauge in over 10 years. We hope that our next visit will occur in a shorter period of time.

The rooms are basic but serviceable. The rocking chairs on the private porch are wonderful. I enjoyed using the pool which was very relaxing after a day filled with hiking. Televisions and wi-fi internet service are provided. While the room cost may seem pricey, the complimentary breakfast makes the rate reasonable in my opinion. The breakfast included sausage, potatoes, boiled eggs, toast or bagels, waffles, coffee, and orange juice. Cereals were also available.

We also enjoyed the dinner service at the restaurant. We ate there 5 times. The only dinner that we ate out was the one served with the moonlight train ride through the Sugar Pine Forest. Guests should be aware of the restaurant's excellent dinner choices available before 6:30 pm. These choices which are priced much lower than similar items on the regular menu include Prime Rib, an excellent Chicken Marsala, a salmon entrée and a vegetarian one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVENATLPARKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for the great review. We hope you don't let another 10 years past before coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    200
    71
    39
    12
See reviews for
111
325
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Narrow gauge Inn is a charming small hotel in the most idyllic and peaceful setting you could wish for. The rooms are a good size and have a small balcony with chairs. There was a good choice for breakfast and the bonus was individually prepared waffles with strawberries and cream. The evening meals were superb.
It is a 39 mile drive on a twisting road to Yosemite village - we were fortunate to have come through the village on our way to Narrow Gauge Inn so didn't need to make that journey again. Very close to the Inn is Wawona and the Mariposa Grove with the giant sequoia trees. Even closer, and next door to the Inn is the Yosemite mountain Sugar Pine railway - a narrow gauge heritage railway, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay, come see us again if ever back in the states.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalem
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I absolutely loved this little place. I stayed here for three nights as part of my honeymoon. The hotel itself is quaint and charming with lovely wood paneled rooms and enormous and insanely comfortable king sized beds. There is a lovely swimming pool, a hot tub, and most importantly, an adorable polydactyl cat called Knuckles who is super friendly and greets you when you get to the front desk. The restaurant is fine dining and delicious. The only down side is that its about an hours drive from the yosemite valley, but we had a car and for me it was worth it. I recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj123Jerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and on your honeymoon, would love to see you return one day and Knuckles will be waiting to greet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The Narrow Gauge Inn, was clean and beautiful landscaping. There cat comes and greets the guests. The staff was very helpful and nice. There was a hot water problem but they adjusted are bill without a problem and I understand things happen. The only thing is that it is 10 minutes to the Yosemite gate entrance but the gate entrance is another 50 minutes to the visitor center. So plan to go to yosemite all day no going back to the inn to rest in the middle of the day. The restaurant dinner was very good. The full breakfast was good the waffles were very good but only had hard boiled eggs would have like to see some scramble eggs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mare55Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Great to hear staff took care of you, "they are great". Thank you for your understanding with the hot water problem, this was an isolated indecent but again thank you for working with us through the problem. All water problems have been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

All the lodging in Yosemite Valley was booked and so I looked to Fish Camp. The Narrow Gauge Inn delighted us from check in to check out. The staff was especially friendly and helpful. The dining room is very good. The location is close to the park gates and an easy drive from Fresno. We really enjoyed the natural setting and the Bavarian Lodge style dining hall. Rooms have a back porch. Also the Inn is next door to the Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine Railroad, close to a horseback riding stable, and just down the road from the spa at Tenaya Lodge. The Inn is less expensive than the Tenaya Lodge and far more charming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon, Davis is not to far for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is very quaint and tucked into the woods. Receptionists were very friendly and charming, along with the hotel's cat, Knuckles :-) We stayed three nights in a "forest view" room and had our own wooden terrace/balcony in the back and facing the woods. The gardens and little trails around the hotel are beautiful and very well looked after, making for a charming stroll.

The room was traditionally furnished, which gave it a more intimate and homey feeling. The room was somewhat small for new American standards, but it was more than adequate and the bathroom had a nice powder area for women to put makeup on and get ready. I read most rooms don't have air conditioning, which we never needed anyhow (in May). We had a ceiling fan that we used sometimes, but at that elevation the temperatures were very comfortable.

The restaurant was charming with an outdoors feel to it and the included morning breakfast was delicious. The employees were again very friendly and simpatico. Also, the hotel is a VERY short walk to the Sugar Pine Railroad and we took a scenic hour long tour on a steam train (which I recommend riding).

Room Tip: Definitely go for forest view (I haven't tried the mountain view yet) and ride the steam powered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goliath2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed everything, maybe we can see you for a return visit one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

No air con (but there were multiple fans) and slow WiFi.

The room and bathroom are best described as "traditional" - pretty basic but perfectly serviceable.

The place is quite handily located for Yosemite - 30 mins to Mariposa Grove (giant red woods) and 60 to Yosemite Valley. They also do a handy packed lunch service so if you are planning a day out in Yosemite they can prepare a lunch for you that you pick up at breakfast.

Other reviewers said food was great - we only did breakfast there and it was a basic selection of bagels, bread, waffles, yoghurt and coffee. Totally acceptable, but nothing special or different to what you could buy yourself in a store.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlo B, General Manager at Narrow Gauge Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed the box lunch and wish you could have had dinner with us, most guests just love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
18.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,097 reviews
1.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,815 reviews
8.0 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrow Gauge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrow Gauge Inn

Property: Narrow Gauge Inn
Address: 48571 Highway 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Narrow Gauge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 26 room Inn located 4 miles from Yosemite's South entrance. This pet friendly Inn has a seasonal fine dining restaurant, pool and hot tub. Spend time in the beautiful gardens or ride the historic Railroad, just next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Narrow Gauge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrow Gauge Hotel Fish Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing