We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as impressive as we had hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Heron's by the Sea - CLOSED

Heron's by the Sea
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Forestville, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not as impressive as we had hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We really loved the little restaurant that used to occupy this space (Chapter and Moon), so we thought we'd give Heron's a try. It's billed as an Italian eatery (even the menu uses Italian terms), but seems to be run and staffed by people all speaking Spanish. Having seen the menu on the window, and online, we were prepared for a nice light meal after a day of hiking on the Mendocino coast. The clam chowder was advertised as one of their "signature" dishes, so imagine out surprise when we were told the were out of it (at 6:30 pm on the Saturday of Presidents Day weekend). They substituted a "seafood soup" which seemed more like a canned vegetable minestrone with added heat and canned clams - NOT impressive, or even that good. Added to that, it took almost 30 minutes, and two requests, to get it to our table.

I'm afraid the poor service and low quality soup colored our experience enough that we also didn't enjoy the otherwise tasty mixed green salads with raspberry vinaigrette dressing. The calamari fritti was pretty good (although I've never had chipotle added to the dipping sauce at an Italian restaurant before - see initial comment above), but had been out of the fryer too long before it got to our table.

To sum up, some of the food was pretty good, the service was barely acceptable, but the overall experience was such that there is no reason we would return for another meal, with so many other choices available.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    16
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willits, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad food & service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

On Saturday, 16Nov2013 we joined friends for lunch at Heron's. The location has moved back further away from the entrance of the cove. The interior is clean, but nothing to write home about. They did not have Robert Irvine's help!

The young lady waiting tables appeared to be family, maybe still in high school. She needs training. She did not know how to make diners feel welcome, was not observant to guest needs & very slow to bring drinks & take orders. Three of the orders at our table were exactly the same, fish tacos. Two of them came out. About the time the two were consumed, the other fish & chips came out along with the sandwich, ordered by the fourth person in our party,

As per one of the reviews on this site, don't bother with the fish tacos. The slaw is overdressed & there's too much of it. Cannot taste the fish! For comparison, the fish tacos at Star's Restaurant in Ukiah or Rio's Fish & Chips in Willtis are excellent in flavor & quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MZSSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mendocino
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food and service good...Value and Atmosphere not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Have been to the old spot many times and always had a good, friendly if slightly over priced meal. This review is based on my one visit to the new location. While the old place was much smaller it had some charm not so much in the new locale. But the real disappointment is in the value. Yes I know it's the coast but $60 for fish and chips (9 chips) a side of coleslaw 1 coke and a $5 beer come on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank culinaryescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service & good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

My husband & I visited I a Saturday night during the dinner hours. The service was in the ball- our server checked often but wasn't a pest. I had clam chowder which was good and peel n eat shrimp. They were cooked in a delicious lemon herb butter sauce. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his rockfish cooked in a tomato based sauce with feta & linguine- it was all excellent

Helpful?
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to watch the sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The inside of this restaurant looks like fine dining but the deck area is considerably less elegant - however it is also the perfect spot to watch the sunset as the boats return for the day. We both had the seafood combo of fried fish, scallops and shrimp and it was all very tasty. They served a basket of warm bread and butter before the meal. Be sure to watch out for the seagulls! We got up to look out over the deck for a moment and a gull got a piece of our bread (and the butter!) but it just sort of added to the whole experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMarie0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heron's by the Sea also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing