We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Nearby Hotels
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$763
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (5,323)
Filter reviews
5,323 results
Traveller rating
2,181
1,926
756
298
162
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,181
1,926
756
298
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessierra restaurantindoor poolice skatingsouth entrancecottage roomthe main hotelbreakfast buffetglacier pointflashlight hikevalley floorminute drivefire pitembersjackalopeconciergefireplace
Filter
Updating list...
3,312 - 3,317 of 5,323 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the lodge at the beginning of our trip to enjoy some time in Yosemite. I had seen the mixed reviews but we were not disappointed. We had a great room in the main lodge with doors that opened onto the terrace area. The staff were extremely pleasant. The hotel was quiet when we stayed, no loud children thankfully as others have commented. The food is limited but we had two nices meals in the grill bar. It is on the edge of Yosemite, but then accommodation in the park is limited. The pool was good to relax in after a full day out.
Since we only really had 1 day to see the park, we too took the discover Yosemite day trip and were glad that we did. It saved us navigating the narrow roads, but we also got to see a lot which we would not have done if we had driven ourselves. The guide was extremely knowledgable and enthusiastic. Glacier point was stunning to see, and the whole area is lovely. We were able to get close up with some deer, and saw climbers with their tents on El Capitan. Overall we got a good flavour of Yosemite and were glad we had picked the lodge for our trip.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Maybe we caught Tenaya at a bad time, but things were wonderful in winter wonderland.

PROS:

Our ROOM was clean, well outfitted and comfortable. (We stayed in the cottages which was definitely the right call if you want privacy and peace. The hotel itself was a madhouse. You couldn't pay me to stay there!)

If you don't want to stay in the park, the GROUNDS are nice and located not to far from Mariposa, Wawona, etc.

The CAFE/DELI has a nice selection of tea and snacks.

The hotel was decorated for Christmas and looked very festive. We enjoyed sitting in the lobby with a cup of tea or hot chocolate.

CONS:

CONCIERGE service was downright dreadful. The hotel was not full but there were quite a few people there. We had to wait every time we wanted to talk to a concierge and it certainly wasn't worth the wait. First, they messed up our archery reservation, sending me an empty envelope that supposedly contained my tickets, receipt etc. That meant that we had to cut in to our archery lesson for me to hike back up to the concierge and sign the liability agreement Second, when I asked the concierge whether certain outside activities were open, she advised I look at their websites. When I asked about what was open or going on in the park, she again directed me to the website or suggested I drive in to the park and get the newspaper they hand out at the front gate. Not helpful at all!

RESTAURANTS offered an extremely limited menu - none of it tasty. Breakfast was tolerable - if you limited yourself to fruit and oatmeal. Dinner was much much worse. The pizza place is edible - though one of our pizzas was burnt and the other arrived 15 minutes after the other. The pizzeria is only open seasonally though so, if you want to eat there, call ahead. Jack-a-lopes and Sierra have the same dinner menu. The food tasted terrible and 5 out of the 6 in our party had stomach aches after eating at Jack-a-lopes. To make matters worse, the meal took nearly 2 hours with extremely slow service. The experience was so bad that we opted for cheese and crackers in our room the last night.

It could have been the time we stayed - just a few days before Thanksgiving - but there was basically NOTHING TO DO. ARCHERY was available but beware that you pay per person. For instance, we had 5 in our party and paid $50 for a half hour. The party of two after us paid $20 for a half hour - with the same number of targets, instructors, etc. We had a great time, though. The ICE RINK was also open but in very poor shape. There are no signs and no one will point it to you unless you nail them down but there is a decent wooded walk - where you can see many signs of logging.

Would we stay here again? I might be convinced for a night en route to or from the park but certainly no longer than that.

Room Tip: The cottages have much more privacy and are more peaceful. The hotel itself was always bustling and seemed cramped.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelleM650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thanks for your feedback, Michelle. While we are glad to hear you were pleased with your cottage and enjoyed our holiday décor, we’re disappointed that you were unhappy with your concierge and dining experiences. Your comments will be passed on to the appropriate management teams. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel had a great location as it's the first hotel to the south of the park. The rooms were a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. We were in a f

The on site dining was very good and nice to come back to after a day in Yosemite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krisser22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel is near the entrance to Yosemite and some great hiking. It's still about an hour into the central point/ visitor centre as the roads require some concentration as there are lots of twists and turns. The drive is stunning!

The room was really nice, comfy beds and a good sized bathroom. There was a heating/ air con system but it was noisy, luckily we did not need it much.

The hotel has an indoor pool which was something we were looking forward too ( there is also an outdoor one in the summer). Sadly it was a real let down as it was far to cold, the room it was in was cold as well so you could not sit and dry off. The two hot tubs were good.

There are a couple of restaurants, there was always a long queue and they had a strange system of seating, we found tables were empty or they would sit you on one far larger than you party size. The food was good but pricey and the service was fairly slow. The nearest restaurants/ shops outside of the hotel are about 20 mins away again on some bendy roads.

The hotel is on high ground, it snowed when we were there so be prepared with snow chains!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherbs-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thanks for your feedback, sherbs-13. It sounds as though you had a nice time and a comfortable stay at Tenaya and were able to enjoy beautiful Yosemite. We’ve noted your feedback on the pool and restaurants – thanks for sharing! We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Choices are limited in this area. This lodge has a lot to offer but it comes at a price. Beautiful pool and nice restaurant. The concierge helped us pick a tour for the next day which was convenient and a nice choice. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews