We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$150
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$173
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$174
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$670
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pines Resort(Bass Lake)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,290)
Filter reviews
5,290 results
Traveller rating
2,165
1,917
751
296
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,165
1,917
751
296
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessierra restaurantindoor poolice skatingsouth entrancecottage roomthe main hotelbreakfast buffetglacier pointflashlight hikevalley floorminute drivefire pitembersjackalopeconciergefireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,062 - 3,067 of 5,290 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

For our 30th Anniversary we decided to visit Yosemite for the first time. We made reservations, 2 months in advance, with a different hotel near Yosemite. When we arrived, they had totally messed up our reservation; wrong room, wrong location and wrong bed arrangement. When we brought this to their attention, they said they couldn't move us but offered to refund us $12 for our trouble.

We stopped in at the Tenaya lodge to make dinner reservations, and fell in love with the place. My wife spoke to the front desk clerk, Alyssa, and explained our situation. She found us a very nice, quiet, cottage room, with a view of the hills, a private deck and king size bed. We quickly, went back to the other hotel and checked out. By the time we returned to our Tenaya cottage room there was a basket of fresh fruit, bottle of champagne, and a hand written note from Alyssa, wishing us a happy anniversary! During our week long stay we ate at all three of their restaurants, and every one had excellent food and service. We spent a bit more for our accommodations, but is was completely worth it. We will definitely be returning to Tenaya Lodge in the future.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are quieter and a 3-4 minute walk from main lobby, pool and restaurants
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Seacrakker. We are thrilled to know that our team, especially Alyssa, was able to make your anniversary special and create a memorable experience from start to finish. Congratulations on 30 years – what a milestone! – and we look forward to seeing you on a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is an activity/family hotel. Busy with lots to do. Food in all restautrants good particularly Embers. Rooms near the pool can be noisy. The best thing about Tenaya is it's location at the South gate of Yosemite...it's perfect to explore this wonder of the world!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A lovely base to explore Yosemite from. We stayed in the Cottages, which are slightly removed from the main Hotel block. The Lodge have a free shuttle service to get to and from the cottages, which only takes a couple of minutes.Comfortable accomodation, with all facilities in room. Food and drink slightly on the expensive side, but probably good value for a location like this. Staff very friendly and attentive - pool side bar staff especially so. Great pool area , catering for all ages.
Plenty of options for eating.
Probably need to stay in the hotel side of the lodge to give totally fair review, but would definitely stay here again .

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are in a very quiet, and shaded location., which may not suit families with children - the hotel side being the better option
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place reminds me of the Wilderness Lodge at Disney. While the rooms are a bit dated and rustic...it does have a nice charm to it. It is a couple miles from the South gate to Yosemite and another 45 minutes to the valley floor. If you are spending a lot of time going to Yosemite, I would try to stay in the valley because of the 2 hours of back/forth driving gets monotonous. The pool is heated and overall the food is pretty good...you are far enough away from restaurant, you feel you have eat there. The staff are great. Next time we visit we would probably get a cottage though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aujmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Tenaya Lodge looks lovely and is in a great setting,although a bit dated. The front desk 'girls' are young and inexperienced in dealing with customers and come across condescending,a definite training need there. The room we had was ok, clean & tidy no view though just a car park.
Our 1st night we used the Jackalopes bar & Grill which was good and as we expected a a bar and grill, staff friendly,service good,food good, although pricey, but what we wanted.
2nd night we decided to go a bit upmarket and tried the Sierra Restaurant ! Also before you get into any of the three 'restaurants' you have to queue up in the restaurant reception to have your surname written on a card which was then given to someone else to then queue you up ready to be taken into the restaurant of your choice when clearly there are tables ready and waiting.........why.... We could see no reason for this at all, just a waste of time, and again poorly trained staff clearly following poor management.
After queuing with another couple we were 'taken' into the Sierra Restuarant and 'given' our table, I should mention here that the restaurant was only 3rd full on a Saturday night at 8.30pm.
Our waitress or server as there called was polite and friendly but not genuine, just saying all the standard stuff all the service staff are told to say, and not really engaging with the customer at all.
We ordered a bottle of wine which was good, and a starter each and the same main corse each, my wife's starter arrived very quickly (crab cakes) on a very hot plate sadly my starter had been forgotten ! (Baked Brie in pastry) once I reminded our waitress she apologised and hurried off to get it leaving my wife's starter getting colder by the minuet, again poor training. My starter arrived my wife's start had just survived, my starter the Brie in pastry was cold in the centre and not runny as it should have been !
The main corse rib eye steaks ......the steaks good and cooked as we wanted them but not overly hot just warm, the small amount of veg was cold , the sauce tasteless.
The main thing though that really put us off the whole evening was the fact we were constantly being cleared around, the staff constantly clearing down all the unused tables and preparing them for breakfast, and as each table around us was vacated by guests it was cleared and made ready for breakfast, we felt rushed and not really welcome and in the way. Very unprofessional including one of the waiting staff putting his foot up on a chair to do his shoe lace up, if it was a fast food outlet you might have excepted it but not here when your paying between 150 & 200 dollars for two people
We asked for the bill and the waitress asked about my starter, I told her I was not overly happy with it and she took it off the bill, I would have paid for it though.
A Disappointing evening, we arrived at about 8.30pm in what looked like a good restaurant & left about 9.30pm in a what was looking like a fast food outlet ready for breakfast & staff to match!
We don't blame the staff but the management are obversely having to cut costs for more profit, which is a shame as Tenaya Lodge rates itself as a high class resort. Maybe if they invested more in there staff this could be true
Would we come again....to Yosemite yes .....Tenaya Lodge no

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts, John. While we’re glad to hear you had a great experience at Jackalopes, we are sorry to hear you felt as though that did not apply during your front desk encounters or your meal at Sierra. Our three main restaurants are “hosted” through the same check-in stand and we do indeed set a wait time occasionally to ensure that all guests at all restaurants can receive attentive and quick service. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your brie appetizer and felt you and your wife were rushed and worked around. As a Four Diamond resort, we want all guests to feel welcome and attended to for an above and beyond experience. Chairs should not be used as foot rests and your comment will be passed along to the F&B team. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews