We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place (but quite a long and winding drive from Yosemite Valley)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our room was ready hours ahead of schedule which was great because we had traveled for many hours and needed to unwind. The room was very nice, the bed was very comfortable. On the first night we stayed on site for dinner and had a wonderful time at a campfire/barbecue with entertainment (singer and guitar player). After the barbecue, which included s'mores over the open campfire, there was a lot of group singing, the entertainers were very personable and brought people onto the stage. It was an international crowd and we met some very interesting people. We were three adults and had a great time even though it was mostly families with kids (all ages). The setup was away from the hotel in the "woods" so it was really a unique experience, like a stage set with a taxidermied bear, etc.

We also had a lovely dinner in the hotel at Embers, the "adults only" restaurant on the premises, we appreciated the opportunity to have an "adult" dinner!

My only complaint: the bathroom in our room was set up so the toilet and bath had a separate door from the sink area. The sink area was carpeted which seemed odd in terms of keeping it spanking clean. Also the door was awkwardly placed so that if one person needed to get in and out of the toilet, the other person at the sink had to move. The mini fridge was on the floor in the sink area, I would have preferred it to be elsewhere. Also the dresser drawers were inside of cabinet drawers that also housed the safe, so every time I needed to get into the drawers, I had to open the cabinet doors first. It was a minor annoyance.

When we arrived the light just inside the front door was not working, we mentioned this to the bellhop and while we were out for the next few hours it was replaced, that was nice quick service.

It must be said that as nice as the Tenaya Lodge is, it is an hour's drive, along a very winding road, till you reach the Valley. The Park entrance is only two miles away from Tenaya and the drive is scenic but if you are visiting the Park every day the drive back and forth can get tedious.

I also should mention that on our last day there was a serious fire that broke out in the nearby town of Oakhurst which caused a power outage in the hotel, but the emergency generators kept everything running just fine, even the wi-fi. The staff was courteous and calm, even though some evacuees from the fire area started filling up the hotel. Some employees could not get home and others could not get to work because the main road out (41) was closed. As a result when we left Tenaya we had to drive 2.5 hours (100 miles) out of our way to get to the airport (and there was a fine coating of ash on our car from the fire). So this was not a typical hotel experience...but the employees were gracious and courteous even under duress.

Room Tip: We liked being near the concierge and front desk, on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,835 - 2,841 of 5,239 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed two nights in a double cottage room and were impressed with the setting, the size of the room and the amenities - it was large, comfortable and had everything we needed.It is a resort and doesn't have as much character as Wawona or Ahwahnee, but was great with children. We used Tenaya only as a base for visiting Yosemite so only really experienced check in and breakfast but were really impressed with these. It is an hour's drive into Yosemite village, but a beautiful drive - one evening we enjoyed an amazing sunset and saw a bear on the drive to Tenaya. The public spaces in the main building are actually quite attractive (contrary to some some of the reviews here). The breakfast buffet was generous - not top end dining, but a great range of options. However, the service was outstanding. On our first morning, we sat outside by the fire pit and our server (Nathan?) was very attentive, friendly and helpful. However we would particularly like to commend Tenaya on their service on our second morning. The local town had been evacuated because of a bush fire so staff were not able to get to work. The skeleton staff already onsite had clearly worked through the night after a frantic dinner service to clean up and prepare for breakfast. Even though a number of the staff lived in the fire affected area and had property at risk, they were incredibly committed and professional. They managed to prepare the same high standard of buffet and were swift and professional at serving drinks. Very generously, this was all complementary because of the chaos the previous evening and because they couldn't offer full service. We were hugely impressed and grateful for this commitment to service.
The only complaints would be that the outdoor pool was too small for the size of the resort, so was very busy. Also, the wifi didn't work for us and we had to spend time with their help desk.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cambersberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback, Cambersberg, and we are so glad to hear you felt attended to during your stay despite the unfortunate fire circumstances. Making our guests comfortable and happy is of the utmost importance to us, and it is wonderful to know that you felt that! We are sorry you had a few frustrations with your wifi. Given the remote location of the lodge, we do our very best to maintain a strong and consistent connection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

At first impression the lodge appears outdated and old.

The room: leak in the bathroom that made the carpet smell. The manager refunded $200 for the night and switched the next day, but we had to wait 2hrs for a room change in the lobby

Went with a group of friends and definitely a family vacation so a lot of kids.

Room: walls dirty and dusty furniture. Beds were clean.

Should have 24/7 room service since everything closes by 11pm the latest and in the middle of no where.

There was a fire in nearby town closing down Route 41. When calling the staff they were not reassuring and unhelpful with directions or further advisement.

Indoor pool unimpressive and never went to outdoor pool since so many kids.

WIFI: free but poor from every floor

for $500/night you would expect better. Not worth it. Close to Yosemite, but you have to drive anywhere anyway so I would've rather stayed in a better quality Hotel further away and just driven an extra 30minutes.

I would never go back nor recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback, Joanie, and we are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. With summer as our busiest season, rooms are typically fully booked, but apologize you were frustrated when receiving an updated room. The fire in Oakhurst was a tough time for our community and we filled our staff in on any updates as quickly as possible as new information came through. It was extremely important to assure guests the lodge was safe and there were accessible roads, but we are sorry you felt this was not effectively communicated. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel but it's almost too much for the area. Yosemite is known for its natural beauty and this place seems kind of out of place. That said, the restaurants are very nice, the pool area is beautiful (and very crowded in summer). My one major disappointment was the double beds instead of queen size beds. I hardly slept trying to share a double bed with my husband or even my daughter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Murrantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Outside pool is excellent and concierge sorted out mountain bikes. Food and shops expensive with little choice. There is plenty to do at this location and almost unnecessary to leave the hotel but location is ideal for Yosemite.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is supposed to be convenient for Yosemite park - well - if you wish to drive for an hour up very windy roads it is.
Food was fine but only when it arrived - it took so long to come - two evening meals took over an hour to arrive.
The ambiance is very corporate.
Pools unsupervised and as a result usual teenage bad behaviour.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ketpot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here two nights while visiting Yosemite. Very convenient to Yosemite and really beautiful well maintained grounds. One of the only hotels with air conditioning which was one of the reasons I chose it. Outdoor pool and jacuzzi were great, especially the adult only parts, even though I have kids, I liked being away from other splashing kids. Was a bit difficult to find a lounge chair in the afternoon after sightseeing in Yosemite. Had a cottage suite on the second floor which was very quiet, didn't even know we had neighbors. Not sure if they heard us going up and down the stairs. Ate at Jackalopes Grill one night. The food was very good, but a bit high-priced. Glad we didn't go for the Upscale restaurant. Also went to the Summerdale barbecue which was nice and rustic with activities for the kids including archery, horseshoes, karaoke and making smores by the fire. The concierge was very helpful in giving advice and making reservations. Overall an excellent place to stay while visiting Yosemite.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LindaGlenHead_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
19.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,721 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,966 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,230 reviews
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
18 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite

Address: 1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, CA 93623-9600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish Camp
Price Range: £148 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 48 acres in the southern High Sierra and just 2 miles from Yosemite, the Four-Diamond Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite offers easy access to all of Yosemite’s most alluring attractions and all the amenities expected from a luxury resort property. Tenaya boasts comfortable and spacious accommodations, Ascent – a luxurious 10,000 sq.foot spa, steam room, sauna, fitness room, three pools, five dining options, all-season recreation and a full-service concierge to help you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenaya Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel Fish Camp
Tenaya Hotel At Yosemite
Tenaya Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Tenaya Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing