We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable stay in Fort Bragg”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Surf & Sand Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf & Sand Lodge
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“comfortable stay in Fort Bragg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I brought my parents here for a two night stay early this week. When I called for reservations they were very helpful about getting us two adjoining rooms. The rooms themselves were very clean, spacious, with comfortable beds and nice patios overlooking the headlands. There is a refrigerator and microwave in each room, which is convenient. It turned chilly on our second night, and we found out that the heating in my parents' room did not work. My mother called the desk clerk, and he got a very pleasant maintenance man to come out an fix it at 9 pm. The only caveat I have is that there is no convenient beach access (at least we didn't find any). My mother likes to walk on the beach, and we had to drive a few minutes away to find a safe place for her to walk. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. I would also recommend the Fort Bragg Botanical Gardens nearby, a pleasant surprise for this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you Beverly S for your wonderful review! I'm so glad to hear that you and your parents enjoyed your stay with us. The closest beach access is a few minutes south by foot on Haul Road - the paved walking trail which runs by the back of the hotel. Hopefully on your next stay you and your mother will get a chance to explore it. We look forward to welcoming you back to lovely Fort Bragg!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    102
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
69
168
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband & I (and children, when they were smaller) have been coming to Fort Bragg & Mendocino for a very long time. We've stayed at many of the lodging facilities over the years. The Surf & Sand has become our favorite. We like a clean place, an ocean view and easy beach access. It has all this and more. Room was quiet, and we had a family above us. Although there is no continental breakfast (I'm finding more and more places are eliminating this), we had coffee & tea in the room and a nice sized fridge to hold what we brought with us. There are plenty of places to get breakfast in town. (Denny's is closest, but we prefer David's, on the other side of town near Hwy 20). They have a large family room available to rent as well. Large living room, kitchen, fireplace, tiny fenced yard, two bedrooms. The manager was kind enough to let us tour it for future vacations. He also led us to The Sea Pal, which is now our favorite spot for Prawns & Chips and clam chowder. Not fancy, just good. But back to the Surf & Sand, stay there. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NativeWon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, NativeWon! I'm so glad that you and your family enjoy your stays with us so much! We aim to be everyone's favorite place to stay so it's great to hear when we achieve this! The large family rental you spoke of is called the Owner's Suite, which is - as you said - like a two bedroom condo or apartment; perfect for an extended or luxury getaway. We can't wait to welcome you back to our lovely little slice of the coast!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here with my inlaws (75+ years old). The people handling reservations and check in were friendly and accommodating. The hotel is family owned and recently renovated. Room was very comfortable and right across a bike path from the ocean. Great location and staff. Would be handy to have Kleenex in the room and a towel rack at the sink but these are minor complaints. Although this is on Highway 1, road noise at night was not a problem.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has an ocean view - nearly but not all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you some much Hiker-7 for your great review! I'm so glad to hear that you and your in-laws enjoyed your stay. It's true that we did recently renovate all our rooms and are family owned, which we are very proud. On your next stay, I'm sure the staff will be more than happy to provide you with as many tissue boxes as you would like; just give the front desk a call. We are looking forward to your next stay with us here in lovely Fort Bragg!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked this place for a quick overnight trip to get out of town after doing my usual research on local spots. I was pleasantly surprised! The small "lodge" looks like a row of townhouses. I think there are 5 rooms to each unit - when you walk in the shared front door there are 3 rooms on the bottom and 2 more rooms upstairs. I booked a 2 queen ocean view room downstairs. We had the very end unit with a nice view of the ocean and sunset. There was plenty of room for us and our two young boys. The room was updated, cozy and quite comfortable. The TV was somewhat small and placed on the wall above the large cabinet that held the mini fridge and microwave at the foot of the beds. This made it hard to see if you were anywhere other than in bed, but we weren't there to really watch TV anyway. We had a small, somewhat private patio that looked out towards the ocean. A few steps down to a nice walkway and then across some vegetation to the beach overlook. It was a little steep to get down to the water, but well worth it. The sand was beautiful, rocks to explore and no one really even around. Leaving the sliding glass door open at night and being able to hear the waves and feel the breeze was a nice change from the 90-degree dry heat we left for our visit! We heard a little noise from our neighbors next to and above us, but that's to be expected. Overall, a great place to stay in the area!

Room Tip: We were in the Sand Dollar, which is probably the farthest from the highway and the pet-friendly uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCarr2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you MrsCarr2009 for your great review! I'm so glad that we were a pleasant surprise. It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and found the room comfortable. You are entirely right about our layout - 6 separate buildings with 5 rooms each. We look forward to your family's next stay with us!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Quiet, clean, with a balcony hanging out over the headlands and a view to take your breath away -- this hotel was relaxing and in a great location at the north end of Fort Bragg. The office staff gave us excellent recommendations for dining and made check in and check out quick and easy. Best time to go to Glass Beach is late afternoon when the sun is setting so glass pieces are lit up and easy to see. Lots of hiking, biking, walks and a variety of beach, forest, and town to keep everyone interested.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water and second floor if you don't want people to be able to walk rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you Christine W for your wonderful review! It's great to hear that the staff was able to improve your experience - we work very hard on our customer service. I'm also glad to hear that you had the chance to visit Glass Beach, one of our most popular local attractions. We look forwarding to welcoming you back to the beautiful Fort Bragg coast!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The reservation desk was very courteous, helpful and tried to accommodate our needs. The room was clean and has beautiful view of the ocean where we admired the beauty of the sunset. The walking/bike trail and hiking trails are right behind the hotel. Bike rental shops is few doors down the walking/bike path. The location is primed and convenience. Glass Beach is within walking distance from the hotel. Main shopping strip and the skunk train is about a mile away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you Melanie N for such a fantastic review! I'm so glad that you had a 5 out of 5 experience and that our staff was able to make your stay even better. It's also great that you took advantage of our sister hotel's bike rentals next door - it's a great way to explore the coast. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fort Bragg soon!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Surf and Sand Lodge earlier this week. We were also traveling with our dogs. Our room was clean and had a little porch with a view of the ocean. This hotel is located right next to a trail with awesome views of several beaches and the ocean. The trail is covered in beautiful plants & flowers with lots of dogs and people relaxing and enjoying the scenery. The bed was comfortable and it was very peaceful & quiet. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_Sand_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at Surf & Sand Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review, Darla P! I'm so glad that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay with us. It's great that you got to explore the beautiful Haul Road walking trail which runs up the coast. We look forward to welcoming you back to our peaceful spot by the sea!
Tina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.3 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.7 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Lodge

Property: Surf & Sand Lodge
Address: 1131 N Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf & Sand Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf & Sand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf And Sand Hotel Fort Bragg
Surf And Sand Lodge
Surf Sand Fort Bragg
Hotel Surf And Sand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing