We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Tin Lizzie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tin Lizzie Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in July...but i kept forgetting to post. Nice place..but we felt supervised and never felt like the suite was ours. Moved hand mirrow near a window to see to apply my makeup better and Sheran must not have liked where i put it (on a wide window sill) b/c it was removed from the room...as in 'if you cant play nice we will take your toys'. Very awkward. If something had happened to the $15 mirror..i would have paid for a new one. Breakfasts were awkward with Sheran ordering David around. Car was neat...but we found the experience a little oppressive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishlassplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modelttours, Owner at Tin Lizzie Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
We are very sorry we inconvenienced our guest by removing the mirror. Because the mirror was placed in the windowseal it was felt that it was in the way. It was removed to allow for more room as well as safety. Leaving the mirror on the windowseal could have resulted in it falling on the bathroom floor which is heated tile. Many of our guest walk in the bathroom without shoes on because the floor is nice and warm and if the mirror had fallen and broken in pieces, it would have left small particles of glass that could have been stepped on. We are in the process of installing an antique telescoping mirrow on the wall for the convenience of applying make-up that will be out of the way of other items on the counter. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
118
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Tin Lizzie Inn and no other lodging will ever compare.
I stayed for 2 nights at the bed and breakfast and 3 nights in the guest house. David and Sheran exceeded my expectations at every turn. The location was only 2 miles from the main south entrance at Yosemite. The breakfast I had was one of the best I have ever had with fresh fruit, homemade waffles, and freshly baked scones. I am just a simple guy and do not usually do not stay in such luxurious accommodations, but WOW this place is awesome. The towels were the thickest I have ever used. I luxuriated in the air powered spa. I stayed at the perfect place to enjoy Yosemite!
I also had the opportunity to drive a model A and a model T. Being an old car junkie, this was a rare treat. I was surprised how easy the model A was to drive and how much power it had and how Modern it felt. No wonder they revolutionized America.
All I can say is if you are thinking of staying here then do! They will book up fast so be sure to book early!

Room Tip: They have 2 bed and breakfast rooms and a private guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Staying at David and Sheran Woodworth's Tin Lizzie Inn Carriage House was a pleasure in every way. The carriage house was enormous yet cozy. It had everything we needed for a long stay...full kitchen, dishes, laundry, etc. The beds were huge and extrememly comfortable.

Moreover, David and Sheran were more than happy to help with special requests. For instance, I failed to bring my camera charger, and David lent me his for the weekend. Sheran even lent us binoculors to use. Both David and Sheran had tons of great travel ideas, depending on your interests, how far you want to travel, what you want to see, etc.

The best part, however, was driving the Ford Model T and Model A. The cars are in original condition and well-maintained. I was a bit nervous about driving the antique cars, but David was extremely patient in teaching us how to operate the cars...very comfortable, low pressure instructions. After getting the hang of it, driving the Model T and A was an absolute pleasure. The cars are real head-turners, and onlookers couldn't help but smile (especially if you're wearing a derby)!

Thanks again, David and Sheran...looking forward to next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsckyl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

What an unexpected pleasure to have chosen the Tin Lizzie Inn. My son and I like to get a vacation in once a year or two and this trip had perks for both of us. Yosemite was beautiful for hiking and my son found it "tolerable" since we got to travel in a Model T or A depending upon where we wanted to go! :) David and Sheran were excellent hosts and gave us great ideas as how to best fill our days. We spent three days filled with great memories that will never be forgotten. The only problem was that we found it hard to leave our wonderful lodgings to go see the sights! Next time I will save time for the hammock!
Thanks to David and Sheran. Words can't explain want a wonderful place you have.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirschling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Outstanding inn in every way! We have traveled extensively and this B and B is by far, our all time favorite! Fabulous breakfasts and surprise treats every day! We thoroughly enjoyed our day in Yosemite driving David's 1929 Model A! Totally wonderful anniversary trip!

Room Tip: The Tin Lizzie Suite was a delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This immaculate inn is run with every care and consideration by Sheran and David who are justifiably proud of the highest standards of comfort and food that they provide. Just 2 miles from the southern entrance to Yosemite, it is in a great location. Add to this David's passion for his Model T Ford and you have an added bonus during your stay. Relatively expensive but for a short stay it's worth it. We loved the two floor cottage style accommodation, the varied breakfasts and our hosts willingness to provide best advice whenever sought.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SimonM_Bucks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modelttours, Owner at Tin Lizzie Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and your generous comments. When you are back in the US, we hope you come and see us again. David & Sheran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Booked 3 nights based on Trip Advisor reviews and had a great experience. Great facility, great hosts and a nice location. Not your average B&B. Ultra accomodating owners David and Sheran have toured lots of B&Bs and strive to make their hospitality a step above. They've succeeded. When was the last time an innkeeper cleaned your car windshield? Unique purpose built house is an obvious labor of love and in exceptional shape. David's collection of Model T's and A's, motor camping equipment and antique outboards is icing on the cake. He's even lectured at the Smithsonian. Food was awesome and Sheran is delighted to cater to your every culinary interest or need. The location is about 30 miles from the center of the park but worth the scenic drive each day. Wanona hotel and Mariposa grove are minutes away. Several good restaurant options in Fish Camp for dinners too. Note: If dates you want aren't showing as avail on some search engines contact them directly. We passed on renting a Model T but it was great riding in one and learning how it works.

Room Tip: They currently have two rooms which differ dramatically in size and space so check them out to ensur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
17.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,012 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
15.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Lizzie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Lizzie Inn

Property: Tin Lizzie Inn
Address: 7730 Laurel Way, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tin Lizzie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just 2 miles from southern entrance to Yosemite National Park. A beautiful luxury Victorian Inn built in 2006 but with original lighting, hardware and to much to mention. The suite is the entire second floor with a fireplace, balcony, bathroom is 14x14 ft. with a slipper tub and walk-in shower with 6 body sprays. It also has an attached twin sleeping room for additional guest. Our cottage is cozy and lovely with a queen bed upstairs and living area on first floor. It has a shower/tub, one of our favorite rooms. Visit our webpage for more details and contact information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Tin Lizzie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing