We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgrade to Parlor Class”
Review of Skunk Train

Skunk Train
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 40-mile train ride through the redwood forests of northern California. Depart Willits on the Highway 101 corridor or Fort Bragg on the Mendocino Coast. All trips are round-trip and travel from either Fort Bragg or Willits to the mid-point of the railroad "Northspur" and return. Trips are about 4 hours in length.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upgrade to Parlor Class”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This car is ADULTS only and is placed at the end of a train set. So that you can be on the vestibule platform behind the locomotive or staring back at the track you just traveled over. This car also has a host/hostess serving beer, wine & snacks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    147
    64
    28
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably Fort Bragg's best attraction.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First of all, I love trains. The Fort Bragg Skunk Train is one of the best excursion rail rides I have ever been on. The half way ride to the turn around is good, but the second part of the full round trip to Willits is by far the most scenic. The open air cars give unlimited viewing of the redwood forests and canyons. This in one of my favorite ways to spend a day. A very good lunch can be had in Willits while waiting for the train back to Fort Bragg.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun on the train”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My daughter and I took the train ride in July of 2013....It is fun and the entertainment was fun!
I have been on it several over the years and have always enjoyed it. Wonderful scenery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Riding the Skunk Train”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We took a trip on the Skunk train with our dog Annie and it was fun time for us.The staff was
very friendly and helpful and we will be back in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnsZ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for the whole family or couple”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

i have gone on the skunk train three times total. once as a couple, once with just my first daughter for halloween theme, and once with my husband and two daughters. each time was neat in itself. the half was lunch/dinner is so-so. plenty, i was okay with it, but my husband (who eats meat) didnt care for the meat, said it was dried out. but the atmosphere at the mid way stop was fun for the 3 year old. and my oldest when she stoped there for Halloween facepainting etc. the main guy who has CDs with his son, sings, plays harmonica etc. old train songs, which is fun. the other families seem to be in a common good mood. its not something you want to do every month, or even every year, as the train ride can get long, but first timers or every few years sure! have fun

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank danilla3comet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skunk Train also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Skunk Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing