We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Second time staying at this resort and both experiences were great. What I like best about it is the activities that the resort has to offer. We were there at Christmas and it was magical. Great for Children. Took our grandson for a truly magical holiday experience and it was wonderful. He went sledding had dinner with Santa, decorated cookies and Mrs. Clause read a bedtime story to the children before they went to bed Christmas Eve. The resort also distributed Christmas stocking to all the rooms Christmas eve full of goodies. In the summer they also have similar activities for the quests such as hay rides, etc. Rooms were clean and nice, The restaurant food was a bit pricey but Oh Well, We had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pudypo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,956
    1,697
    671
    254
    136
See reviews for
1,922
1,806
51
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,069)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We just got back from the Tenaya. It was only about a quarter filled, which was perfect. Though there weren't that many people - we could easily see how difficult it must be when the hotel is more filled. The walls are paper thin, we could hear clear conversations from the next rooms. Had to sleep with earplugs. It really seems like the hotel is catered towards kids. Who were LOUD. Running the halls, screaming, crying. If you're not into kid noise (we're not) this would not be the hotel for you. It worked for us ONLY because it was off season, cannot imagine when it's full. The restaurant told us that when it's full the wait for dinner is 2-3 hours.

That being said, we had a really nice time. The food was delicious and we are vegetarians. As soon as we got ear plugs, it improved. I would go back, NEVER when it's crowded. It's clean, new and really nice employees.

Room Tip: Best to be on upper floor, downstairs floors can hear people stomping around upstairs. Sounded like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Hello, and thank you for your thoughts. You've touched on something that we want to highlight -- Yosemite National Park a four-season destination, but the highest levels of visitation occur during the summer months. Experiencing Yosemite in the fall and winter can offer a deeper level of engagement with its wonders; highly recommended! And, we're pleased that you found our vegetarian dining options were delicious. And, we're sorry if you encountered a few little guests who could have used a bit more parental supervision. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

This rather expansive property is about a mile from the South entrance to Yosemite. That means it is still a good 40 minutes drive to the Yosemite Valley Floor. Fortunately, the hotel has lots to do - at least it did in January when we were there. There are sledding hills, archery classes, guided hikes, and an ice rink. There are a total of four restaurants on property as well as a coffee shop. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The new cottage rooms are spacious and homey with a gas fireplace and a balcony. The walls were a little thin, however, and the noise from people in the unit above and next to ours was distracting and lessened the homey cabin-in-the-woods feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_Pas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, west midlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at Tenaya Lodge in September 2012. We stayed here as it was a perfect location to go into Yosemite national park and explore the beautiful landscape this hotel is set in. We didn't stay in the main hotel, we stayed in the cottages surrounding. They were set in stunning grounds, were extremely clean and tidy and spacious. We used the pool every day after exploring to wind down and chill out. We even walked to the pool in our dressing gowns that were provided. It has an extremely relaxed environment. We ate in the restaurant that is attached to the bar on the 2nd night and the food was lovely. The staff were attentive and could not do enough for you. The pizza parlour was also great, we had pizza in our room on the 1st night and relaxed on the balcony, the pizza was lovely. So nice we went back on the 3rd night. Again the staff were brilliant, I had salad and pasta which was lovely whilst the rest of our party had pizza. I don't think there was a scrap of food left. If you are planning on visiting Yosemite, then I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blondy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TenayaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write. When we get five-star reviews like yours, well, let's just say that it warms a lot of hearts here at Tenaya Lodge. We're so glad that we were able to contribute to your Yosemite National Park experience. And, as you discovered, there are many ways to "chill" right here at Tenaya, even when it's cold outside! Hope we see you again the next time you're heading for Yosemite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I've just spent some wonderful days visiting Yosemite National Park during winter and staying at this place was part of that. It is a simple hotel with fireplace, friendly staff members and pet friendly. The restaurants were nice, as well as the indoor pool. Intersting to take the horse drawn sleigh ride, with a stop for hot cider and marshmallow.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tereza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We opted to stop here for a few days between San Francisco and relatives in Auburn during the Thanksgiving break. Close to the park, and the conceirge helped us figure out everything to do during our brief stay there. The day trip to the park was awesome! They had recently put in the full spa, which was wonderful. We treated ourselves to massages and the masseur did put me to sleep.
The fact that they have an adult only restaurant is special. One of the other restaurants that is more of a sports bar, has a separate area for children so that adults can enjoy more of a relaxed atmosphere. The convenience store had all of the essential items needed for a quick breakfast before hitting the road.
They lodge was getting ready for Christmas and they were in the midst of decorating it while we were there. Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friant, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

The buffet breakfast is incredible with something for everyone. Fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, bacon, you name it, it is there!! I highly recommend it. For a fun afternoon, be sure to do the romantic picnic. It includes snow shoes for two, a beautiful picnic lunch in a great backpack that you get to keep. The walk is amazing! Go down by the little creek and soak in the beauty around you while enjoying your picnic together. A great adventure! Then come back and enjoy a good book by the roaring fire in the lobby. Sipping a warm latte. Life can not get any better! Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaKayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
4.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing