We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find on northern California coast”
Review of Shoreline Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shoreline Cottages
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find on northern California coast”
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I had the good fortune to stay at this wonderful place for 5 days. Cabins are the cleanest I have ever seen. Can use this as a base to travel to the wine country, Mendocino, many fun things to do kayaking, walking on a 10 mile white sand beach, fresh fish in Noyo Harbor (5 minutes away). Bring your dogs, it's pet friendly with little baskets of biscuits, towel and bowl in your room for Fido. Very reasonable, owners are very into customer satisfaction and will accomodate what ever is needed. I will return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiethecaterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    102
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
127
235
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This is our second time we have stayed at the Shoreline Cottages and absolutely love it there! We have two large dogs so finding a place that will accommodate us in addition to being clean, comfortable and relaxing is very important.
Our first stay was in one of the standard rooms last December and our most recent stay was in the birdhouse cottage. Both times we felt we had plenty of room for both of us plus our two dogs. We really liked having the extra amenities of a kitchen in the cottage. The other thing we liked was not having to share a wall with anyone and having covered parking. We felt like we had our own little private spot even though there were people right next door. The rooms were extremely clean and it was very quiet there even though all the units were full.

Also, there are a lot of things to do in the area - so far we have gone wine tasting, sea kayaking, to the beach with our dogs (literally across the street and such a beautiful private beach area and the dogs loved every second of it!!) and to the Botanical Gardens (you can bring your dogs to this too) - a must see.
The owners were extremely friendly and helpful to us. They gave us great tips on where to eat and what to do in the area. They had done some upgrading and renovating since our last stay and the place looks great!! We can't wait to go back and stay in one of the new suites!!
We highly recommend the Shoreline Cottages!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZKZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a touring holiday. We had picked this location based on tripadvisor report s and , all in all , we were not disappointed. The cottage was very well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. However , it was just a bit too small. We made the mistake of deciding to eat in with a pizza to cook in the oven - completely missing the fact that whatever you cook in kitchen will be with you in the "en-suite" bedroom. The proximity to the road can also be an issue (I used ear plugs) so it may be best to seek out one of the cottages farther from the road than the one we had - No 2.
We did enjoy our stay and it may work out better and more cost effective over more days than a single one.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We were looking for a quiet peaceful getaway. This was not it. The room was very cute and we liked all the little touches but its very tiny and when you open the door to the room everyone can see you unless you are in the bathroom. Our biggest problem was the noise from the highway. It never stopped and was very noisy. We couldn't stay 2 nights and had to move. Not a peaceful place. The grounds were lovely but its right on the highway - no view, no ocean noise and no privacy.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siafred, Owner at Shoreline Cottages, responded to this review, 19 May 2009
Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate all feedback and comments.

Because Shoreline Cottages is conveniently located on Highway 1, there is a little traffic noise during the day, but by 8-9 pm, all road noise is very minimal. Fort Bragg is a small town where most everything closes by 9 pm and virtually all noise has dissapeared. To filter the noise even more for the future, we do plan on adding noise filtering plants to the front of the property.

In terms of privacy, all rooms look onto a common garden area, but it is virtually impossible for anyone on the outside to see inside the cottages. This is the first issue we have ever heard about privacy. Most guests actually feel very private since each cottage stands on its own and does not share walls.

In terms of the the lack of ocean sounds...although we are not right on the beach, we are less than a 5-minute walk from the beach. We have never stated that we are oceanside, but we are very close. In this area, most hotels are on the E side of Highway 1.

Thank you again for your feedback as we continually trying to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We have stayed here before, and we like the Shoreline Cottages. The rooms are uniquely decorated and mostly new inside. The owners obviously take pride in their property but with the latest price increase, this motel is no longer a good value. These are very tiny rooms, with no pool, and in a poor location far away from everything. There are much larger oceanfront rooms in Fort Bragg for the same price. We stayed in the Dog Room for the first time, because it was advertised as having a fireplace. We were disappointed to discover that there is no fireplace in this room, just an electric heater with a picture of a fireplace on it. We also noticed that our room was not as clean as it used to be. We noticed visible grime on the baseboards, the cord of the hairdryer, and the doorhandle of the refrigerator. The keypad of the microwave was sticky. The room was in need of some touch-up paint. The Shoreline Cottages are very cute, if you are into that kind of thing, but they are no longer a good deal for the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SQ1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siafred, Owner at Shoreline Cottages, responded to this review, 19 May 2009
Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate all feedback and comments.

Regarding the pricing change for the property, the prices have gone up, but not by a lot. We have adjusted our prices to reflect the many upgrades we have made to the property over the last 1.5 years (entirely new front landscaping, new fencing, sign, upgrades to all rooms, 2 new suites, etc.). And although we will continue to make additional improvements, we will not be raising the prices again for quite some time.

Although there are other properties in the area for the same price (and cheaper), all are large motel-type properties without any unique rooms and most do not have full kitchens or cottage feel (more privacy).

The fireplaces we do have in 2 of the cottages are electric fireplaces - not pictures of fireplaces. Unfortunately wood-burning fireplaces are no longer legal in California. In the new 2 new suites, we do offer propane fireplaces (vs. electric fireplaces).

In terms of any issues with cleanliness, we take huge pride in the level of housekeeping service we provide. As you will see, most reviews rave about how we clean we are. We will definitely be examining carefully any stated issues.

Thank you again for your feedback as we are continually trying to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camino, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Found the cottages here on Trip Advisor. Great place, we very much enjoyed our stay. The room was small but okay for the two of us. Bed was very comfy. Kitchen is pretty well equipped, we bought crab, clam chowder and french bread in Ft. Bragg and feasted in our cottage! (They also have a BBQ you can use )
I picked the Shell cottage as it was farthest from the road, only down side is it isn't one of the upgraded cottages so kitchen and shower are not as nice. It wasn't awful but newer would be better. They are working hard at getting all the cottages up to date. It was very quiet, we thought we were the only tenants but in the morning it seemed like all the rooms in front of us were booked. The owners are very nice and very accommodating.
Lovely place, we will definitely return.

  • Liked — Being a cottage, price, kitchen facility, location and Rusty the owners Lab!
  • Disliked — That our cottage hadn't been upgraded yet, we'll know better next time.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kruizerkarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Stayed in this hotel for three nights as i was on a horseriding vacation nearby. While the cottages are quite small I found them to be very clean and comfortable. Bed was fantastic and the kitchen had a great big fridge and nice touches like complimentary popcorn. The room was also equipped with a DVD Player.

Complimentary Wifi was a fantastic plus and made this place the ideal place to stay for me .

It was also nice to step out of the cottage into the nice area in front.

Cottages are small though and I did feel that my car as much space as I had.

Nontheless I can recommend this place very much .

  • Liked — Wifi access and great bed
  • Disliked — Space is limited
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 747/400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
3.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
0.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
306 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Cottages

Property: Shoreline Cottages
Address: 18725 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline Cottages - where coastal history meets modern comfort. This beautiful property is located on Highway 1 - between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. It is adjacent to the beach and many regional attractions, including state parks, beaches, and more! The pet-friendly rooms include cottages with full kitchens and a queen bed (2 have fireplaces) and standard rooms with 2 queen beds, and are located around a lovely park area with trees, grass, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shoreline Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Cottages Hotel Fort Bragg
Shoreline Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing