We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“skunk train in the rain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skunk Train

Skunk Train
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 40-mile train ride through the redwood forests of northern California. Depart Willits on the Highway 101 corridor or Fort Bragg on the Mendocino Coast. All trips are round-trip and travel from either Fort Bragg or Willits to the mid-point of the railroad "Northspur" and return. Trips are about 4 hours in length.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“skunk train in the rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

what a ride this was through the redwoods. It was a drizzly day and cool when i took the trip but what a joy it was. The staff were at their best and very informative about the history of the Skunk Train line and the area. The views were to die for and the Lunch in the middle of the ride was very good as well. I have always loved riding trains but never have experienced riding in an observation car before. This is a must see if you love nature and just want a relaxing train ride through some of God's beautiful country side.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    145
    61
    24
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upgrade to Parlor Class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This car is ADULTS only and is placed at the end of a train set. So that you can be on the vestibule platform behind the locomotive or staring back at the track you just traveled over. This car also has a host/hostess serving beer, wine & snacks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably Fort Bragg's best attraction.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

First of all, I love trains. The Fort Bragg Skunk Train is one of the best excursion rail rides I have ever been on. The half way ride to the turn around is good, but the second part of the full round trip to Willits is by far the most scenic. The open air cars give unlimited viewing of the redwood forests and canyons. This in one of my favorite ways to spend a day. A very good lunch can be had in Willits while waiting for the train back to Fort Bragg.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun on the train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My daughter and I took the train ride in July of 2013....It is fun and the entertainment was fun!
I have been on it several over the years and have always enjoyed it. Wonderful scenery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Riding the Skunk Train”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We took a trip on the Skunk train with our dog Annie and it was fun time for us.The staff was
very friendly and helpful and we will be back in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnsZ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skunk Train also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Been to Skunk Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing