We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at AMAZING value”
Review of Shoreline Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shoreline Cottages
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at AMAZING value”
Reviewed 25 June 2008

My husband and I decided to escape the city and stayed at the charming Shoreline cottages. All the cottages have themes - we stayed in the "Bird cottage." It was adorable with little bird houses as decor. There was a separate kitchen and even a separate carport for our SUV, both very convenient. A friendly young couple owns the hotel and they are available 24/7. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants and recreation. They seemed very detail-oriented - the place was spotless and they anticipated our questions. They informed us that they are in the process of updating and renovating the rooms. Also, even though the place was fully booked, you wouldn't know it by the quiet surroundings and the owners' attentiveness. The great thing about staying in the cottage is that each cottage is separated by a carport so we didn't hear any of our neighbors and were surprised that all the rooms were occupied. And it was surprisingly cheap! Nearby hotels were asking more than twice as much for just a room. For the money, we will definitely be coming back.

  • Liked — Quietness
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoeandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    104
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
130
240
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Californian
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2008

This is a very cute place. We stayed in the shell cottage. It appears that all the cottages have been re-decorated. But not remodeled, very dated . The bathroom is very small and narrow. The kitchenette is good sized and so is the room. This place would be better if they would upgrade the double bed to a queen bed and take some room out of the kitchenette to enlarge the bathroom. The room was clean and the check in was smooth. Friendly staff and the grounds are nicely kept. Hint, they need a screen on the rooms front window for the room does get stuffy. Did not feel secure enough to leave window open during the night. Great for a small family to stay if they wanted to save on dinners out.

  • Liked — The individual cottages
  • Disliked — The bed and small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CalifornianPassenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siafred, Owner at Shoreline Cottages, responded to this review, 1 July 2008
As one of the owners, I would just like to briefly respond to this review. All of our rooms have queen size beds (not double). As new owners, we also are planning to remodel all rooms over the next year to include larger showers for those units with small showers (only 3 rooms of the 11 have the smaller showers). During the remodeling, we also plan to add new windows (with screens). Thank you for the comments as we are continually trying to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2008

My brother treated my husband and me to a weekend at the Shoreline Cottages. We had never been to Fort Bragg or Mendocino before, but this was definitely a perfect location to visit this part of the coast! We were between Mendocino to the South and MacKerricher State Park to the North, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. The cottage was right off the highway only a couple of blocks away from the Mendocino Botanical Gardens, which we explored on our first day. We saw the baby seals at MacKerricher, but if you go during that time of year, remember to bring your binoculars!

The cottages are separated by car ports, so you are distanced from your "neighbors" but not too far apart. Our cottage was very clean and cozy. We had a queen bed, kitchen, bathroom, and electric fireplace. Each cottage has a themed interior (ours was the dolphin room). The owners are considering dropping the themes, which is something we could do without. There was another group staying there for a family reunion and abalone diving, and we saw that they made good use of the the firepit and picnic benches. Other highlights included tall coastal trees at the center of the parking lot and free WiFi.

We drove into old town Fort Bragg for breakfast in the mornings, and had dinner at Piaci Pub and Pizzaria. We loved this pizza place. Excellent food and great beer selection - they are serious connoisseurs there!

We had an amazing weekend with perfect weather, yummy food and great lodging.

  • Liked — Location was convenient and perfectly situation between Mendocino and MacKerricher State Park.
  • Disliked — The room themes.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank toomanyfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at Shoreline Cottages. I love the privacy of the individuals cottages and that ours had a kitchenette. Our room had all the amenities that we needed and I was constantly pleased by the little details, such as the nice kitchenware, decorations on the walls, postcards on the small table, etc. You can tell that the owners took a lot of thought into insuring that visitors were comfortable. I had the feeling that I never left home.

The staff was great, very nice and were very accommodating. They were very patient and pleasant when I had to call several times for directions because I took a different route than I had planned (plus I left my directions at home).

The location is only about a 5-10 minute drive from downtown Mendocino and it's right across the street from the ocean.

We only were able to stay one night, but are already planning another trip to stay longer. I am looking forward to my next stay!

  • Liked — The prime location to Mendocino
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank webpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2008

We went for a weekend get away with the kids and found the Shoreline Cottages a great place to stay with children. The location was great too. We had a great time. I'm sure we'll be repeat customers.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beegalaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
3.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
337 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
213 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Cottages

Property: Shoreline Cottages
Address: 18725 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline Cottages - where coastal history meets modern comfort. This beautiful property is located on Highway 1 - between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. It is adjacent to the beach and many regional attractions, including state parks, beaches, and more! The pet-friendly rooms include cottages with full kitchens and a queen bed (2 have fireplaces) and standard rooms with 2 queen beds, and are located around a lovely park area with trees, grass, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shoreline Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Cottages Hotel Fort Bragg
Shoreline Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing