We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
586
90
38
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
90
38
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showerrabbitbath saltsrussian river valleywine countryfire pitheated floorswine pairingcookiesbath barconcierge staffmichelin star restaurantgraham crackersindoor outdoor fireplaceroad noiseturn down servicebarn rooms
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Farmhouse Inn over Valentine's weekend and were floored by the service, amenities, food, and quality of this place. We did not have a personal recommendation to stay here - just went off of the website, great reviews online, and the friendly staff that we spoke to. Everything went beyond our expectations and provided a special, intimate weekend.

We LOVED our room above the restaurant and booked another weekend upon checkout. The room was cozy with one of the most comfortable beds that either of us have ever slept in. The bathroom was spacious, had heated floors, provided all the necessities, and gave both of us room to spread out our things. The double head steam showers are incredible. There was a gas fireplace that turned on with a flick of a switch - made waking up much easier with the fire going!

Breakfast was a two-course meal, unlimited coffee/tea/juice, and on-site so we could eat before heading out for the day. Every ingredient is fresh, local, and paired so well with the other ingredients. Again, we were very impressed and could get used to eating there every morning.

My favorite part about Farmhouse Inn is the consistency in service and quality from the concierges, spa attendants, personal room attendants, wait staff, and grounds keepers. We came home from our days out to a beautiful turn down service, fresh baked cookies, the fire lit and mood music set. The concierge team was FANTASTIC and took care of each need and all activity scheduling.

Needless to say, this place was beautiful, romantic, very impressionable, and a special experience for us. I hope that others have such a positive time at the Farmhouse Inn - we can't wait to return and hopefully bring a few friends with us so they too can experience such a beautiful place.

Room Tip: For one couple, the rooms above the restaurant are a great value. Intimate and cozy with a view of the pool, garden, and "backyard." Plus, you just walk down a flight of stairs for morning coffee and the restaurant.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank otis_c_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a great weekend spent at the Farmhouse Inn. No detail is overlooked, from s'mores at night, wonderful bath products, cookies and milk before bed.... If you want to be spoiled, this is the place to visit. The breakfasts are delicious- pancakes, yogurt and granola, delicious pastries.... You really can't go wrong with a stay here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AllAboutAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas holidays and had a mixed experience. Guest services staff are outstanding. The restaurant, and breakfast in particular are also outstanding. Decor of the suites in the barn are charming. But given the premium price, we found some things lacking. The plumbing fixtures were not terrific quality, shower was either scalding hot or cold. Steam shower was not operating as it should. Soundproofing was non-existent, we could here every footfall and toilet flush from the suite above us. Our patio was covered in rust stains--not picturesque.

When making the reservation we agreed to move to a downgraded suite mid-trip because the Inn was sold out. This is where things really went downhill. The room we were moved to was outdated, small, dark, cramped, cold, with lots of road noise from the highway. The room wasn't worth a fraction of what we were being charged. We learned that the remainder of the Inn had been booked by a wedding party, and the thought of being in a miserable room and being outsiders to a private (and potentially loud) party made the surroundings even less appealing. Thankfully guest services saved the day. They were kind enough to waive the 100% cancellation charges for the remaining nights (as they should), and also found us a suite in a nearby town. We ended up being very happy with the new place.

Again, can't say enough good about the guest services staff and the restaurant. We stay in a lot of high-end places, and by comparison the suites here come up short. But guest services did the right thing in finding us an alternative and waiving cancellation charges.

Room Tip: If you stay here, only consider a suite in the barn.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chicag0AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmhouse Conci... S, Manager at Farmhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We appreciate and read every review posted on Trip Advisor- our guests’ feedback is invaluable to us and helps us make improvements. The wonderful comment about our Guest Services and Restaurant teams reinforces what we already knew- they’re the best at what they do.
Part of that outstanding service is making sure all our guests are happy. In this case we even waived our very firm cancellation policy as we knew that the guest would be extremely unhappy if they continued to stay with us.
As this review states, this guest was aware that they’d be moving to a much smaller room and that we did have a group here. The group was here for a celebration and since they were all traveling internationally, they had booked their rooms several months in advance. When we took this reservation we did make the circumstances clear to this guest. As a rule, we do not move our guests from a large room to a smaller one, as the results never seem to be satisfying, as is clear in this case. But they assured us that moving rooms would not be an issue for them.
This guest was booked into a Barn Suite for the first few nights, undoubtedly the most luxurious, newest and most spacious of our rooms at 700 square feet. The guest then moved into one of our Heritage Rooms. As stated, they were aware that they’d be moving to a room that was half the size and wasn’t new construction. The Heritage Rooms are still some of our favorite on the property, historic and charming- we love the wood burning fireplace, redwood dry sauna and rain shower. However, we understand that they aren’t for everyone and that when you’ve been in a Barn room they do feel quite different.
We try to be as upfront as we can but we understand that without being here in person it is hard to fully understand what moving rooms might mean. Again, we appreciate all feedback and will take into consideration all review comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We visited this restaurant last Saturday at the recommendation of my sister (who was with me) and who knows a few of the Sommeliers there. We were not disappointed.

What a wonderful atmosphere the restaurant has created. Its not too large and feels more like sitting in somebody's dining room at home. The staff are very professional and attentive. I often find that high end restaurants (and I have visited many) in their quest to give great service, often become too overwhelming and when you are in the middle of a conversation and there are continuous interruptions, this can become annoying. It appears the staff have been taught how to gauge when or when not is an appropriate time to interrupt and just went about their service without us noticing, yet provided outstanding service.

The food… well, what can I say? Amazing. The starter selection made it a difficult choice but we all chose well. For the main course; it has been years since I had venison as I often find it "too gamey". Not the case here. Cooked to perfection with a delicious jus accompanying it with fresh vegetables and spaetzle made exactly how it should be made. The lemon dessert trio was incredible and an absolute must is to savour the home made vanilla ice cream with salt caramel.

All in all. An excellent experience and a place I can confidently recommend to other people. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank lisawhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

No question this place is right at the top of the list of the top dining spots in Sonoma. Everything about the place is great. The food is exquisitely prepared and each dish is accompanied by perfectly paired and interesting sides. Excellent service and a well chosen wine list, with excellent guidance from the attentive and knowledgeable sommelier make dining here a pleasure. Had the rabbit, the venison, the duck entree's... all superb! VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank WINEandTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews