We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essayer de français, mais pas français”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Reviewed 22 June 2014

How do you describe a place in Colmar, France? Nothing beats the Berjaya Group of making one instead.

The group definitely has gone there as well as replicate as much as they can in order to present a similar French Village at Bukit Tinggi, Pahang.

Welcome to Colmar Tropicale, which translates as Colmar at tropical weather.

I have been to Colmar Tropicale 3 times prior to this review, why only now I share this? TripAdvisor was not existed when I first went there :)

It is rather nice to drive, cycle or ride a bike to Bukit Tinggi, not that many cars or vehicles around, and the scenery is great.

Once you have arrived at the entrance of Colmar, there is an entrance fee of RM12 per pax. So, get ready to pay.

I love the architecture there, but it is seriously lacking in terms of refurbishing. But I guess the team is working on this.

All in all, a nice place to get away from Kuala Lumpur for a nice breath.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamuelTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear SamuelTan,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay here at Colmar Tropicale French Theme Resort.

For your information, this hotel was opened in year 2000 and was modelled after 16th century Colmar town, north east of Alsace, France. The resort incorporates architectural designs and elements from ancient surrounding villages of Riquewihr, Turckheim and Kaysersberg. The realization of this French themed village derived from the wish list of the Malaysia's fourth Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, who upon his visit to the region of Alsace were so impressed, that it inspired Tan Sri Vincent Tan, the founder of Berjaya Corporation Berhad to replicate the actual Colmar town in Malaysia.

Yes we are progressively doing refurbishment for our resort since this hotel was built 14 years ago. We would like to thank you again for your visit and we look forward to receive you again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management@Colmar Tropicale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

After reading few past review, has putting low expectations from the beginning. Easy excess from highway compare to Cameron highland as full with heavy vehicle.

Arrival is smooth as I has pre booked from the Web. There a polite tiny little local girl who are a arranging our room efficiently. Our room located at corner second floor of block E with tiny windows which we don't have much choice as said already full. Only take us about an hour to browse around and that's all. The area aren't so big but unique. There are more to see and try outside the hotel with shuttle provided

Pros:
Beautiful scenery with expanded choice of activities outside hotel. Has few selection of restaurant and bar with variety of style and prices. Staffs has shown very helpful and polite.

Cons:
To many in my mind but with RM 199++ should not expecting to high. Cleanliness is major issue especially in the room. Smelly probably because only 1 tiny window and washroom wall is disgusting. There are rubbish house outside near the main entrance shouldn't be placed there as the wind has blown the nasty aroma toward the entrance. Confuse with hotel theme as to many Filipinos staffs and also didn't see much of typical french cuisine. Even the dance performance should be a native french show instead of gangnam dance. Breakfast full with local cuisine which I can have everyday and anywhere. I think if someone from Colmar, France seeing this they will piss off. Imagine if french doing Malay village in france without showing our culture

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmemojitola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear gmemojitola,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and feedback with us.

While we are glad to know that your check in experience was good and you enjoyed the view of the beautiful scenery of our resort, we regret the inconveniences you faced in one of our room, however please be assured that we have notified the relevant team about the smell from the decompose house and action has been taken to resolve the issue.

Your note regarding hotel theme, stage shows and breakfast has been highlighted and we would like to thank you again for your recent visit.

We hope to receive you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
The Management@Colmar Tropicale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Maybe the management confuses between "rustic charm" and "abandoned".
It was an ad-hoc weekend getaway, which was understandably a busy period but still there were only two staff at reception doing check-out/in..there was a long line and each guest spent about 9 minutes (yes I timed it!) getting checked out/in. Understandably our room wasn't ready at noon and was told will be ready only by 2pm, at which a hotel staff will call us to notify. The call never came. We got our room at 5pm.
From afar the resort is beautifully designed with the French theme, almost picture perfect. Look closer, major parts of the resort were somehow neglected. Moldy walls, clogged drains, etc.
The room was fairly clean (except sticky floor and stained sofa), bed & pillows comfortable. TV has decent channels. Bath amenities lacking. No bathmat, only two towels & one hand towel, basic shampoo & bath gel. I expected more from the room price.
Good thing the breakfast buffet didn't disappoint, a large spread and good taste.
Everything else around the area comes with additional fees. Games (arcade etc) uses tokens at RM2/piece.
All in all we did enjoy the quiet time spent there, Colmar Tropicale is good enough for a night's stay but I cannot say it was worth the price. Agreed, the place is in bad need of a makeover.

Room Tip: suite in block E, a bit noisy til around 1130pm/midnite, from the bar on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RizwaNeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for the review RizwanHaneem,

We truly regretted the experience you had during check in. We will look in the matter to improve the service.

Your note regarding the hotel facilities has been highlighted to our team members and action is has been taken to improve the overall landscape and room condition.

We are glad to to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Colmar Tropicale and thank you again for your visit.

Best Regards,
The Management@Colmar Tropicale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We overnight in an one bedroom suite. I would recommend Colmar to make over their hotel. The furniture need to be renewed. The swimming pool is dirty, lack of maintenance. I do not know how my kid got the cut on her leg until she told me after the swim. I waited for more then 5 minutes for 3 towers, as no attendance standby at the counter.

The "one bedroom suite" - kitchen is merely a pantry with kettle, two glasses with two nescafe and sugars and a clogged sink. It comes without even a small stove or oven. No need to hope for a small refrigerator, which is the basic requirement for a basic hotel room. And i was expecting a "one bedroom suite" service and facilities which i paid for.

Check in - The check in time is 3pm. I was queueing for more then half hour just to check in. I admit i started to queue earlier, but i think the hotel shouldn't be stingy with the few minutes check in when they see four long lines at the lobby (it was sunny and hot at that hour for whose queuing under the hot sun, i am inside the lobby however, which comes hot and stuffy. I was disappointed. Keep telling myself, wrong selection.

There were no extra bed even i had requested it during reservation and while checking-in. I was requested to call the room service by myself to add the extra bed after my "request", which i am paying extra RM80 for it. I called twice and we get the extra bed around the evening. I felt like it was my job, disappointed. Moreover, the lobby is not very near to our "one bedroom suite". Colmar Tropicale is a big Hotel Resort.

However, i should admit that my kids like the 2 TVs that comes with Astro, it occupied my kid time in the room with their cartoons, and HBO for my husband while i was relaxing in the bathtub for a while. My kids did have fun with the bathtub.

Sorry if it sound disappointed.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeaQubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Phoebe_Travel,

Many thanks for staying with us and sharing your constructive feedback, which will certainly assist us in upgrading our service levels.

Thank you for your suggestions, yes we are in the process of upgrading our rooms and facilities at this moment. We perused your concern relating to the swimming pool and regret the inconvenience caused, we will investigate why there was no staff attending the pool counter. We are sorry to know about the cut, we could have attended to your daughter's injury immediately when you approached any of our staff.

thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback regarding hotel lobby, the team has been notified and we have implemented improvement process. About the extra bed, we will take corrective actions wherever necessary.

We truly regret the inconvenience that you had to face and assure you of a much enhanced experience the next time you visit us.

Best Regards,
The Management@Colmar Tropicale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Disappointed with the place. The toilets in the reception area is super dirty and smelly. Why such company tolerate uncleanliness? For a hotel cleanliness is a must but seems they dont care about it. The Japanese village/botanical garden nothing much.... the rooms were just fine. Staff were too busy and trying their best to give out the atmost service they can give. To the management please do something with the cleanliness!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Beth A,

First and foremost, we thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip and sharing your experience here on this public platform.

Please allow us to explain that we do not tolerate uncleanliness to all our hotel facilities, we take serious measure to ensure every area of the hotel are kept clean and tidy at all times. We understand your distress and assure you that provisions will be made to avoid such instances in future.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you with our renewed services.

Best Regards,
The Management@Colmar Tropicale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Ridiculous booking procedure when hotel staff ask for credit card number, details, date, screen shot front and back.
Hotel staff not trained too cater huge crowd. Slow in housekeeping and check-in procedure too long.
The rooms are old and stuffy with worn out furniture. The Air-conditioning are not working properly and some louvres are broken.
Food at breakfast buffet taste good but slow in refill (again poor large crowd management)
Room rates a bit pricey.

Room Tip: 2 room suite provide both view, you can enjoy forest and street view in same unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaniffZain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear HaniffZain,

Thank you for your recent visit to Colmar Tropicale.

We apologize if we have caused any inconvenience during your booking. Please be advised that this is done to avoid complications between hotel and financial institution.

We take note of the slow service during extra peak seasons and we hope you will accept our sincere apologies for this situation as we were running back to back situation to prepare more than 200 rooms within 3 hours after the previous guests have check out. We also have notified the F&B team regarding your experience during breakfast.

We thank you for the custom and look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
The Management@Colmar Tropicale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hospitality is very bad. The guards face look like hell, not even single smile in face.

The stage show was not suitable for kids (kind of belly dancing - check in on 4th Jun 2014 ). But I believe the show will be change from time to time.

There was argument between me and manager on duty while on check-out process whereby she simply said that the package price given to me the day before was not correct. Other than me also one old lady also shouting at them for just to know the package offered. Like i said before this due to very bad hospitality. The front office just look like gangster to me.

I would like to suggest this resort to improve more on how to speak to people. They must understand that some of guest just gone trough long distant journey and they should not expect will be welcoming with very horrible faces. Other thing, please screen the show that going to be performed, is it suitable for kids?! For the package, please print upfront, agreed and signed, so no argument afterward.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mailmatnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJAbdul, Manager at Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mailmatnor,

Thank you for choosing to stay Colmar Tropicale and share your experience at Tripadvisor.

Thank you for highlighting the attitude of the security guard, we have notified the team to take necessary action. We also regret that you find the stage performance not suitable for kids, and we have shared your opinion with the management team as well. For your information, we will rotate performance for time to time in order to offer wide range of entertainments to our guest.

We like to apologise for the experience between you with our staff and be rest assured we will investigate on the matter. We always emphasize to our staffs to deliver good service and offer great hospitality to our guest.

Hope this incident will not mar you from visiting us again and hope to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,
The Management@Colmar Tropicale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukit Tinggi
3.5 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#5 of 12 in Genting Highlands
2,929 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 12 in Genting Highlands
263 reviews
3.6 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 12 in Genting Highlands
475 reviews
16.2 mi away
Lavana Hotel
Lavana Hotel
#1 of 6 in Batu Caves
5 reviews
16.3 mi away
Worldview Grand Hotel
Worldview Grand Hotel
#163 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills

Address: KM48, Persimpangan Bertingkat Lebuhraya Karak, Bukit Tinggi 28750, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Bukit Tinggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bukit Tinggi
Price Range: £40 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colmar Tropicale was modeled after 16th century Colmar town, north east of Alsace, France, also incorporatingarchitectural designs and elements from ancient surrounding villages of Riquewihr, Turckheim and Kaysersberg. The realization of this French themed village derived from the wish list of the Malaysia's fourth Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad, who upon his visit to the region of Alsace were so impressed, that it inspired Tan Sri Vincent Tan, the founder of Berjaya Corporation Berhad to replicate the actual Colmar town in Malaysia.The resort comprised of 235 rooms and suites, offers 8 food & beverage outlets / lounges with food variety ranging from local & international cuisine to an authentic French fine dining restaurant. It also offers meeting rooms and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills - Malaysia Hotel Bentung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing