We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Redding, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Aging”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My family and I have been staying here off & on for years.
It remains clean and comfortable...but the-most-comfortable-hotel-beds are aging. The middle sags, giving that all night downhill feeling. Sad!
Other than that, the service is good, the breakfast is fine, the pool and hot tub are great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLea178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    143
    53
    15
    6
See reviews for
103
128
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Beds were too soft for my liking, no sharedI computer available, and some room open to outside world (not an interior hallway), dining room too small when hotel is busy... Those were the negatives, but all else was great! Staff friendly, room clean and comfortable, and secure neighborhood. Would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in annex open to outside, not hallway. Ask for room in main hotel if that's an issue for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmckendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is a comfortable hotel with a friendly and helpful front desk, good complimentary breakfast, and a nice indoor pool and spa. Its nice to have free wifi, but it was slightly annoying having to resubmit the password over and over again.

Overall this hotel was a very good choice for a one night stay in Fort Bragg!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camfam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

2-star rating is based on two things:
1. It was the most uncomfortable hotel bed of recent memory.
2. They blast the heat all night so I woke up dying of the heat. I opened the window but that wasn't enough, so I had to turn on the A/C and listen to it cycle on and off all night. Did not sleep at all.

Also, a word of warning: when we arrived, our first room smelled drastically of smoke. We called the front desk and were told that it had been converted 8 years ago. Well, I'm guessing they didn't replace the carpet or re-paint, because it pretty much just smelled like stale cigarettes. We were able to relocate, but to a less-desireable room (and they charged us the same rate!). Not impressed.

Last, the coffee is like water and the warm breakfast items are over-processed and repulsive. Don't plan on eating there unless you're just having a bowl of cold cereal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank sanrafaelchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear sanrafaelchica,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the uncomfortable room accommodations, unusual smell and breakfast selections served during your stay. Our goal is to consistently provide excellent service and accommodations and your comments are highly important. Rest assured your concerns will be looked into.

We appreciate your candid feedback and welcome to any opportunity to improve our hotel. We hope to provide you with a better experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here so we could explore the coast a bit. The hotel lived up to its excellent reviews. Pleasant, efficient front desk staff, clean rooms, and a warm indoor pool made this a winner for us. Our room faced the road, so we had a bit of traffic noise; if that bothers you opt for the slightly more expensive room with a view, which faces a tree-lined ravine behind the hotel. The location is fine...a few minutes drive from downtown. If you like to be able to walk from your hotel to see the sites then this probably isn't your best choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCDtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My wife wanted to spend a weekend (Fri-Mon) near Mendocino so I bit the bullet to pay this higher than usual resort area hotel price (we used Hotwire.com). But it was well worth the extra money! Our room looked like it had just been recently renovated since everything seemed brand new, carpet, beds, furniture, TV, walls, etc. Great shower, granite counters in bathroom, and the breakfast was the best free hot breakfast we have ever had in any hotel anywhere! I think someone complained about the food choices, but we could not understand why. Here is a list of what they offered (please excuse our memory in case we forgot something!) - boiled eggs (already shelled), scrambled eggs (or small omelettes on another day), bacon (ham slices another day), low fat or fat free milk, cold cereal, pancakes, toast/bagels, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, Yoplait yogurt, cinnamon rolls (these were really good!), hot water to make hot chocolate or cider or tea. The eating area might get a bit crowded at times during the breakfast hours (6:30-9:30am) but they had a few extra tables just outside a sliding glass door as well as additional seating in their lobby area.

This hotel even had a nice indoor pool and exercise room. Free wireless internet. Location was excellent on 20, just a few blocks east from Highway 1, but far enough away to avoid most of the traffic noise. Some convenient shopping just across the street included Rite Aid, Harvest Market, Papa Murphy, Subway, etc. McDonalds also very close by. Safeway and Starbucks also close.

If you stay at this hotel, you might ask if all their rooms are recently renovated. If not, ask for one that is newer and ask for a room with an inside hall access. I noticed some of their rooms opened directly to the outside.

Room Tip: Try Hotwire.com or Priceline.com and select 3 star hotel in Ft. Bragg. No guarantee you will get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RevfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Nicely updated hotel. Good breakfast. Nice large size room and very clean. We came Presidens day and did not make reservations until last minute [forgot it was long weekend!] No king available, but the two queen bed room was large and the beds were very comfortable. Did not have a view because of the late booking, but most of the time was spent sight seeing, so it didn't matter that much. A little ways from downtown, but put us closed to the restaurants in the bay and the town of Mendocino. Did not use pool or spa, but looked nice.

Room Tip: Stayed on 2nd floor, a little sound above, but not annoying, still probably would have taken 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
7.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Address: 250 Highway 20, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5789
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express is among the newest hotels located on the Mendocino Coast, in Fort Bragg Ca. Overlooking Hare Creek, Holiday Inn Express offers a relaxing and serene environment with spectacular canyon views. Located at the south end of town the hotel is just minutes from downtown Fort Bragg and only 8 miles north of the Mendocino Village. Whether you're planning a leisure vacation or traveling on business, the Fort Bragg/ Mendocino coast has an abundance to offer. Coming to enjoy whale watching or fishing? We are conveniently located across the street from S. Harbor Dr. boat docks. If a train ride is your desire, we are less than 2 miles from the California Western Railroad Skunk Train Depot. We are also just minutes away from several California State Parks including MacKerricher, Van Damme, Jughandle and Russian Gulch. Accessible facilities are provided for our guests with disabilities. Our guests enjoy the use of our fitness room, indoor heated pool, spa and our complimentary breakfast bar. Our friendly staff is on hand 24 hours a day to meet our guest's needs. Whether you're here on business or a relaxing getaway the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is your place to stay and play. It is important to note Fort Bragg hotels do not have air conditioning as temperatures rarely exceed 70 degrees! Wireless Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg Hotel Fort Bragg
Holiday Inn Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing