We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hop Sing Palace

Hop Sing Palace
Ranked #15 of 268 Restaurants in Folsom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lincoln CA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have eaten here several times and this time was the same as in the past. The service is excellent, you will be greeted and seated quickly with menu's and water waiting at the table. The food arrives quickly and the server is attentive while you eat. The food quality is good with good flavors. We had the Sweet & Sour Chicken with Shrimp Chow Mein along with the rice and tea they give you.

The S&S Chicken is really flavorful with Pineapple and crunchy Chicken pieces of good quality while the Chow Mein had fat noodles and plenty of large shrimp, all in all a very good meal.

We noticed the place was very clean with no dust or grease scum anywhere which usually means the kitchen will be clean too, an important thing. Our only minor complaints were that the food was just luke warm, it should have been hotter and I thought the flatware they used was really cheap and uncomfortable to use. The fork and spoon were so cheaply made that they had rough edges all around them because they are just super low cost Wal-Mart type Chinese imports that just didn't fit at all with the attempted lush décor.

While this is definitely not the best Chinese restaurant around we do eat her at times when in Folsom and will enjoy a second tasty meal with the leftovers we took home which effectively cuts the cost per meal in half, and that's good if your on a budget like we are.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dizzycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Family Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Best Egg Rolls EVER!!!
Love this restaurant! When family rolls into town, they expect to have a visit to Hop Sings. Excellent service, consistent food quality, and reasonable prices. How can you lose?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
“Hop Singh Palace Folsom Ca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family has been dining with Hop Sing for 5 generations now. The history of Folsom, the first west coast power house & dam sculptured from granite, the original granite prison, the railroad with granite ties, the Chinese fireworks, the hidden caves on the hillside, and the great food paints a picture seldom told. If the walls could talk! Bill and Lana Lam give wonderful service, their food is fabulous, and the building & atmosphere is here at Hop Sing Palace in Folsom CA. My favorite restaurant of all time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“When did they cook this food? Last week?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I am a Chinese food lover and I must say that this is the worst Chinese food I've ever had! We wasted $41.00 on garbage. We ordered egg rolls, potstickers, pork fried rice, chicken chow mein, sesame chicken, and sweet and sour pork. The food tasted like it was made with old ingredients and it was just plain bad. The sesame chicken had tomatoes in it. Why? The pork fried rice consisted of bland white rice and it looked as if pieces of pork were thrown in as an afterthought. The chow mein was bland as well. The sweet and sour pork wasn't good either. The portions are huge, but we couldn't even finish eating one serving because it tasted so bad. Even the fortune cookies were stale.
I would NEVER come back here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercurial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We've come here since Christ walked the earth!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We brought kids, grand kids and now our toddler great grand kids! Value is superb, owners and staff are most accommodating; they'll go the extra mile to make you feel pampered and all with a smile! We love it, homey atmosphere, unique in every way. They feed and treat you well here! We are local residents from the historic district, if you want real Chinese, go to Hop Sing's! The Platz-Zenak - Ericsson clan

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreambunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hop Sing Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing