We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Trip to Yosemite was perfect staying in the Tenaya Resort. The lobby is beautiful with a Hugh fireplace, and decorated incredibly for the holiday season with a tree that must be 40 feet tall. The staff is friendly and helpful. In The Ascent Spa, Richard gave me one of the best massages I have ever had. There is an indoor pool, hot tubs, an ice skating rink and a guided tour both in the daylight and nightly by flashlights. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The location is convenient to the National Forest. There are restaurants in the hotel with great variety and delicious favors. The only problem is that dining is limited to the hotel because of the distance to other eateries, but since the food and choices are great, that is fine.

Room Tip: There is s choice of the Lodge or Cottages. The lodge is easy access to food, pool,and other activi...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a green hotel. I think they have won awards for their environmentally friendly place. There are no obvious. The toilets are water saver types and the lights were energy savers.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thanks for your comments, Lori. We appreciate your kind words and your feedback for Richard – so glad you enjoyed your experience from start to finish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,955
    1,696
    671
    254
    136
See reviews for
1,922
1,804
51
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,068)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed one night in an upstairs cottage room. It was wonderful! The place is very well appointed and comfortable. This seems to me to be the perfect set up for a family with a couple of children. We opted for a package that included a tram tour in Yosemite and breakfast. Unfortunately because of weather the tour was cancelled. The lodge refunded our money for the tour. Breakfast buffet was fantastic!
It was pricey but definitely worth the cost. Our only regret is we couldn't stay longer .
It is close to the south Yosemite entrance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge at the beginning of our trip to enjoy some time in Yosemite. I had seen the mixed reviews but we were not disappointed. We had a great room in the main lodge with doors that opened onto the terrace area. The staff were extremely pleasant. The hotel was quiet when we stayed, no loud children thankfully as others have commented. The food is limited but we had two nices meals in the grill bar. It is on the edge of Yosemite, but then accommodation in the park is limited. The pool was good to relax in after a full day out.
Since we only really had 1 day to see the park, we too took the discover Yosemite day trip and were glad that we did. It saved us navigating the narrow roads, but we also got to see a lot which we would not have done if we had driven ourselves. The guide was extremely knowledgable and enthusiastic. Glacier point was stunning to see, and the whole area is lovely. We were able to get close up with some deer, and saw climbers with their tents on El Capitan. Overall we got a good flavour of Yosemite and were glad we had picked the lodge for our trip.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Maybe we caught Tenaya at a bad time, but things were wonderful in winter wonderland.

PROS:

Our ROOM was clean, well outfitted and comfortable. (We stayed in the cottages which was definitely the right call if you want privacy and peace. The hotel itself was a madhouse. You couldn't pay me to stay there!)

If you don't want to stay in the park, the GROUNDS are nice and located not to far from Mariposa, Wawona, etc.

The CAFE/DELI has a nice selection of tea and snacks.

The hotel was decorated for Christmas and looked very festive. We enjoyed sitting in the lobby with a cup of tea or hot chocolate.

CONS:

CONCIERGE service was downright dreadful. The hotel was not full but there were quite a few people there. We had to wait every time we wanted to talk to a concierge and it certainly wasn't worth the wait. First, they messed up our archery reservation, sending me an empty envelope that supposedly contained my tickets, receipt etc. That meant that we had to cut in to our archery lesson for me to hike back up to the concierge and sign the liability agreement Second, when I asked the concierge whether certain outside activities were open, she advised I look at their websites. When I asked about what was open or going on in the park, she again directed me to the website or suggested I drive in to the park and get the newspaper they hand out at the front gate. Not helpful at all!

RESTAURANTS offered an extremely limited menu - none of it tasty. Breakfast was tolerable - if you limited yourself to fruit and oatmeal. Dinner was much much worse. The pizza place is edible - though one of our pizzas was burnt and the other arrived 15 minutes after the other. The pizzeria is only open seasonally though so, if you want to eat there, call ahead. Jack-a-lopes and Sierra have the same dinner menu. The food tasted terrible and 5 out of the 6 in our party had stomach aches after eating at Jack-a-lopes. To make matters worse, the meal took nearly 2 hours with extremely slow service. The experience was so bad that we opted for cheese and crackers in our room the last night.

It could have been the time we stayed - just a few days before Thanksgiving - but there was basically NOTHING TO DO. ARCHERY was available but beware that you pay per person. For instance, we had 5 in our party and paid $50 for a half hour. The party of two after us paid $20 for a half hour - with the same number of targets, instructors, etc. We had a great time, though. The ICE RINK was also open but in very poor shape. There are no signs and no one will point it to you unless you nail them down but there is a decent wooded walk - where you can see many signs of logging.

Would we stay here again? I might be convinced for a night en route to or from the park but certainly no longer than that.

Room Tip: The cottages have much more privacy and are more peaceful. The hotel itself was always bustling and...
See more room tips
Green Features: Tenaya touted its "green path" but we didn't see much evidence of it. They offered paper plates every where you turned. Reusable mugs would have been nice - at least for enjoying drinks in the lobby.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleM650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thanks for your feedback, Michelle. While we are glad to hear you were pleased with your cottage and enjoyed our holiday décor, we’re disappointed that you were unhappy with your concierge and dining experiences. Your comments will be passed on to the appropriate management teams. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel had a great location as it's the first hotel to the south of the park. The rooms were a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. We were in a f

The on site dining was very good and nice to come back to after a day in Yosemite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisser22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel is near the entrance to Yosemite and some great hiking. It's still about an hour into the central point/ visitor centre as the roads require some concentration as there are lots of twists and turns. The drive is stunning!

The room was really nice, comfy beds and a good sized bathroom. There was a heating/ air con system but it was noisy, luckily we did not need it much.

The hotel has an indoor pool which was something we were looking forward too ( there is also an outdoor one in the summer). Sadly it was a real let down as it was far to cold, the room it was in was cold as well so you could not sit and dry off. The two hot tubs were good.

There are a couple of restaurants, there was always a long queue and they had a strange system of seating, we found tables were empty or they would sit you on one far larger than you party size. The food was good but pricey and the service was fairly slow. The nearest restaurants/ shops outside of the hotel are about 20 mins away again on some bendy roads.

The hotel is on high ground, it snowed when we were there so be prepared with snow chains!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherbs-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thanks for your feedback, sherbs-13. It sounds as though you had a nice time and a comfortable stay at Tenaya and were able to enjoy beautiful Yosemite. We’ve noted your feedback on the pool and restaurants – thanks for sharing! We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Choices are limited in this area. This lodge has a lot to offer but it comes at a price. Beautiful pool and nice restaurant. The concierge helped us pick a tour for the next day which was convenient and a nice choice. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
4.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing