We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family trip”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We traveled to Yosemite National park the first week of April with 2 other families. We stayed at the Tenaya Lodge. It snowed while we were there, which was gorgeous, but we weren't able to take advantage of some of the activities the hotel offers because of the weather.

We started out staying in a room in the main building which was very nice and clean. We decided to change our room to one of the cottages because it offered more space. A separate bedroom. The layout of the Cottage was great. The only disappointment was the condition of the room. It has not been updated in a long time. Stained wallpaper and carpet. Our flame from our fireplace could barely be seen from the soot stains on the glass. The room just needed TLC.

The Lodge Lobby is gorgeous! Great place to sit and have coffee or play a board game with your kids.

We had a great time on the ice skating rink and making s'mores by one of their fire pits.

One thing stands out to me about our stay and that was the fantastic staff. We had the best customer service we've had in a long time. They were patient with our big group of kids. Always wanting to help. One employee in particular, Jaret, was great!

We ate dinner every night at Sierra Restaurant. The food was good and the service great! I wish I could remember the name of the cocktail we loved. It was like a Moscow Mule but fizzy and delicious.

We hope to make it back to the Tenaya Lodge during warmer months where we can take advantage of their bikes and be able to spend more time exploring the property.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophnalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience, sophnalex. Snow in April may not be expected, but we’re glad you got to see it – one of our favorite ways to experience Tenaya and Yosemite. Thank you for your kind words for our staff, and Jaret in particular. Your praise will definitely be passed along. Also great to know you enjoyed Sierra and the Pack Mule – so delicious! We are sorry to hear that you felt as though your cottage room was in need of updating. As a Four Diamond resort, we want all guests to feel their room is a reflection of the high standards we set for our property and staff. Hope to see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,043
    1,781
    691
    266
    143
See reviews for
2,012
1,902
53
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We went for our 13 wed. Anniversary it was very. Nice, running and hiking trails from parking lot.
Yosemite two miles to south gate. Thanks tenaya. Lodge for a wonderful vacation. Hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Sunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience, 0Sunny1. We are so glad to hear you had a great celebratory trip – congratulations on 13 years and here’s to many more! We look forward to seeing you on future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Loved the hotel! Nice lobby, good food, rooms are nice.....elevators are really slow - need upgrade.
The only disappointment was the concierge. It seemed like the people working had not done the activities they recommended and if they did not know they made something up. Could not tell us how to get to the bottom of El Captain. Told us there was no rock climbing available because the staff was working on archery.....there was only one person on archery....just make sure you check what the concierge says.

Other than that, great pools, kids love it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We appreciate your feedback, Adam. It’s great to hear you had a fantastic experience at Tenaya, but we are sorry that you felt the concierge was not informative. We will definitely pass on your thoughts and thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

First let me say the location of the resort was wonderful and the grounds were in the midst of a natural beauty that the National Forest offers. The bell staff and the Wait staff at Embers were very good. However; for what we paid per night (over $380 once tax and resort fees are added) we were disappointed in the condition of the rooms and the service and food in the Sierra restaurant where the breakfast buffet is. I had organized this trip for twelve people, occupying six rooms. First the room; we stayed in the cottages, we were told the six rooms we booked would be together or reasonably close together. They were not, we were spread all over the cottages. Not a big deal since it is not that big of an area, still, not what we were expecting. In the room the carpet was stained, the porch had not been swept and there was a layer of dirt covering the railing. There were also two wicker chairs on the porch, one of which was broken and both of which were worn and dirty. I spoke with one of the housekeepers who was not assigned to our room and she said she would ask the person assigned to our room to clean the porch. It never happened. In fact the first night they didn't even empty the sand bucket which had cigar butts in it so it appears they didn't even walk out on the porch. My wife contacted the manager to complain about the room. The manager did return the call the following day while we were out in the park. She was off for the weekend by the time we returned, so we never spoke to her. At checkout we were credited $150 and told the manager would make a follow up call. It has been a week, we are still waiting for the call. We ate breakfast in the Sierra Restaurant; the buffet was average, no problem with the quantity of food, but the quality was not was we expected. The service was fair at best. The server looked like he just came from a 1960's pot party (far out). He never cleared the dirty dishes off the table and was a little slow with the coffee refills. One of our party ordered from the menu (a bagel with lox and cream cheese) she was not served until most of us had already eaten. Our second attempt at the Restaurant was the next day. This time we ordered off the menu and the food was much better, the server was very friendly, but slow and my sourdough toast looked a lot like plain bagel when I finally received it. Two people received the wrong order, my toast and one other, but because of the delay we just accepted what we got. Again coffee refills were a little slow and we had to ask more than once for water. We also ate at the pizzeria which was good (no complaints there) and Embers which was exceptional. Embers food was outstanding and the service was what we expected at a 5 star restaurant. Expect to spend a couple hours there as they take there time to do everything right. Overall the experience was positive as our group of 12 was there to celebrate a birthday and visit the park and we probably would have had a good time at Motel 6. The lodge is about as close as you can get to the park without being inside it. The disappointment in the quality of the room and service did not ruin the vacation. I just believe that for what they charge the resort should up it's game a bit. The hotels in Oakhurst are only another 20 minutes down the road. Location is excellent however they are overpriced for what they offer. P.S. There is an excellent horseback riding stable up the road which I recommend however; the resort told us it was a 15 minute walk. It actually about 30 mins. (over a mile and a half). It's' a pleasant walk but plan enough time to walk it or drive there.

Room Tip: I don't know what the main lodge is like. We stayed at the cottages. We were not happy with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawsonjr54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We experienced what can only be described as the worst table service in the restaurant on our first nights stay! Our waitress forgot out food, never checked on us throughout our meal and despite reminding her of the meal that was missing it still never arrived!!! Our waitress was rude, not interested and unpleasant! Do not dine there... Despite emailing guest services etc re: our experience we to date (now departing Tenaya Lodge) have not been contacted!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquatec4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, aquatec4u. While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, we’re sorry that you felt as though you did not receive friendly, efficient service. We would like to learn more and make this right – we will privately message you contact information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We book this hotel because it was near Yosemite Park entrance. This was our first visit to Yosemite National Park and arena Tenaya Lodge. We had an Awesome Experience. Clean , friendly and family oriented. The Discover Yosemite Tour was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnHamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We recently stayed 3 days at Tenaya as part of a West Coast road trip. We had a nice stay in a comfortable room.

Rather than restate what other reviewers have said, I'll just briefly say I agree with those that noted it's a bit far from Yosemite Valley (not terrible, but it is about an hour on curvy mountain roads), and dining prices were expensive (breakfast for 4...nothing fancy...was $70-ouch!). However, considering that you're paying for the convenience of not driving 'into town' (a 20 minute drive to Oakhurst where there are lots of dining options), the prices aren't a deal breaker. One annoying problem was the room was a bit noisy - you could hear people stomping their feet upstairs, kids running down the halls at night, and doors slamming at all hours. Not sure if that was due to a lot of rude guests, or construction of the lodge - regardless, if you're a light sleeper, you might want to bring your ear plugs just in case.

Overall, the lodge is clean and well maintained, and very convenient to the Mariposa Grove area. Tenaya Lodge is a good option if you didn't book in time to stay 'in the park'.

Room Tip: a top floor might be good to avoid heavy foot traffic noise of rude neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
17.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,005 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
240 reviews
15.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing