We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It would have been a good experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“It would have been a good experience ”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

When we pulled into the parking lot to check in during the evening hours of the Fourth of July, I was informed that the water heater of the building where our room would be was broken, and it would not be fixed until Monday, because they could not get the part that's needed during the holiday weekend. No remedy was offered. We had to endure a cold shower that night because everywhere else was fully booked.

At my insistence, they moved us to the main building where there was hot water for the second night. At my request, they also agreed to offer a $25/night discount for the inconvenience we suffered.

The room itself was quite spacious and nice. It also had a microwave and mini-refrigerator which were nice for families with young kids.

Both the Internet and breakfast were complimentary. The breakfast buffet could use some serious improvement, though. There was no vegetables.

They also had a pool which we did not have time checking out at all.

If it were not for the hot water issue, it would have been a great experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 908Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    143
    53
    15
    6
See reviews for
104
128
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

There is a nice indoor pool, a spa tub, and a fitness center. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas. There is a business center on site. Guests are served a complimentary breakfast. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in the lobby, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Guest parking is complimentary.
You can get lots cheaper in town, but this is clean, comfy and much more classy than the cheaper hotels in FB.

Room Tip: I always suggest not booking near an elevator, stairway, or highway side of a hotal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
143 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This facility is a little pricy but a great hotel/motel. I stayed in the hotel section. The room was clean, good mattress and great pillows. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff equally wonderful. The internet was a bit slow. So for the business traveler, that does pose a challenge.However, all in all worth the price of admission, at least from my perspective.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Road_Warrior_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great rooms. Good sleeping on pillows of your choice that actually have the softness rating right on the pillowcase. Breakfast is OK, plain but hot. Price seems a little high but then you have to consider the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is on Hwy 20 just before the coastal Hwy (1). You can look up the amenities on their web site. I suggest you skip the breakfast and go across the street to David's in The Boatyard for a complete selection instead. Our room overlooked the ravine and was very pleasant with a small balcony. You are close to everything Fort Bragg has to offer, as well as being only about 8 miles from Mendocino, staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the ravine have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNauburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very nice hotel, we wish we owned one of their mattresses as it is like sleeping on a cloud. Nice breakfast with waffles! The front desk person Sabrina was a ray of sunshine when we arrived as well as when we left! Truly terrific young woman! Gave good recommendations for dinner and on the Skunk Train!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole3218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela M, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Carole3218,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our property. I would have to agree with you that our beds are extremly comfortable, and the breakfast offers all kinds of wondeful chocies. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,
Sabrina Front Desk
Holiday Inn Express
Fort Bragg, Ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We couldn't get into Mendocino given our last-minute decision to visit, and ended up in Fort Bragg. It's not the most charming place in northern Cal, but it benefits from being only 8-miles up the coast from Mendocino. We found the Holiday Inn Express met our family's needs just fine. The rooms were big enough, very clean, and the beds/pillows very comfy. The breakfast buffet was included, and there's a decent indoor pool and hot tub for a little extra entertainment. We can recommend it to other families and visitors who can't find anything suitable in Mendocino but want to remain on the coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkerbeeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela M, Front Desk Agent at Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property. I am very glad to see that we met your standards and our staff was accomodating and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
Sabrina Front Desk
Holiday Inn Express
Fort Bragg, Ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
7.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.3 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Address: 250 Highway 20, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-5789
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Fort Bragg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express is among the newest hotels located on the Mendocino Coast, in Fort Bragg Ca. Overlooking Hare Creek, Holiday Inn Express offers a relaxing and serene environment with spectacular canyon views. Located at the south end of town the hotel is just minutes from downtown Fort Bragg and only 8 miles north of the Mendocino Village. Whether you're planning a leisure vacation or traveling on business, the Fort Bragg/ Mendocino coast has an abundance to offer. Coming to enjoy whale watching or fishing? We are conveniently located across the street from S. Harbor Dr. boat docks. If a train ride is your desire, we are less than 2 miles from the California Western Railroad Skunk Train Depot. We are also just minutes away from several California State Parks including MacKerricher, Van Damme, Jughandle and Russian Gulch. Accessible facilities are provided for our guests with disabilities. Our guests enjoy the use of our fitness room, indoor heated pool, spa and our complimentary breakfast bar. Our friendly staff is on hand 24 hours a day to meet our guest's needs. Whether you're here on business or a relaxing getaway the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is your place to stay and play. It is important to note Fort Bragg hotels do not have air conditioning as temperatures rarely exceed 70 degrees! Wireless Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg Hotel Fort Bragg
Holiday Inn Fort Bragg
Fort Bragg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing