We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation lovely but avoid Restaurant!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Accommodation lovely but avoid Restaurant!!!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We experienced what can only be described as the worst table service in the restaurant on our first nights stay! Our waitress forgot out food, never checked on us throughout our meal and despite reminding her of the meal that was missing it still never arrived!!! Our waitress was rude, not interested and unpleasant! Do not dine there... Despite emailing guest services etc re: our experience we to date (now departing Tenaya Lodge) have not been contacted!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquatec4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, aquatec4u. While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, we’re sorry that you felt as though you did not receive friendly, efficient service. We would like to learn more and make this right – we will privately message you contact information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,043
    1,780
    691
    266
    143
See reviews for
2,012
1,901
53
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We book this hotel because it was near Yosemite Park entrance. This was our first visit to Yosemite National Park and arena Tenaya Lodge. We had an Awesome Experience. Clean , friendly and family oriented. The Discover Yosemite Tour was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnHamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We recently stayed 3 days at Tenaya as part of a West Coast road trip. We had a nice stay in a comfortable room.

Rather than restate what other reviewers have said, I'll just briefly say I agree with those that noted it's a bit far from Yosemite Valley (not terrible, but it is about an hour on curvy mountain roads), and dining prices were expensive (breakfast for 4...nothing fancy...was $70-ouch!). However, considering that you're paying for the convenience of not driving 'into town' (a 20 minute drive to Oakhurst where there are lots of dining options), the prices aren't a deal breaker. One annoying problem was the room was a bit noisy - you could hear people stomping their feet upstairs, kids running down the halls at night, and doors slamming at all hours. Not sure if that was due to a lot of rude guests, or construction of the lodge - regardless, if you're a light sleeper, you might want to bring your ear plugs just in case.

Overall, the lodge is clean and well maintained, and very convenient to the Mariposa Grove area. Tenaya Lodge is a good option if you didn't book in time to stay 'in the park'.

Room Tip: a top floor might be good to avoid heavy foot traffic noise of rude neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had stayed at the "Lodge" twice before and it is a lot of folks in one place, parking is a problem. This time we stayed in one of the cottages...which are like a little tri-plex...two side downstair units and one upstairs in the center. all share the same covered entry way. These are located in a separate entrance just before you get to the main entrance to Tenaya Lodge, although you first have to check in at the main Lodge.
The traffic is one way on a narrow windy road that circles around the cottages. Each cottage has its own parking place, unless someone else has two vehicles. Ours shared 6 spaces with another and there were seven cars one morning.
These are much more convenient to get into and out of, and you don't have to wait on a valet. If you want to eat at the main lodge, it is a little stroll. We did not eat at the main lodge this time. We did get pizza at the cottages one nite when we came in late, they were about to closing time, but graciously made us a fresh pizza and had salad also. They also have a Laundromat which served us well. Rooms have a microwave and a mini-refridge. The only sink is in the bathroom though. it would be nice to have one where the microwave and refrig are. Would definitely stay here again. As mentioned in another review. this location is just outside the south entrance coming from Fresno. it is quite close to the Mariposa Grove, but probably 35-45 mins to the valley.
The benefit is that you do not have all of the crowds, and think the facility is better than anything in the valley except probably the Ahwana, which I have not stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bills83au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We appreciate you making a return trip and sharing your experience, Bills83au. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottages and were able to enjoy some late-night snacks – we are pleased our staff ensured you were well-fed and felt cared for! Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you back at the cottages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked this hotel in January because everything in the valley was booked already. This is above our usual price range but we are glad we had the comforts of the pool and spa after our long hikes and days in the sun. We had a cottage with a patio in the woods. Just perfect. The spa, laundry facilities and pizzeria were so convenient we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We loved Yosemite so much we extended our stay by 2 nights. We had to move to the Main lodge which was fine because we wanted to check it out as well. All in all a great place and our teenage girls thought it was awesome.

Here is my one complaint. They have a designated smoking area at the front entrance to their hotel! Several times a day (breakfast was the worst) we had to walk through the gauntlet of cigars and cigarettes. Not a good first impression for a hotel. When I complained at the front desk I was told by law no one can smoke within 300 feet of the entrance. Why are there multiple ashtrays within 10 feet of the entrance that continue for hundreds of feet along the walkway to the entrance? Seriously you need to fix this and designate the smokers to the parking lot in front of the entrance away from the non-smokers. Hence the 4 stars. Also our windows were dirty. At $400 a night, very disappointing.

If you don't mind the hour drive to the valley and back each day, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Cottages are great. Main lodge rooms are very good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Lots of recycling throughout the hotel and Yosemite.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Lisa. It’s great to hear your whole family had a blast at Tenaya and got plenty of value out of your stay. We are sorry you were bothered by smoking. As the lobby entrance serves as a main hub for people entering and exiting the hotel, we designated as a smoking area with benches and ashtrays to ensure that portion of the property, as well as others, stay clean. Legal guidelines dictate smoking needs to be 20-25 feet from a business’ door, so we maximize the distance in an effort to keep all guests comfortable. We hope to see you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Close to Yosemite's Mariposa Grove. Lots of activities for kids and adults. We did the Evening Flashlight Hike, kids and adults enjoyed it. Clean pool, with ample fresh towel service and nearby food and beverage service. Our family enjoyed our stay and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Not sure if the hotel offers shuttle service into Yosemite, if not they should, if they do they shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LalaLeeLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a lovely family hotel with lots of facilities for a long stay. There is a big swimming pool and good laundry facilities. The rooms themselves are quite basic, but decent enough and very clean. What makes Tenaya Lodge is its location - it is just on the edge of Yosemite National Park so you can be there within a matter of 5 minutes by car.

There is a great customer service section where staff give you information on hiking trails and how far away everything is. My criticism there would be that the queue for this service can be quite long and the staff could do with a little more patience.

I would stay at Tenaya Lodge again as overall it is a great place for a holiday where you can enjoy nature and lots of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We appreciate your feedback, Amy. We’re so glad to hear you and your family had a great stay with us and were able to enjoy plenty of time in gorgeous Yosemite! Thanks for your comment on concierge wait time. We are sorry to hear you felt as though staff was impatient with guests – we want each guest to feel welcomed, no matter how busy it is. The concierge station does tend to get busy at times, especially during high season, but we work to assist guests as efficiently as possible. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,005 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
240 reviews
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing