We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really amazing dinner”
Review of Farmhouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

If you are ever going to be in the Russian River Valley, you must at least have a meal at this great place. I was looking forward to this dinner since the time I booked it. And it was everything I could hope for and more. My wife and I enjoyed every moment. It feels like you're entering somebody's home and you are treated that way as well. Attentive service without being annoying. The meal in itself was sooooooooo good. All four courses stood out on their own. But the "rabbit, rabbit, rabbit" main course.....OMG deliciousness!!! I know there will be return visits when we visit wine country!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank sjbmaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Farmhouse Inn is one of a kind. We visited on Valentines day weekend, and were completely blown away. The lead concierge, Anna helped me schedule everything from the wineries we toured to the chocolates, cheese, champagne and flowers that were waiting in the room for us. She went above and beyond chatting with me over the phone several times the weeks before we came up, to make sure that everything was perfect.

When we made the trip up, we were welcomed with champagne and open arms as if we were old friends or regulars and I was so very impressed by that. The Heritage Suite that we called home that weekend was absolutely unrivaled. It was a comfortable, spacious and quiet little cottage, perfect for much needed R & R. We had dinner, both nights at the Farmhouse Restaurant because it was that good, from the service to the food I have never had such a completely perfect experience. My mouth salivates every time I think about the menu! It is obvious that they strive to create a top notch, one of a kind getaway experience/destination at Farmhouse Inn. Visiting Farmhouse Inn will be at the least, an annual trip for us. Ideally we would spend every weekend up there. Thank you so much Farmhouse Team! See you soon.

Room Tip: Try and stay in one of the the Heritage Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We cannot say enough good things about the Farmhouse, we just came back from our third year in a row of visiting there and it has exceeded our expectations every time. The appointments of the rooms are beautiful and tasteful and the ambience completely captures the essence of Sonoma wine country. The restaurant is phenomenal from food to service, and it is farm to table so it changes all the time.

The owners and staff have created a place that allows you to truly vacate from your life and its routines and to experience the salt of the earth joys of an agrarian community all the while being in an incredibly luxurious environment. Worth every penny that we paid, and you better believe we will be going back again next year.

Room Tip: There is no bad room at the Farmhouse, but the barn rooms are bigger and elevated at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnyMay02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Heading to CA for our 3rd stay at Farmhouse Inn.
It is a "must do" for us each year. For us, it is the place to go the pace we want for that day.
The food - AMAZING!
The staff - More AMAZING!!
The rooms - Calm, peaceful, restful, romantic, and private with all the amenities and views one would wish.
The location - Out of the way and NON-touristy! SPECTACULAR!!!
...and by the way, BEST WEDDING PLANNERS EVER ~
See you soon Farmhouse Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Farmhouse Inn over Valentine's weekend and were floored by the service, amenities, food, and quality of this place. We did not have a personal recommendation to stay here - just went off of the website, great reviews online, and the friendly staff that we spoke to. Everything went beyond our expectations and provided a special, intimate weekend.

We LOVED our room above the restaurant and booked another weekend upon checkout. The room was cozy with one of the most comfortable beds that either of us have ever slept in. The bathroom was spacious, had heated floors, provided all the necessities, and gave both of us room to spread out our things. The double head steam showers are incredible. There was a gas fireplace that turned on with a flick of a switch - made waking up much easier with the fire going!

Breakfast was a two-course meal, unlimited coffee/tea/juice, and on-site so we could eat before heading out for the day. Every ingredient is fresh, local, and paired so well with the other ingredients. Again, we were very impressed and could get used to eating there every morning.

My favorite part about Farmhouse Inn is the consistency in service and quality from the concierges, spa attendants, personal room attendants, wait staff, and grounds keepers. We came home from our days out to a beautiful turn down service, fresh baked cookies, the fire lit and mood music set. The concierge team was FANTASTIC and took care of each need and all activity scheduling.

Needless to say, this place was beautiful, romantic, very impressionable, and a special experience for us. I hope that others have such a positive time at the Farmhouse Inn - we can't wait to return and hopefully bring a few friends with us so they too can experience such a beautiful place.

Room Tip: For one couple, the rooms above the restaurant are a great value. Intimate and cozy with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank otis_c_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a great weekend spent at the Farmhouse Inn. No detail is overlooked, from s'mores at night, wonderful bath products, cookies and milk before bed.... If you want to be spoiled, this is the place to visit. The breakfasts are delicious- pancakes, yogurt and granola, delicious pastries.... You really can't go wrong with a stay here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AllAboutAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas holidays and had a mixed experience. Guest services staff are outstanding. The restaurant, and breakfast in particular are also outstanding. Decor of the suites in the barn are charming. But given the premium price, we found some things lacking. The plumbing fixtures were not terrific quality, shower was either scalding hot or cold. Steam shower was not operating as it should. Soundproofing was non-existent, we could here every footfall and toilet flush from the suite above us. Our patio was covered in rust stains--not picturesque.

When making the reservation we agreed to move to a downgraded suite mid-trip because the Inn was sold out. This is where things really went downhill. The room we were moved to was outdated, small, dark, cramped, cold, with lots of road noise from the highway. The room wasn't worth a fraction of what we were being charged. We learned that the remainder of the Inn had been booked by a wedding party, and the thought of being in a miserable room and being outsiders to a private (and potentially loud) party made the surroundings even less appealing. Thankfully guest services saved the day. They were kind enough to waive the 100% cancellation charges for the remaining nights (as they should), and also found us a suite in a nearby town. We ended up being very happy with the new place.

Again, can't say enough good about the guest services staff and the restaurant. We stay in a lot of high-end places, and by comparison the suites here come up short. But guest services did the right thing in finding us an alternative and waiving cancellation charges.

Room Tip: If you stay here, only consider a suite in the barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chicag0AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmhouse Conci... S, Manager at Farmhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We appreciate and read every review posted on Trip Advisor- our guests’ feedback is invaluable to us and helps us make improvements. The wonderful comment about our Guest Services and Restaurant teams reinforces what we already knew- they’re the best at what they do.
Part of that outstanding service is making sure all our guests are happy. In this case we even waived our very firm cancellation policy as we knew that the guest would be extremely unhappy if they continued to stay with us.
As this review states, this guest was aware that they’d be moving to a much smaller room and that we did have a group here. The group was here for a celebration and since they were all traveling internationally, they had booked their rooms several months in advance. When we took this reservation we did make the circumstances clear to this guest. As a rule, we do not move our guests from a large room to a smaller one, as the results never seem to be satisfying, as is clear in this case. But they assured us that moving rooms would not be an issue for them.
This guest was booked into a Barn Suite for the first few nights, undoubtedly the most luxurious, newest and most spacious of our rooms at 700 square feet. The guest then moved into one of our Heritage Rooms. As stated, they were aware that they’d be moving to a room that was half the size and wasn’t new construction. The Heritage Rooms are still some of our favorite on the property, historic and charming- we love the wood burning fireplace, redwood dry sauna and rain shower. However, we understand that they aren’t for everyone and that when you’ve been in a Barn room they do feel quite different.
We try to be as upfront as we can but we understand that without being here in person it is hard to fully understand what moving rooms might mean. Again, we appreciate all feedback and will take into consideration all review comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestville
8.3 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
583 reviews
9 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
8.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,667 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
19.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse Inn

Address: 7871 River Rd, Forestville, CA 95436-9494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Forestville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forestville
Price Range: £389 - £734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmhouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Russian River Valley of Sonoma, the Farmhouse experience is an authentic wine country haven of stylish comfort, hand crafted amenities, and attention to every detail. We are surrounded by world class wineries and 100's of acres of vineyards. Our unique West County locations offers an incredible wine country experience with the added benefits of the majestic redwood forest and the breathtaking Sonoma Coast all within miles of the resort. With only 25 rooms we pride ourselves on the Inn’s intimacy and privacy, creating a feeling of visiting a private estate. Once at the resort you can enjoy our 11 year awarded Michelin-starred restaurant featuring the best of Sonoma dining and surrender to our Farm-to-Table Spa with customized, hand crafted rituals using ingredients from our fruit, flower and herb gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Farmhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Inn And Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant Hotel Forestville
Farmhouse Inn Sonoma County/Forestville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing