We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay in delightful, charming cottage near Mendocino”
Review of Shoreline Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shoreline Cottages
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“3 night stay in delightful, charming cottage near Mendocino”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The owners have recently been remodeling and much thought has gone into the fixtures and amenities throughout the cottage. Everything is fresh and cheerful and well done. Not only are coffee, hot chocolate and tea provided, but popcorn and animal cracker cookies are also waiting in a basket in the kitchen when you arrive. There are enough dishes in the kitchen so you can actually cook and the dishes are glass (not plastic) which I really appreciated! The soap and shampoos, etc in the bathroom were also very nice and the bathtub was a big, deep one with a lovely shower. Everything was environmentally friendly too which is another plus. The owners are very nice and full of information about the Mendocino/Fort Bragg area. We also had high speed internet access and I don't really know how it could have been any better! We will definitely stay there again when we head to northern CA.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tine1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    100
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
127
232
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Shoreline cottages were perfect! Super clean, great local and very pet friendly. Our two pets were welcomed with a Doggie Basket of treats, towels, bowels etc - very nice touch. We found Shoreline on-line and it surpassed our expectations. Cozy, friendly staff and walking distance to a secluded beach. We stayed in one of the Cottages, with a full kitchen and this was a very nice feature to have.

We can't wait until we can visit again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaSactravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calistoga, CA
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Stayed here one night prior to Winesong! at the Mendocino Botanical Gardens, located about thirty seconds south of the cottages. Arrived after dark to fellow guests sitting by the firepit roasting marshmallows, a welcoming scene. Chatted about places to catch a late dinner at check in and received good advice. The cottages, though small, are well laid out and immaculate. All I used was the coffee maker, but the kitchen was well equiped and a full sized fridge would be great for longer stays. The grounds are good sized and attractive and were appreciated by my canine traveling companion. The extensive survey left in the cottage made me feel that the owners really care about their guests preferences and what can be done to make subsequent stays more enjoyable. (Not being into themed rooms, my write-in vote was for more contemporary decor. I think the first photo of the place I saw was of the "Shoreline Cottages" sign and it is quite modern, so maybe there is hope.) Location only got four stars because of the proximity to Hwy 1 and the accompanying traffic noise, but my cottage was quite close to the road. The overall excellence of the property outweighted this though, and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2009

centrally located in fort bragg, friendly staff, exceptionally clean rooms and wonderful amenities including full kitchens (we like to eat in), comfortable beds, nice surroundings and great recommendations for local businesses. the mendocino botanical gardens are wonderful, pet friendly, great hiking all around (beaches, redwoods). been to shoreline cottages twice so far and plan to make it an annual event!!! they go the extra mile to make you feel welcome! pat & sid foster, west sacramento, ca.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fostersidpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, Ca
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2009

A surprise Birthday getaway (4 days - 3 nites) for my partner - we both needed a place to explore at our leisure, but mostly just rest, relax, read and forget the bberry. Great web site - be sure to check out the Surf Suite where we stayed - trendy, roomy and modern. It's the details that make it work - loved the simple earthy decor, eco-friendly fabrics, natural care products in the large bath (jacuzzi AND rainshower!). Nice basket of healthy snacks, fresh fruit, even popcorn (dvd's for the large flat screen TV available if you like, adult, kid choices). Large fridge, microwave and enough plateware to enjoy a meal in and nice wine glasses too. Enjoyed the futon sofa just to kick back and read but this suite could easily sleep 4. Quiet enough to really sleep in late. Be sure to check out the binder the mgmt put together for local tips. Some of the other cottages even have full kitchens and they also have portable barbecues available if you want to grill that fish or steak yourself!
While there are lots of hotels north this is not really a high touristy town. Forget those larger hotels - this is where you go to get a way and rest....TOP PICKS
> PRIVATE redwood deck off our room - large, many comfortable seating, nice table, quiet
>electric fireplace (ok we finally found the directions in the mgmt binder!)
>Mendo Bistro for dinner (worth it $$$)
>Eggheads (they stayed small for a reason and it's worth the 20 min wait $)
>North Coast Brewing Company (fish and chips - ok substitute for garlic fries - the best! $$)
>Go to www.liquidfusionkayak.com - Cate is very knowledgeable, fun, kind to novices. A terrific birthday adventure at sunset,
> Yes it can be foggy but we found a forest service campground with large day use area at milepost 5.8 on Hwy 20 out of Ft Bragg towards Willits. You then drive about 3 miles in on paved/hard pack gravel road to hot sunshine in the redwoods. Worth it on the one day it was totally fogged at Ft Bragg.
We'll be back when we are ready to explore more of the area....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los gatos ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed for two nights in the Lighthouse Cottage. We were amused by how the lighthouse theme was carried throughout virtually everything in the cottage. The cottage itself was immaculate, bed was very comfortable. We loved having a kitchen so we could sleep in a bit in the morning and enjoy a leisurely breakfast in our pj's. The person who greeted us at check in was very friendly and helpful. Do heed the advice of earlier reviewers and get to Ft.Bragg restaurants early, as most of the kitchens close by 8:30 PM, North Coast Brewing Co. included, which is a fabulous place to eat and sample great beers. Shoreline is a great base for exploring this gorgeous bit of the California coast.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjlawson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We love Shoreline Cottages and will definitely return! It's a charming place and pet-friendly - definitely a plus because we love traveling with our dogs. Our cottage was immaculate and had a charming doggy-themed interior - talk about welcoming! Enjoyed the cottages' proximity to Jughandle Reserve our dogs' favorite romping place - with its beautiful and private beaches. Cottages have very helpful information in the room about where to dine and sightsee. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenSandBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
3.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
416 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
300 reviews
3.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Cottages

Property: Shoreline Cottages
Address: 18725 N Highway 1, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-8748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline Cottages - where coastal history meets modern comfort. This beautiful property is located on Highway 1 - between Mendocino and Fort Bragg. It is adjacent to the beach and many regional attractions, including state parks, beaches, and more! The pet-friendly rooms include cottages with full kitchens and a queen bed (2 have fireplaces) and standard rooms with 2 queen beds, and are located around a lovely park area with trees, grass, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shoreline Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Cottages Hotel Fort Bragg
Shoreline Hotel Fort Bragg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing