We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skunk Train”
Review of Skunk Train

Skunk Train
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 40-mile train ride through the redwood forests of northern California. Depart Willits on the Highway 101 corridor or Fort Bragg on the Mendocino Coast. All trips are round-trip and travel from either Fort Bragg or Willits to the mid-point of the railroad "Northspur" and return. Trips are about 4 hours in length.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Skunk Train”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The trip through the Redwoods was great , with excellent period appropriate musical accompaniment, an excellent guide and a great view of the redwoods. The lunch stop was enjoyable with an excellent meal and gift shops to browse. We highly recommend.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Aviv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    147
    64
    28
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allenton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Train Trip”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We took the morning trip and enjoyed it with our family.
We had done things like this in the past when our children were young so it was fun to do it as adults. Maybe some day we will be lucky enough to take grandchildren.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShellyB128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Fun Fun!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Always a great time!!! Make sure to layer clothing it could be hot, or cold just be prepared :)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Niki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Only adults traveling? Upgrade to Parlor Car!”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were in the area and decided to try out the Skunk Train. We went on Memorial Day and there was a steam engine that day. We upgraded to the parlor car so we could do some wine tasting along the way. (It was an added bonus that children are not allowed on the parlor car... Nothing against kids, I just know how antsy they get after an hour.) They greeted us with mimosas and little quiches. The rest of the day there were cheese & crackers and fruit & chocolates. We tried a nice selection of local wines. I wish I could remember the lady's name that was so helpful and friendly. She was awesome and recommended other area attractions.

The rest of these reviews capture the experience quite well. Oh, the restrooms are a hoot to use! It's hilarious to try to pee while you're rocking back and forth from the train movement!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great trip through the countryside...”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

If you like the idea of a really great ride through the countryside on an old train, this is a must! I loved it! I especially enjoyed Mike the train singer and his guitar. I had no idea how enjoyable it would be until I went.

Helpful?
1 Thank SCoach2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skunk Train also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Skunk Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing