We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, we will go back”
Review of Sportsmans RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Bragg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sportsmans RV Park
Silver Springs, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, we will go back”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this well kept RV camp ground. We had 3 separate RV's and there was plenty of room with full hook ups. The private pier is an excellent place to watch the fishing boats come and go through the harbor and enjoy the sunrise/sunset with your favorite beverage. The friendly owners Linda and Dusty are most helpful with information on where to go and what to see in the area. A short walk to a beach where dogs are welcome was a added bonus. This is definitely going to be one of our favorites.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The best kept secret on the road along the Northern California Coast is the Sportmans RV Park in Fort Bragg.

Sportmans RV Park is clean, easy to get in and out, within the harbor and its fine restaurants, and as a bonus, owners Dusty and Linda, the two friendliest people in town. Even if you aren’t in Fort Bragg to fish, it’s conveniently located to the town and other attractions. The park is quiet with no noise from the highway, and within walking distance from several seafood restaurants in the harbor.

I have spent the last weekend of February in the Fort Bragg area as I begin my mini-snow bird trip from Central Oregon to Tucson every year for 8 years. I have stayed at many of the parks in the area, but have usually rejected a return stay because of various reasons. Unfriendly owners/managers, unkempt grounds, washrooms that seemed to be “temporarily” out of service or long-term residents that make me feel uncomfortable. Sportmans RV Park is my new home away from home in Fort Bragg. Rusty and Linda maintain a well-kept washroom/shower facility. Most RV parks are usually located near an airport, train tracks, or a noisy highway. Sportsman has none of these distractions. US-101 crosses the mouth of the harbor several hundred feet above on a bridge, but the sound isn’t really heard down below. You CAN hear the sound of an ocean buoy near the harbor entrance, but you have to listen carefully. (It’s very soothing if you listen carefully.) It's not very large, so book early during "the season".

Be sure to ask Dusty for a tour of his boat repair facility and take a look at some of his cool boats.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank porkwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

to appreciate this gem of an RV Park located just under the bridge on the north side of the harbor in Fort Bragg. Hosts Dusty and Linda have remodeled and improved this park while maintaining its authentic, rustic, waterfront flavor. Whether you bring your own watercraft, hop on a charter fishing vessel, or just lounge on the fenced-in waterfront deck with a beverage in hand and your pets safely ensconced beside you, you won't miss the appeal of this working harbor, complete with its operating small boat Coast Guard Station. The clientele is a mix of long-term residents and short-timers who wish they could stay longer. The town is walking or biking distance with a welcoming,artsy ambiance lacking the pretentiousness of some nearby towns. Sportsman's is pet-friendly and very close to a pet-friendly public beach. We give this high, unqualified ratings.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We just returned from 4 days staying here in Fort Bragg. The hosts were fabulous and very accommodating. They gave us lots of help in deciding our activities around town. The lot is plain, but very clean. The deck overlooks the harbor, the river, and provided a beautiful ocean sunset view. We ate dinner there. The bathroom was spotless and kept clean through out the day. We were able to walk and ride our bikes all over. We will return for sure next summer to enjoy the beautiful coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sea Ranch, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I hope to post the fish photos later. We only left because of a dental appointment. We will be returning in a day or so. Sportsmans Rv Park has the nicest people. The potluck had homemade Texas chili, BBQ salmon and ling cod, buffalo wings, garlic bread, fruit and salmon salads, broccoli, sweet corn on the cob, nectarines, salad greens, apple cider and then Pamela and Mark checked in with their 5th wheel in time to enjoy what they almost missed! Most everyone stayed on the dock until well after sunset. Great conversation, laughter and good times were had by all. Adrian from Australia and Glen from Southern Ca. had their commercial salmon fishing boat tied to the dock and enjoyed the experience as much as Mark and Pamela.

Room Tip: Call Linda or Dusty at 707-964-2612 to reserve a space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnsweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullhead City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We came for a week and stayed the summer. We had a great time with the owners Linda & Dusty. Husband had fun helping Dusty build boat, fun it floated... The park was very clean and the the dock was very relaxing watching the fishing boats go in and out the picturesque Noyo Harbor. Fishing was fun, salmon , ling and other rock fish . enjoyed potlucks on dock with other campers, fun making new friends. Thanks C&J. shops and restaurants on wharf are fun.
Our dogs enjoyed leash free beach and jetty. We enjoyed day trips to the awesome Giant Redwoods and The rock cliffs and sandy beaches. beauty compares to our Nat'l Parks. everyone should see. Their is so much to do and see.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CameForaWeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This is our second stay with Linda and Dusty, they have been great with our kids and pet. The ground, the deck, the bathroom and the trash containers are always clean and easy to access. We are annual visitors to Fort Bragg and have stayed at several facilities in the area and find Sportsman RV to be our preference. We are looking forward to our next visit in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Harbor Lite Lodge
Harbor Lite Lodge
#13 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmans RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmans RV Park

Property: Sportsmans RV Park
Address: 32094 N Harbor Dr, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5517
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful and scenic Noyo Harbor, the Sportsmans RV Park is a wonderful place to stay while fishing, kayaking, abalone diving, and many more activities available on the Mendocino Coast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing