We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good & convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good & convenient”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

- even though very basic but location is good
- very friendly front desk staff
- value for money because of no so many other choices
- the heater and some lamps not functional well
- free wireless net work which is good for people who wanna spend more time in Yosemite

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ahbian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    53
    64
    25
    27
See reviews for
42
100
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S. Walpole
Level Contributor
289 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is the perfect example about why location location location is not always best. To say that this motel is of another era and not up to any rasonable level of standards does it a favor.
THE ONLY THING THEY HAVE GOING FOR THEMSELVES IS THEIR PEOPLE. THEY ARE VERY NICE AND PLEASANT.

The shower was a complete puzzlement and almost impossible to use. The water was hot enough until the timer went off but even that was a challenge because it was of a different genration and took forever to balance and then it ran out of hot water.

The entire place is tired and well worn, beyond quaint!

Never again!

The restaurant is "newly sold" to a very well meaning owner/manager but they need help and if it weren't for the lack of competition in the area they would never survive. When it gets busy they may have their act together because they really do try hard. One of our meals was very good. the other was passibly mediocre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

No hot water in the shower.
The toilet flush did not work.

When we reported the problems, staff's only reaction was that acknowledged that they know about these issues. Apparently these did not happen only to us, but its is a recurring issue.

They promised to give a discount from the price, but it has never been credited to my account. Cheap promise.

You better avoid staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SzB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fish Camp hotels

Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We would not recommend this hotel. Staff was friendly and tried it's best. Rooms were very old furnished and bathroom was not very clean. Very good location, being directly at the South gate of the Yosemity park.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Voicu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The lodge is located just 2 miles outside the south gate of the Yosemite in beautiful rustic surrounds. The rooms are very small with a small, but comfortable double bed with good linen and nice towels. The shower runs strong and hot. The building is a dormitory of single rooms.

The room charge was $90.00 per night.

Breakfast is a tiny quantity of cornflakes & two small pancakes. You don.t really want to eat at their restaurant but there's not much choice in the area. Chicken burgers, very basic, was $15.00 each and a small glass of orange juice was $5.00.

There's a little convenience store, next to the information centre about 2 min from the lodge on the opposite side.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jetset700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had to cancel a reservation very late at night at a Mammoth Lakes resort because we could not get to it because the road was closed duel fire. We found White Chief Mountain Lodge by chance and was very pleased with the price, location and accommodations. The cabin we got was a "duplex" attached to another cabin, but it was unoccupied so-that was great. We ate in he restaurant and it was reasonably priced and very acceptable burgers and fries.
We would stay again at this lodging because we were also very pleased with its location to things to do the next day ( Mariposa Grove of Giant sequoias)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is the most over priced tent camp I've ever seen. At $150 + per night they must be laughing their heads off for the suckers who pay it. The rooms are small & old, reasonably clean except for forgetting to vacuum 2 days in a row. It might be nice to invest in a vacuum @ $150 + per night. You can't check in before for 3 pm due to there towel service. Then you have to go to the office to get fresh towels. No drawers, dirty stain shower, & toilet + runs constantly. good attention to detail.. If it was at least half the price I could live with that. This place needs to be renovated for the prices charged. the location is the only thing going for it. Why have an ice bucket in the bathroom when you don't have an ice machine or a drink vending machine on the property. The restaurant is a joke also. It over charges and is so old and outdated that you hav to question what kind of food you'll be served and how old is it. Really ! $30 for a steak dinner in what looks like a 50 years old tent house. There's a 4 Star hotel 500 yards from here with all the ambience and amenities that can charge that without question. You really need to check out your competition before you can ask these prices. Start small and earn your way up the ladder instead of scaring off the clients staying here. Time for a major reality check. I suggest watching restaurant impossible to get a clue. It can be made to be a charming place but you have to work at it not just wish it. Don't stay in business if your not willing to sweat. Look around and see what's out there and learn to compete. I have already made my charitable donation.

Room Tip: Go else where for comparable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fred j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
17.4 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.8 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
18.6 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Chief Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Chief Mountain Lodge

Property: White Chief Mountain Lodge
Address: 7776 White Chief Mountain Road, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — White Chief Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the White Chief Mountain Lodge. We are now under new Ownership and Management. We are 1.5 Miles away from the front entrance to Yosemite National Park. We believe in keeping it basic so you can reconnect with each other and relax! We are a perfect stop for travelers who are on a budget. You can find us on your way to Yosemite on the right. We also offer free Wi-Fi, DirecTV, fridge, microwave, and coffee in every room. We look forward to seeing you soon! -White Chief Mountain Lodge Staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your White Chief Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Chief Mountain Hotel Fish Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing