We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Nearby Hotels
US$150
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$670
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pines Resort(Bass Lake)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,291)
Filter reviews
5,291 results
Traveller rating
2,166
1,917
751
296
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,166
1,917
751
296
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessierra restaurantindoor poolice skatingsouth entrancecottage roomthe main hotelbreakfast buffetglacier pointflashlight hikevalley floorminute drivefire pitembersjackalopeconciergefireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,902 - 2,907 of 5,291 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

There were dead cock roaches in the stairwell. Our room had double beds that had a sagging mattress. Our toilet had flush problems. Our rugs were stained and the rooms have paper thin walls. Activities are all extra. We were shocked that we needed to pay for on site activities such as archery and rock climbing considering we already paid a resort fee. Food was average and over priced. We've stayed at much nicer places for a lot less money. Very disappointed and cut our stay short.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Kim. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. As a Four Diamond resort, it is important for our guests to get a great sense of value and enjoy a comfortable, luxurious stay. The resort fee is a nominal and standard fee that covers a number of amenities offered to guests, but does not cover activities as they are often in-depth experiences. We would love the opportunity to discuss your experience further with you and will be sending you contact information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Location is very convenient. Just a few miles from the south entrance. If you can't get the hotels in the valley itself, this is a great choice. The place is open, rooms are clean (though a bit old) service is cheerful and warm. Pricing. Hmmm a bit expensive but fine for the location -we did go in peak season and booked this quite late. Overall quite pleased with our experience here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gokartik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights at peak season and only really booked here because the only other claim to a '4* hotel' (the Ahawanee) was booked up. It is an hours drive from Yosemite village which didn't hugely bother us.

We got the impression of a run down old hotel which is in need of a revamp, and charging higher prices than its worth because there is limited rooms in this area. It's a bit like an American Butlins, and perhaps this is what you want if you've got kids but we are a couple in our 30s.

The hotel rooms are clean enough and the rooms are fine but not worth $400 a night and in any city it would only be half! Checkin was not ready at 3pm - perhaps because it's peak season but then they need to hire more staff! The room wasn't cleaned until 4pm either which is rubbish and especially when you get back from a long hike and can't go to your room...

The Embers restaurant was actually the best thing about it (for adults) - good food and a nice setting by the fire...but again it was £18 for a main which is London prices and certainly not to good London restaurant standards! The other two restaurants and the shop were dirty, understaffed and pretty rubbish food.

The pool area is manic and full of noisy kids. DO NOT (under any circumstances) go to the indoor pool or arcade...now that is below Butlins standards!! Seriously bad - embarrassing to be honest.

The staff were not great - like others have said, weirdly obsessed with 'procedure' (told us there was no where to sit outside in the patio area and we couldn't 'seat ourselves' even though there were literally 10s of tables free! The reception staff are just a bunch of young girls pretending to be grown ups and with bad attitudes...we asked a few questions and they were both useless and rude.

We wouldn't return of course - best advice is to book super early at the Ahawanee!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImiKof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your comments, Imogen. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. As a Four Diamond resort, we take pride in our hotel and level of service. We understand your frustration with check-in and apologize. Summer is indeed our busiest season and we do our very best to keep housekeeping and other logistics running on time for our guests. At our restaurants, servers are assigned to particular sections so we can ensure all guests receive attentive and efficient service, but we are sorry that you were kept from sitting outdoors in the process. Finally, we apologize you felt you were treated rudely by the front desk staff. We always want our guests to feel welcome and treated well. We would love to discuss your experience with you further and will send you information to do so. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Perfectly situated at the southern entrance to Yosemite Tenaya Lodge offered comfort in luxurious surroundings. Yosemite was one of the highlights of our California tour and staying at Tenaya Lodge made it all the more special. Not cheap but you are on holiday - indulge and enjoy it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Tenaya Lodge has a nice location just 4 km from the south entrance of the national park and the hotel area looks really nice when you arrive. Nice swimming pool area. Please notice that several of the spa are reserved for adults.
The room was quite dark and looks pretty old - it was clean though. Be aware that you can hear everything in that place, there is a lot of noise. We had a room just next to the elevator and the entrance, and from 7 pm to 11 pm there was a constant noise of people entering with suitcases, sounds from the elevator, people returning from the restaurants and yelling to eachother.
We had dinner twice at the hotel and also breakfast twice. The way breakfast is handled is very strange and I don't fully understand why it is managed that way. You have to wait to be seated. We came down in the morning, saw several vacant tables but still had to wait for a little while. Don't think there was any special reason - besides this was the procedure. You cannot get any juice, tee, coffee, milk etc. by yourself and the same goes for toast and bagels. You have to wait for that being served. This meant that our children were almost halfway with the breakfast buffet before they got anything to drink. The waitress was very nice and kind. We saw several employees running around with tablets looking very busy - no clue what they were so busy with. A big advantage would be if you were allowed to get milk and juice by yourself. It is okay to wait for coffee and tee, but not everything else. When we got our bill in the morning at the room, I noticed an entry on the invoice I couldn't recognize. When checking out I informed about this, and the young lady in the reception informed me that she would be happy to find the documentation but it would take another 10 min. I choose to wait for that and it actually turned out that the bar at the swimming pool had charged us double for drinks. The extra entry was deleted straight away by the staff, so no problem, but I actually have never experienced that before, to be charged double.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms close to entrance and elevator
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christian6400DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews