We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming pet-friendly cottage, enjoyed our visit!”
Review of Shoreline Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shoreline Cottages
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Orinda
1 review
“Charming pet-friendly cottage, enjoyed our visit!”
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We love Shoreline Cottages and will definitely return! It's a charming place and pet-friendly - definitely a plus because we love traveling with our dogs. Our cottage was immaculate and had a charming doggy-themed interior - talk about welcoming! Enjoyed the cottages' proximity to Jughandle Reserve our dogs' favorite romping place - with its beautiful and private beaches. Cottages have very helpful information in the room about where to dine and sightsee. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenSandBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    102
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
127
235
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and were very impressed with our room. It was in a cute shell themed style and the housemaids kept it immaculate throughout our stay. There was a well equipped kitchen and even space to eat inside or outside and although all rooms overlook a parking area, it is very obvious that a lot of work is being put into making the outside gardens look as appealing as possible.

I was quite annoyed by some of the previous reviews made. Ok it is a bit noisy during the day but what do you expect when you stay by a main road? The convenient location made up for it, plus it did get quieter at night. Also, if you look around Fort Bragg you will notice that pretty much every other motel is in the same position of being next to the main road. We found that it did not disturb our sleep at all.

The owners were FANTASTIC! They were so friendly and hard working and were always able to help us with our queries. There were a lot of couples staying with small children and I think this would be an excellent place to stay with a small child as there is a gorgeous beach 10 mins away but foot - just be careful when you cross that pesky main road! Also it was nice to be so close to the botanical gardens.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyRuthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I would highly recommend a stay at Shoreline Cottages if you ever find your way in the Fort Bragg/Mendocino area. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathrooms are particularly nice. You are a short walk from the beach, and a number of fun activities await you in both Fort Bragg & Mendocino.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

My family and I stayed here for one night during our trip up the coast from San Francisco to Seattle. What a nice visit! The rooms were spotless and charming and the staff were very friendly and helpful. In fact, we felt like we were staying in the home of a good friend rather than a hotel room - very warm and inviting. Our kids (ages 6 and 9) LOVED coming back to the room in the evening and popping popcorn in the microwave! The popcorn and hot chocolate are nice touches.

We visited the Glass Beach after dinner. What a great way to end the day! We watched the sun go down, dipped our toes in the water, found some colorful glass and even saw a seal laying on the rocks! We had the place to ourselves.

The one thing I wasn't expecting was how built up Fort Bragg is. Don't get me wrong. It's not a city by any means. However, it felt like a bit like a east coast shore town - a bit riff-raffy. Fortionately, the hotel is on the outskirts of the town. On the plus side, Fort Bragg is a GREAT place to stock up on supplies if you're traveling through the area heading towards more "wild places".

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2009

A friend and I stayed at the Shoreline Cottages last weekend and we had a great time. The cottages are a deal--similar accomodations we considered in Mendocino were almost twice as much. Our room was spotless and having a kitchen in the room made it an even more affordable weekend getaway. The ownders and staff at Shoreline were courteous and helpful with ideas for activities and maps of local hiking and wine tasting areas. Also, its great that they allow pets. Sadly, I do not own a dog, but I got to play with one that was staying there!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mofresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I had the good fortune to stay at this wonderful place for 5 days. Cabins are the cleanest I have ever seen. Can use this as a base to travel to the wine country, Mendocino, many fun things to do kayaking, walking on a 10 mile white sand beach, fresh fish in Noyo Harbor (5 minutes away). Bring your dogs, it's pet friendly with little baskets of biscuits, towel and bowl in your room for Fido. Very reasonable, owners are very into customer satisfaction and will accomodate what ever is needed. I will return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiethecaterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This is our second time we have stayed at the Shoreline Cottages and absolutely love it there! We have two large dogs so finding a place that will accommodate us in addition to being clean, comfortable and relaxing is very important.
Our first stay was in one of the standard rooms last December and our most recent stay was in the birdhouse cottage. Both times we felt we had plenty of room for both of us plus our two dogs. We really liked having the extra amenities of a kitchen in the cottage. The other thing we liked was not having to share a wall with anyone and having covered parking. We felt like we had our own little private spot even though there were people right next door. The rooms were extremely clean and it was very quiet there even though all the units were full.

Also, there are a lot of things to do in the area - so far we have gone wine tasting, sea kayaking, to the beach with our dogs (literally across the street and such a beautiful private beach area and the dogs loved every second of it!!) and to the Botanical Gardens (you can bring your dogs to this too) - a must see.
The owners were extremely friendly and helpful to us. They gave us great tips on where to eat and what to do in the area. They had done some upgrading and renovating since our last stay and the place looks great!! We can't wait to go back and stay in one of the new suites!!
We highly recommend the Shoreline Cottages!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZKZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
3.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
428 reviews
0.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
305 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Cottages

Property: Shoreline Cottages
Address: 18725 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline Cottages - where coastal history meets modern comfort. This beautiful property is located on Highway 1 - between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. It is adjacent to the beach and many regional attractions, including state parks, beaches, and more! The pet-friendly rooms include cottages with full kitchens and a queen bed (2 have fireplaces) and standard rooms with 2 queen beds, and are located around a lovely park area with trees, grass, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shoreline Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Cottages Hotel Fort Bragg
Shoreline Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing