We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On Ocean, near State Park.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Surf & Sand Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf & Sand Lodge
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“On Ocean, near State Park.”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Clean and comfortable though rooms a little dated. Teresa at the front desk was most helpful. Romn had good view of ocean and small balcony. Located just north of town of Fort Bragg. Room was spacious and included a small refrigerator.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamsmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again at The Beachcomber!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    102
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
69
167
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I usually stay at The Beachcomber just up the street from the Surf and Sand Lodge, but The Beachcomber was full so we decided to give this place a try. We reserved a top floor queen room but because of their error we were given the wrong room and then upgraded to a top floor king room with a jacuzzi to make up for it.

Overall it was nice, but there were a few things about the room that I didn't like - the way the room is set up, the jacuzzi tub/shower is right near the front door and kind of in the middle of the room, and there's no vent fan or window or anything to let out the steam, except for the sliding door out to the patio... but the smoke detector was much closer to the shower than the sliding door was, so several times during my shower, it would start going off... quite jarring and not at all relaxing.

There's a "fireplace" in the room but it's sort of wedged over in a corner and it's actually a heater with a fake fire that you can turn on... which would still be nice - turn off the lights, turn on the fake fire, nice relaxing soak in the jacuzzi - except that it's so far in the corner and so dim that to have only the fake fire going would be to take a bath in total darkness. Even sitting on the bed which is a bit closer, you still couldn't really see the "fire".

Otherwise, the room was nice... unobstructed view of the ocean, nice deck that was a little more private than the Beachcomber, seemed to be in pretty good condition.

Main takeaways from this place: The decor is kind of silly and early '90s, when the parking lot is full it can be sort of difficult to get into or out of spots, there was no mention of wifi on the site or during check-in but they do have it, they do NOT offer breakfast and the smoke alarm situation was pretty frustrating.

I would probably stay here again but it wouldn't be my first choice considering what they do and do not have and that I know I can find other places in the same price range that offer the things they don't.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumerraiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I know how frustrating it must have been for the smoke alarm to be going off and I apologize. We are planning a complete renovation at the beginning of the year and are excited for the changes. We are happy that you enjoyed the views and the private balcony. We hope that you will come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Beautiful views from the rooms and great access to the cliff and beaches makes this place worth staying at. However, the wear and tear is evident. Fraying wallpaper in the bathroom, rusty ventilator as well. The general level of bedding and accessories is C plus. The bed was a bit below that. The layout of the room is clearly designed to get maximum sleeping space but the bathroom is smallish and the closet (at least in our room) was absurdly small for a unit with bed space for four adults. Located on the north side of Ft. Bragg, the nearest food is a Denny's but town is only a couple of miles away. There are no amenities on the site--no way to get breakfast or a snack, no pool, no hot tub, no one on duty a good part of the night. Barely a 2 1/2 star facility. Still, the view from the balcony is really nice.

Room Tip: Try for the second floor and you will be above the traffic on the walkway that is heavily used and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHSSantaBarbara_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. We are excited to do our first renovation since purchasing this property last year. We hope you will come back and stay with us again to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Surf and Sand in one of the pet friendly rooms in July with our jack Russell.. We arrived late and unfortunately got a room that didn't get cleaned properly. I notified the staff immediately after checking in and they were great. Keep in mind it was 10:00pm on a Saturday night and the staff member came right over to view the room. Not only did I get a discount on the room for that night, but I was placed in a top notch room the following morning. If I had to do it all over again, I wouldn't take my dog!..haha.. not only are dogs difficult to manage while trying to enjoy a nice weekend, but you have to expect to stay in a room that isn't going to be perfect. With that said. I would definitely recommend the Surf and Sand to anyone. The staff are great and if you have any problems they will be there for ya.. -Dale A.. Sacramento Ca, .

Room Tip: I'd recommend leaving the pets at home and stay in a non pet room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am happy that our staff promptly took care of you. We hope you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed overnight here and loved the view of the ocean! I stayed on the second floor and felt safe enough to leave the patio door open, with the screen door closed so I could hear the waves and the fog horn in the distance. Great sleeping sounds! The room is simple, nothing fancy, but you are not there to stay in the room! You can walk the path behind the hotel and 200 ft. in front of you is access to the beach. I thought the price was reasonable for the view and access if that is what you are looking for!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 204. private deck and great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanluvver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We totally loved this place . From the front rest lady who was compley knowledgable about the town and where to find good food that the locals like, to the property being well cleaned and landscaped, to the rooms being clean and tidy . Not to mention the view from your private outdoor deck was priceless. We will definetly come back !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLCeremony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. It is great to know that we pleased you on all fronts! We are delighted you found our service and our hotel met your expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I have stayed at the nearby Beachcomer Motel and loved it but they were full. This property has recently been purchased by them and we are enjoying it as well. Just to the north it has the walking trail and views and is very clean and quiet. Just what we needed for a couple days escape to the ocean.

Room Tip: We got a main floor room with a balcony. Very nice but upstairs has a little better view and no one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sounds like you got the rest and relaxation you needed. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
405 reviews
2.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 22 in Fort Bragg
205 reviews
2.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 22 in Fort Bragg
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Lodge

Property: Surf & Sand Lodge
Address: 1131 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf & Sand Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf & Sand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf And Sand Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf And Sand Lodge
Surf Sand Fort Bragg
Hotel Surf And Sand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing