We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast in Heaven”
Review of Farmhouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence
Napa
1 review
“Breakfast in Heaven”
Reviewed 27 November 2007

What a great place to celebrate an anniversary, special birthday, or just a great getaway. The restaurant for dinner is fabulous but nothing compares to their breakfast that are uniquely divine. The rooms are cozy and it's proximity to the best wineries in California make The Farmhouse Inn a great destination every day of the week.
Just wished we could have stayed longer, but why worry about it, because we plan to come back soon. :)

  • Liked — cozy and beautiful setting
  • Disliked — restaurant corkage fee ($35)
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    84
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
551
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2007

Totally enjoyable experience staying at this Inn, located in prime location within the Russian River wine country. Far enough from Freeway 101 to be quiet, but centrally located to wineries, Russian River, restaurants, and the coast. Incredibly helpful and friendly staff. Immaculate rooms which are tastefully decorated and comfortable. Comfortable beds, fireplace, large bathroom, thick towels, jacuzzi, flat screen television, music playing as you entered your room...what more do you want? Incredible breakfast served each morning.....and, you can eat and get on with your day, or linger in the cozy dining room....they let YOU decide. Take one day and don't get in your car. Walk the roads which run along vineyards; lay by the pool; have dinner in the dining room; watch one of their DVD's. Staff very helpful with winery suggestions, dinner reservations, etc. If you like to treat yourself to something special, you just found the place. I can be critical, but could not find one thing this Inn could do better. Go there and see for yourself.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelCatCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2007

We went to Sonoma Valley to celebrate a birthday and spend time wine tasting. We booked at The Farmhouse Inn based on a recommendation from a friend of ours. We stayed in room #10, located in the Farmhouse, and our room was stunning! We took full advantage of all of their amenities and had a memorable weekend. The restaurant is supurb, the waitstaff gracious and their sommelier very knowledgeable. They even packed up the wine we didn't ship and shipped it for us. The Farmhouse Inn is a destination!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — None to list
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SEAWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, IL
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

November 1-4, 2007
Was it the romantic stop in Sausalito on the way to Forestville?
Was it the picture perfect weather?
Was it the fact that we never had to put on the top of our convertible?
Was it the awe-inspiring scenery that reminded us of our years in Northwest New Jersey?
Was it the warm welcome of Catherine when we arrived at the Inn?
Was it the comfortable yet upscale accommodations of our cottage?
You can pick things apart, as others have done on this site - but some journeys are meant to unfold naturally, and without judgement - and that is exactly what we experienced. A true connection with the staff at the Inn - never overbearing, always helpful (we planned a balloon ride, which never happened due to early AM fog - but Catherine made sure we had granola, yogurt and coffee in our room the evening before - wake up was 6:30am for the ride....)
We were in room #7 -- highly recommend this cottage. Plenty of room - separate closet, living room, comfy couch, woodburning fireplace, the most comfy bed...deep silvery, purple walls, brown accents - loved the quotes on the walls.
Ate the Inn our first night - wonderful food and service. Andreas was hard to read at first, but we warmed up to him in the coming days. Robert was very, very helpful directing us to wineries in the area. Geoff was professional and knew his WINE!
My husband's favorite part of our 3-night stay were the breakfasts. Fresh and fulfilling is an understatement.
Ginny's recommendations to go to Armstrong Woods and Gary Farrell's tasting room was how we started our first full-day.
Made our way to Healdsburg - ate at Charcutrie - great local place for lunch. Picked up some wine and cheese from the Oakville Grocery. Had a couples massage back at the Inn. The Farmhouse Classic --- what a relaxing way to end the afternoon and start the evening...
Enjoyed wine & cheese by the fire in our room... went to Mosaic for dinner. Excellent - highly recommend.
Enjoyed a Saturday of wine tasting in the area - many wineries suggested by Robert and Geoff.
Undecided about dinner this night - so we went to Underwood and sat at the bar -- tapas and BEER!
What we loved about the Farmhouse....
Lit a fire each morning and evening... great dry wood with firestarters.
Awesome breakfasts....
Husband used the sauna twice per day
Great shower - hot, hot water....
Extremely clean, comfortable, room - hats off to housekeeping!
Wonderful concierge (thanks Ginny!)
Lit a fire outside in the firepit - enjoyed wine & cheese outdoors at dusk.... Thanks Andreas for the great Italian white wine!
Milk and cookies...
ONLY complaint...more of a suggestion....
although we had a coffee maker in the room upon request, we would have liked the Inn's coffee service to be offered earlier. With many people traveling from other time-zones, it's hard to wait until 8:15am for that first cup of coffee. Also, with the early coffee service, some scones or light pastry would have been nice.
We were not affected by the road. We slept with the windows open all three nights and it was never a problem.
We look forward to many more visits at the Farmhouse. We love that Catherine and Joe are living their dream. Their attention to detail and care for their guests and employees shines through.
Thank you for a memorable sojurn....
-Janice & Chuck
Libertyville, IL

  • Liked — Breakfasts, Cottage #7, helpful staff, spa
  • Disliked — morning coffee service earlier
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineBartolomei, owner at Farmhouse Inn, responded to this review, 25 January 2008
We're listening! As of January 1st, 2008 we've added a 6am coffee service. Coffee is now available all day- starting at 6:00 each morning. Hope to see you soon!!
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2007

My husband and I just returned from four glorious days in Sonoma county. The Farmhouse Inn was the perfect backdrop for our adventure. Every morning following a delicious and generous breakfast, someone from staff would spend time with us giving us ideas and details for a fun day.....trips to the coast and Highway 1, Armstrong Woods, and insider advice on wineries and restaurants. Our room was even better than we imagined with very nice amenities, feather bed, woodburning fireplace, sauna, jacuzzi, bottles of wine (for purchase....we did!), homemade cookies and milk for bedtime. All the little details were covered making us feel as though we were staying in a friend's guest room. They also handled the shipment of our wine home for us....nice touch. The Farmhouse Inn is ideally located, and we spent every funfilled day within 30 minutes of the Inn. River Road is a very busy street, but it did quiet down at night. We kept the soothing mix CD left in our room playing the entire time and that took our minds off the passing cars. Sonoma county, it's vineyards, mountains, redwoods and coast are stunning! We can't wait to return, and I don't think we'd find a place we love as much as the Farmhouse Inn!

William and Daphne Malone
Camden, Alabama

  • Liked — Ideal location, helpful and friendly staff, luxury accomodation and cuisine.
  • Disliked — Traffic on River Road.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daphnemalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lees Summit, MO
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We have visited the Farmhouse Inn three times now ~ and
hope that we can go back soon! We booked late enough that
we could only get one of the smaller cottages this time ~ however, we loved our cozy room, the comfy bed, the woodburning fireplace, the spacious bathroom and jacuzzi tub, and the beautiful furnishings. Eating at the Farmhouse restaurant is always a treat ~ an extraordinary dining experience! The food is superb ~ get the rabbit dish, for sure ~ and help from Geoff on wine pairing is worth taking advantage of! My husband was not disappointed in the cheese plate dessert ~ and, as always, we really were impressed with the service, from Andreas on down to the busboys. The Farmhouse Inn is a treasure in beautiful Sonoma Valley wine country.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skmadkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, CA
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2007

My husband planned an incredibly romantic birthday weekend for me at The Farmhouse Inn. Our cottage was delightful from the sitting room with wood burning fireplace, on through the bedroom with comfy featherbed, and oversized bathroom/dressing room with jetted tub and sauna. Service was excellent, breakfast was well prepared and generous, and my birthday dinner at the Farmhouse restaurant left nothing to be desired. Would we go back? You bet!

  • Liked — wonderful accomodations in a beautifuil setting.
  • Disliked — no downside
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestville
8.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
484 reviews
9.0 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
8.3 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,434 reviews
19.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
8.5 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn

Property: Farmhouse Inn
Address: 7871 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436-9494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmhouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Russian River Valley of Sonoma, the Farmhouse experience is an authentic wine country haven of stylish comfort, hand crafted amenities, and attention to every detail. We are surrounded by world class wineries and 100's of acres of vineyards. Our unique West County locations offers an incredible wine country experience with the added benefits of the majestic redwood forest and the breathtaking Sonoma Coast all within miles of the resort. With only 25 rooms we pride ourselves on the Inn’s intimacy and privacy, creating a feeling of visiting a private estate. Once at the resort you can enjoy our 11 year awarded Michelin-starred restaurant featuring the best of Sonoma dining and surrender to our Farm-to-Table Spa with customized, hand crafted rituals using ingredients from our fruit, flower and herb gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Farmhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn Sonoma County/Forestville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing