We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So gorgeous and unique!”
Review of Tin Lizzie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tin Lizzie Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
jgbmjb
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So gorgeous and unique!”
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Wow...this place is amazing! No detail forgotten. We stayed in the suite, which was huge and so tastefully decorated. Such a beautiful setting which enjoyed next to our fireplace. Chocolated dipped strawberries added that extra special touch. The innkeepers, were so pleasant and informative. We love learning about the Model A cars they own and what a thrill to actually get to ride in one! Please stay here if you want a once in a lifetime experience. Not only are amongst gorgeous country during the day, but you get to go back to a gorgeous inn at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jgbmjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
122
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Spent a night in this beautiful guest house in August and truly enjoyed the whole experience. The house itself is a perfect re-creation of a colonial house filled with authentic and tasteful antiques. We stayed in the presidential suite which is as grand as it sounds. Every attention to detail was catered for. The hosts are gracious and entertaining. Our visit was topped off with a ride in one of the Model T Fords which gives the house its' name. We cannot rate this inn highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matzoBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Where to begin on how amazing this B&B is. My husband and I chose to spend our 1 year anniversary here after searching all the hotels and inns in the area. From the moment we arrived we knew we chose the right location. David and Sheron, our hosts and the owners of Tin Lizzie were instantly warm and welcoming as if we were old relatives that were stopping by. My husband and I instantly felt at home as if we have known these people all our lives.
The home is perfectly decorated for an old Victorian home even though they just built it 2 years ago. From the smallest details of the hings to the antique vacuum in the room no corner, molding, or accessory was overlooked on authenticity.
When you enter your private suite on the second floor you are overwhelmed with the size. It is larger than my living room, kitchen and dining room put together (granted I live in an apt. in Los Angeles). There is a private sitting area with a fabulous refurbished antique gas fireplace which amazingly heats the entire room quite quickly and efficiently.
The beautifully designed bathroom is a perfect representation of the Victorian era. Even the 5 star ammenities are cleverly desguised with Victorian charm. My favorite is the claw foot bathtub with a spa massage built into it. Perfect after a day of hiking in Yosemite.
The King size bed lulls you to sleep as if upon a bed of clouds. The moment you slip into the covers you are enveloped into a world of slumber. Crack or open the windows (depending on time of year) to listen to the sounds of nature from crickets to coyotes who will sing you to sleep.
The full breakfast which is included is beyond ANY continental breakfast or even a sit down breakfast at the local hotel. Sheron is an amazing cook who doesn't just scramble some eggs and make some toast but provides a whole experience. Breakfast is designed around your days activities. If you have a full day planned of hiking she will make sure that you are sufficiently full on fruits and carbohydrates. There is also never a rush to eat. Take as long or as little time as you would like to enjoy each food that is prepared for you.
David and Sheron are special people with warm, generous, giving hearts! It is rare to find people who are genuinely love what they do and have no problems making your needs their first and foremost needs.
AND DON'T FORGET TO TAKE YOUR MODEL T RIDE!!!! AWESOME!!!!!! David's garage is full of Model T's and Model A's. The second you sit in the seat you are transported to the early 1900's. It was such a great experience that instantly turned my husband and myself into children!!! We were in awe!!!
GO NOW, DO NOT SEARCH ANYMORE!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We had a lovely two night stay in the Tin Lizzie.
We stayed in the suite, which is the entire upstairs of this wonderful house. The room has everything that you could possibly need. David & Sheran have thought about everything.
The bathroom was luxurious with a jetted tub and a great double shower with loads of toiletries provided. The suite has a great large balcony area with a comfy couch where you can enjoy peace and quiet at the end of a day exploring Yosemite.
Breakfast is served on the sunny porch , really enjoyable and a great start to the day.
The Teneya lodge is just opposite, we ate there one night and the food was not great, but OK.
The highlight of the stay is the trip that you get in one of Davids vintage cars, such fun.......and he's a budding photographer too who took some photos of us in the car in beautiful location.....a great souvenier.

I would definatelty recommend this B&B especially if you want a bit of luxury which you cannot find in the park itself.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

What a place to stay! This hidden gem provided my wife and I a very private and romantic getaway. It’s located just a few minutes drive from the south Yosemite entrance. The inn owners, David and Sharon, have created a lovely Victorian inn with a surprising level of service. For example here are some of the service extras (beyond daily breakfast) that we received during our stay:
- Fresh flowers in our living room AND bathroom upon arrival
- Ice brought to our room daily
- An assortment of soda beverages included in room (no extra charge)
- Chocolates on pillow every night
- Homemade treats (cookies, chocolate strawberries, etc) placed in room each night
- Peanut mix in a cute candy dish refilled every day.
- Car windows washed every morning (Yosemite gets dusty, and the inn owners want to make sure that we could see it from our car!)
- A free ride in a model T
- Dinner recommendations and reservations made for us.
- Free Wi-fi
- Outdoor fire with marsh mellows

Rooms (The Cottage and the Presidential Suite)

There are just two rooms and we stayed in “The Cottage” because the “Presidential suite” was booked already. The cottage has two floors, its own private entrance, and is well removed from the rest of the house, so my wife and I definitely found the privacy we were hoping for (unlike the Tenaya lodge across the street, which is a ZOO full of families). The cottage surpassed our expectations, with the only downside being it has a queen sized bed (we would have preferred a King). We plan to comeback to the Tin Lizzie, so we asked the owners if we could see the Presidential Suite, and they obliged. The presidential suite is Amazing (Think Fairmount Hotels Suite). It is spacious, has a jetted tub AND a couples shower, fireplace, beautiful king size bed, and private balcony which you can have your breakfast served on. We will definitely adjust our dates of stay next time to stay in the presidential suite.

Breakfast each day was usually several courses, including both sweet and savory offerings, coffee, orange juice, and attentive service. Before arriving, Sharon inquired about food allergies (my wife is allergic to Kiwi) and she made sure to adjust the menu accordingly.

My special tip is that if you stay at the Tin Lizzie, its easy to take advantage of the amenities of the Tenaya Lodge across the street. My wife and I had dinner at the lodge one night, and also purchased a picnic lunch from the lodge on another day.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MySreenName22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh, scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at the beautiful tin lizzie inn and have so many fond memories from yosemite. Our hosts were so welcoming and could not have done more for us- Sheran is the most amazing cook, making breakfasts to die for, and David's enthusiasm for his vintage cars is infectious, our ride in a model-t a highlight of the whole trip. Thank you so much!! and we will definitely be back.

Stuart Moffat, Edinburgh Scotland

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Tin Lizzie will blow your minds! This is like nothing else we have ever seen! We spent two night at Tin Lizzie on our honeymoon and we are sure we will never ever experience anything quite like it again!

We had the honeymoon suite (the bigger of their two rooms) which basically was the upper floor of the house - a gigantic bedroom with a fairytale bed, a really tasteful bathroom with all the luxury and our own balcony! Everything fantastically decorated in 19th century style. Everything from the books to the bathtub to the furniture to the cutlery was in the same old style, still all the amenities was modern top class!

The hosts, David and Sharan, were incredible! They were super-friendly all the time! They not only gave us great advice when we were going into the park (Yosemite) but also packed a bag of binoculars, hats and other thing they thought we might need. They served breakfast each morning on the porch - and it wasn't just your average breakfast! No, it came in three servings with home made cakes, crispy bacon, smoothies, desserts, you name it!

We also got a ride in one of David's old T-Fords, which was a cool experience!

Tin Lizzie can seem to be a bit expensive but it's totally worth it! It's a once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fincozmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.1 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,605 reviews
18.7 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,820 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Lizzie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Lizzie Inn

Property: Tin Lizzie Inn
Address: 7730 Laurel Way, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tin Lizzie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just 2 miles from southern entrance to Yosemite National Park. A beautiful luxury Victorian Inn built in 2006 but with original lighting, hardware and to much to mention. The suite is the entire second floor with a fireplace, balcony, bathroom is 14x14 ft. with a slipper tub and walk-in shower with 6 body sprays. It also has an attached twin sleeping room for additional guest. Our cottage is cozy and lovely with a queen bed upstairs and living area on first floor. It has a shower/tub, one of our favorite rooms. Visit our webpage for more details and contact information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Tin Lizzie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing