We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake Fun”

Folsom Lake State Recreation Area
Ranked #6 of 31 things to do in Folsom
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park offers everything: a huge lake for all sorts of water activities and nature trails for hiking, walking and horseback riding.
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lake Fun”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Went here with my dad. Remember wishing that I could return with cash and friends for one of the lake boats they had for rent. It was hot the day we visited so bring lots of water in the summer. Not too crowded and nice water.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    12
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing, beautiful.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

First time in Sac and wasn't sure what I thought of it until Folsom Lake! For a second, I felt like I was in Africa or the middle east. The lake area was quiet and beautiful this time of year (fall). Nice place to relax and meditate. Saw some with their dogs and some on picnics. Not crowded when I went this past weekend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ranger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good boating lake”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Rented a boat here over holiday weekend and had a great time. Water is pretty clean and very warm. Ample parking and clean facilities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ohchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Sacramento Treasure”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We actually have a lake in Sacramento!!! Dam-made, and right in the middle of the burbs. Easy access, lots of water (til mid July when they lower the level). A great place for boating, picnics, and hiking. A good place to cool off during Sacramento's summer days.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank catinari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Many and varied facilities”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This SRA covers about twenty different areas, there are boat launches, picnic areas, swimming areas and river walks. Check with the rangers to find what you are looking for, as you could wander for days through all the different park areas they have!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zimagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Folsom Lake State Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Folsom Lake State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing